We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for families who do not want to camp.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Geronimo, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A place for families who do not want to camp.”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Roosevelt Lodge is a place for families who do not want to deal with camping in a campground.The adjoining Roughrider cabins were occupied by 3 generations of one family. We found our cabin to be cute, but a bit small so we rearranged the furniture to better suit our needs. The parking between the cabins is a bit of a squeeze. Because it caters to families who seem to come here year after year, the outside noise can be annoying. Also, we found the cowboy theme a bit overdone. On the plus side, the bathroom and shower facilities are excellent - we've stayed in a lot of cabins-without-a-bath lodging and the facilities here are the best we've experienced. As campers, if we come again to Yellowstone, we'd stay at Slough Creek or Pebble Creek campgrounds to visit the northeast section of the park.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    136
    40
    14
    2
See reviews for
143
121
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We lucked out and were able to get a cabin in July with very short notice. That said, reservations are (normally) a must, especially in the summer! We (2 kids and 3 adults) stayed in a rustic cabin with no bathroom -facilities were nearby (clean showers and bathrooms). We all loved it. Cozy and comfy. Cabin is equipped with a wood burning stove but we didn't need it. It was wonderful to stay in the northern part of the park, away from the crowded area of the park. There is a general store with some basics and a lot of tourist items. Also a restaurant with a tiny, but adequate bar. A big porch with rocking chairs out front. The service was excellent at the bar and restaurant. The food wasn't so great, but not that bad either. Basic belly-filling food. The most wonderful thing about staying there is the abundance of wildlife you can see early in the morning. Don't sleep in.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FLDante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

These cabins are tiny. Claustrophobes beware. The lodge provides a nightly bucket full of pres-to-log slices, a block of efficient fire-starter, and matches to ignite them for the bone-chillingly cold nights at elevation. No other fuels are permitted. The amount of fuel provided was almost enough to warm the cabin the entire night. I set an alarm and rose twice in the night to add fuel. It really gets cold fast when the fire dies down. On the other hand, if you stoke it too much at once, the cabin becomes swelteringly hot.

Our cabin was furnished with two beds with an end table between, another table near the door with, I believe, a chair, and the wood stove. There was little room for much else, including our luggage. This is utilitarian lodging, to be sure. For access to prime early morning wildlife viewing, there is no better location to stay within the Park. Lamar Valley is a 10-minute drive away, if that. I saw over 20 black bears in the Lamar and Roosevelt areas this year, so many that I eventually lost count. We even saw bear cubs for the first time, two yearlings and a tiny new baby.

We were able to park right next to our cabin. Late arrivals may have their "place" taken by a neighbor. The bathrooms were a short walk away, and well stocked with soaps and shampoos, etc. Reservations are hard to come by, as the season at Roosevelt is the briefest in the Park, I assume due to weather and elevation. The cabins are only available to the first days of September.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nobodysmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Highly recommend the Roosevelt cabins. It was very convenient to the wagon rides. The food here is so good, my favorite is the game chili. I still think about it.

The cabins we stayed in were very basic ,but very clean. In the summer, it was hot in the cabin during the day ,but it cools off at night and we didn't really spend any time at the cabin during the day. They provide basic toiletries in the shower room (communal). It's basically a step up from camping but I love camping so we loved it. Its nice to sit in the rocking chairs and watch sun go down at the lodge. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arunie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were so lucky to book this room at the last minute due to a cancellation. The room was HUGE and very comfortable. Sadly it was too hot to light the woodburner in the cabin as that would have added to the lovely rustic feel. The only downside is that the toilets etc are a little facr away - but then you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stepmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I feel like I'm letting out a secret by saying that this is where its at in Yellowstone. We stayed for 2nights and I wished it was longer. The cabins were perfect and added so much to the atmosphere of the trip. The shared bathrooms were clean and weren't crowded. My wife isn't much of a shared bathroom type and even she had nothing but good things to say about them.

We ate breakfast and dinner at the lodge. Both were the best meals that we had in the part. Everyone raved about the coffee. It was good. There are many walking trails close to the lodge. We took a nice hike right behind the lodge up to the lost falls. It was nice and there wasn't a single other person on the trail. The other nice trail we found was at Trout Lake in Lamar Valley. It was a little steep getting up there, but boy was it beautiful. There were even two river otters in the lake that enjoyed putting on a show.

Overall, I'd highly recommend the Roosevelt Lodge Cabins for your stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AWandering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Bonifacius, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here in July of 2013. The cabin was clean and the beds were very comfortable to us. The shared bathrooms were clean. We did the horse trail ride one day. We rode the horse drawn wagon out to the cook out one afternoon. We all loved that. Roosevelt was our favorite stay of this vacation coming from Minnesota and stating at several places.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
25.0 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
987 reviews
14.6 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,959 reviews
36.7 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
720 reviews
17.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Lodge Cabins

Property: Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Address: PO Box 165, Tower-Roosevelt Junction, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190-0165
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Lodge Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Roosevelt Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing