We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 September 2013

They are no bathrooms or showers attached, but the communal ones were always clean and not busy. The cabins were clean. It was cold in the morning but we used their sawdust logs to heat it up first thing in the morning. (Really not needed when we went to bed.) Easy access to several areas, Mammoth, Tower Fall, several of the valleys for animal watching. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kristene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 189 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spent the last 3 days of the 2013 season at the Roosevelt Cabins. They are in a great location, close to Mammoth Hot Springs and Lamar Valley and even (25 miles or so) of the Canyon's Cabin area (which is much larger). You have 2 choices, the Roughrider cabins which has no bathroom in the cabin (you use the large public centrally located bathrooms) or the Frontier cabins (more expensive but they have a bathroom). We chose the roughrider cabins. The beds were comfortable. The weather was quite nice. Daytime temps were about 80 (F), nights were chilly as it got down to upper 30's. The cabins consisted of 2 or 3 double beds, a desk, a wood stove and a chair. During the day, the southern facing wall gets HOT, almost too hot to touch. This in turn heats up the cabin quite a lot until well after sunset. There is not a ventilation although they do provide a small fan to help move the air around. The cabins cool off once the sun goes down and the warm blankets they provide keep you warm enough at night. In the mornings, we were quite chilly outside of the blankets. Walking to the bathrooms in the cool air was, ahhh, "refreshing?". They provide some fire logs for the wood stove but with the smoke detector right above the stove and the chilly 30 degree temps, you don't really want to bother with it. We tried one morning but it took too long to generate enough heat, we simply got dressed and left. You really want to get going early to see most of the animals still moving about as they then to disappear during the daytime. The star gazing at night, once you get a few miles, from the cabins is wonderful. Dark skies, lots of stars and depending on how bright the moon is, you should be able to easily see the Milky Way. The main lodge serves all of the meals which we found to be tasty and we ate there several times. You'll want to get to the cabin about 2 hours before sunset or you will likely run into a bison herd on the road screwing up traffic. Very peaceful, no wi-fi, no cell service and the cabins don't have a lot of extra outlets to plug things into. It is rustic and simple, just the way Teddy would have wanted it. I wish they would install some solar shades on the south facing walls as that would keep things much more comfortable inside the cabins.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank PumaPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just returned from eight days of fly fishing in and around Yellowstone National Park. Three nights were at the Roosevelt Lodge cabins. The cabins are simple one room wooden structures with a bed, desk and chair. No running water is available in the cabin; an outside faucet with fresh potable water is close to the cabin. The bed was comfortable. Heat (it was 33 degrees in the morning) is provided by a small wood stove stocked with paraffin-impregnated fire logs. No air conditioning is provided (it was 90 degrees in the late afternoon). The common shower/toilet facilities are about 50 yards from the cabins and are adequate. For the price the accommodations were fine. Think of it as camping in a wooden tent and you're expectations will be realistic. Meals at the Lodge were just ok. Breakfasts were good. Dinners just so-so. Best item on the dinner menu was the bison burger. All in all I recommend Roosevelt Lodge as a moderately priced alternative to camping.

Room Tip: For a quiet night request a cabin away from the common shower facilities. However you'll walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dfund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is my third time staying in these cabins. If you want to be in this corner of the park this is the place to stay. After hiking, fishing ,or sightseeing, it is nice to come back to the your cabin in the wilderness. They only have a few with private bath, so usually the rough rider cabins are available more often. Book early, like a year. The big draw for us is the lodge and its wonderful food. Sitting outside on the porch rocking away is so peaceful. You meet so many nice people. Chatting with the servers from all over the country is fun also.

Room Tip: Wish you could choose your cabin but they pick one for you. Arrive earlier than check in and usuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cutie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

After two weeks of camping my family and I were completely ready to sleep on a real bed. And that is precisely what we got at Roosevelt. Three full-sized beds, bathrooms nearby (clean showers too.). The room has chairs, a table, and a small wood stove (wood included.). If you don't have time or space to cook a meal, the lodge can supply you with a hearty meal and drink.

There is a small amenities store on location, but other than that there aren't a whole bunch of buildings in Roosevelt. This is actually very nice if you are coming from the old Faithful or Canyon areas, where thousands of people are staying. It feels good to get away from so many crowds and get some peaceful time in with nature. Which reminds me..... There is no available wifi at Roosevelt. Not even for the employees, so make sure you check trip advisor one last time before you check in!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank maxine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I reserved our Frontier cabin 13 months in advance. We were so grateful to get away from the crowds at the Old Faithful Inn. We loved our little cabin. The beds were comfortable and we had heat, a bathroom and desk. The location is perfect for viewing the wildlife in Lamar Valley and for fishing in the Yellowstone River -although I was told that the Lamar River is better for fly fishing these days.
The Lodge food was very good (highly recommend the ribs and the wild game nachos) and we enjoyed sitting on the porch in the rocking chairs and chatting with people at the end of the day.
It was one of the best vacations ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We really enjoyed staying at Roosevelt Lodge. It was quiet, peaceful and not touristy like much of the rest of the park and its accommodations. We had a frontier cabin, which was a stand alone cabin with its own bathroom. It had 2 double beds, a nightstand, a desk and chair and a sink in the room. The toilet and tiny shower were in their own room. Our biggest complaint was the beds were terrible-- they sagged so badly that we didn't sleep at all well. The lodge itself was lovely, and we enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs out front during the early evening. We took a walk down the road and saw bison hanging out in the pasture which was very cool! Despite the uncomfortable beds, I would definitely stay here again as the location was perfect for exploring wildlife.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Lauri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
14.6 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,082 reviews
25 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,215 reviews
17 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
172 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
17 mi away
Travelodge Gardiner at Yellowstone Park North Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Lodge Cabins

Address: PO Box 165, Tower-Roosevelt Junction, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190-0165
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: £30 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Lodge Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roosevelt Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing