We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, charming, and a good value - a true gem in Yellowstone!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We flew into Billings, MT and drove the Beartooth highway to Roosevelt Lodge, where we stayed for two nights before moving on to the rest of the park to camp. We stayed in one of the Roughrider cabins with a woodstove - it was wonderful! From the moment we arrived, we were delighted with how well the lodging blended in with the surroundings. At $70 a night, it doesn't get much better than this. Definitely one of our top lodging experiences in the national parks.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYHonduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

We knew coming in that Roosevelt Lodge would be roughing it (we knew about the communal bathroom and stove in the room which we needed to start up ourselves). When I heard that the temperatures in Yellowstone would drop below freezing overnight and some snowshowers were possible at the end of August, you can imagine how we dreaded to stay here.
When I walked into the Roosevelt Lodge dining room, it was love at first sight. It was cozy and inviting - it really felt so comfortable that my worries immediately disappeared. When we checked into the rooms - yes, they were very cold, but after starting up the stove (it was not that difficult and the kids were really excited about seeing the real fire in the stove), the room became warm and stayed so till the middle of the night. At that point, I was too lazy to get out and put some additional wood into the stove, so by the morning it got cold again (but that's just due to my laziness). It was still bearable.
As for the common bathroom, it was also very warm and clean. We even joked that after looking at the cold cabin, maybe we can sleep in the warm bathroom.
The food at Roosevelt Lodge is outstanding - it was probably the best one we had for the entire trip. The prices were decent, and so were the portions. The breakfast was so filling and sumptious that it lasted us till the evening.
To me, this was the best choice in Yellowstone - all of us unanimously came to that agreement. We loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Have to be honest, we usually prefer more luxury accomodation but Roughrider cabins with shared bathroom facilities were all we could find available. The two teenagers were able to have one each but we were still not particularly looking forward to the experience. However, we had a great time. The change in style was fun, the cabins, while basic were clean and toiletries and towels were supplied. The Lodge itself is attractive, good staff, pleasant dining room and sitting on a rocker on the balcony was a great way to end the day. The cabins are not insulated and it gets really cold even in summer so light the fire and take warm pyjamas. Noise can be a problem with thoughtless neighbours bringing their car to their cabin to pack at midnight. The car park is close and as this happened again at 4 am it may be worth the lodge requesting guests not to do this.
Incidentally the cowboy cookout was great fun.
We would return but would probably try and book a cabin with bathroom facilities if possible. Definitely recommend this area of Yellowstone. Quieter but still within easy reach of all you might want to see.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Our family stayed in two Roughrider lodge cabins for 4 nights while in Yellowstone. We had two 21 year olds who had their own cabin who called it their favorite part of their Yellowstone experience! We had amazing views from the porch while sitting in rocking chairs of the main lodge. The cabins are clean, comfortable and charming. Shared bathroom for the rough rider units but they were clean and accessible. Some units do have a bathrooms. Wood stove for heat-wood provided even with starter and matches! Extra blankets, a fan, towels, glasses and shampoo and soap are also provided. Amazing details to make you comfortable at an amazing price. Very cold even in August at night bring flannel pajamas! EXCELLENT FOOD (best in the whole park)! We ate at the Roosevelt 4 times. FREE MORNING COFFEE. Excellent service and staff. Reserve ahead for the very popular chuck wagon dinner offered right next door. Great location to explore all parts of the park. Much less congested than Old Faithful or Canyon areas. Attracts a nice quiet "outdoorsy" crowd. I would highly recommend this for a great stay in Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisachristine0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Stayed in the Roughrider Cabins with no toilets and sink. Got a real feel of being in a national park. The Roosevelt Lodge is in a quiet place of the park. We loved the cabins! They also provide excellent value for the yellowstone park. Only downside was that the lodge is a bit far away from the main locations such as old faithful and others. Would go there agains.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicoZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Cute little cabins. Very neat and clean. Just beware...there is no insulation in the cabins, so you hear everything your neighbor does outside. Talking, car doors..etc. You will need to use the fireplace, but it was warm and cozy. The food was very good in the restaurant and affordable. The service was great, friendly staff. It is located at the end of the park and there was alot of construction going on. I liked staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheriM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We spent three days in YNP, and stayed in cabins for all three night. We are very disappointed with Roosevelt Budget Cabins.

When we made the reservation, we knew the place didn't have bathroom, but we had no idea that it didn't have a sink in the room, and we had to start fire for the heating device ourselves. It is totally different from what we had in Old Faithful Lodge Budget Cabin.

The room is so cold, we couldn't fall asleep. And we had to go to public bathroom to brush our teeth. It was a first time. One of the shower wasn't even very clean. And did I mention that you can hear everything your neighbors are doing? By everything, I mean everything.

The only good thing about the place is they put out hot coffee and water in the morning outside the lobby. Even though we had to leave at 5:00 am, we had something to warm up. And their dinning room is not bad.

If you don't have to stay within 10 miles of Lamar Valley, consider Mammoth Hot Spring Lodge instead of Roosevelt. You are basically staying in a tent with a roof.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol0143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
14.6 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,082 reviews
25 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,215 reviews
17 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
172 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
17 mi away
Travelodge Gardiner at Yellowstone Park North Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Lodge Cabins

Address: PO Box 165, Tower-Roosevelt Junction, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190-0165
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: £30 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Lodge Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Roosevelt Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing