We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rougher on some than on others” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roosevelt Lodge Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Rougher on some than on others”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

We (two adults and a teen) stayed two nights in a Roughrider cabin with a woodstove in late June. Even though I had warned my husband and son that it was an unheated cabin with a woodstove that needed tending with shared bathrooms and shower facilities in a cabin somewhere else, they were not adequately prepared for reality. The first night it was quite cold. By about 2:30 am the cabin was freezing. My husband tried to get the stove started again, but the remaining firestarter pellet was not sufficient. Soon I heard him feeding tissue after tissue into the stove. Finally he began tearing up the tissue box and feeding that in piece by piece. This was accompanied by frustrated sighing and snorting. In the end, he got the stove going. We were left without tissues for the remaining time. The cabin itself was extremely small, with no place for our three large rolling bags and three small daypacks. My husband rigged up a hanging system overhead using some rope he had brought, and that worked well. Although he mentioned how glad he was that we were only staying for two days, I enjoyed myself thoroughly in the cabins. I didn't mind hiking to and showering in the bathroom cabin. I got all kinds of friendly tips from the other ladies in the bathroom, like how to get extra firestarting pellets (from the cleaning staff), which hiking trails were cleared of snow, and where bears had been sighted. Apparently there is no talking at any time in the mens' bathroom, so husband and son didn't have a similar friendly experience. Overall, I felt more "at home" in the relaxed atmosphere and almost-but-not-quite-camping nature of the cabins than anywhere else in Yellowstone. The Roosevelt-Tower area is isolated from the rest of the park; there is a lot less commotion here. It's extremely convenient for wildlife watching in the Lamar Valley. In spite of our differing opinions on the cabin experience, we all agreed that the Roosevelt Lodge Dining Room had great food and was the place we all felt most comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    135
    38
    14
    2
See reviews for
141
120
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We flew into Billings, MT and drove the Beartooth highway to Roosevelt Lodge, where we stayed for two nights before moving on to the rest of the park to camp. We stayed in one of the Roughrider cabins with a woodstove - it was wonderful! From the moment we arrived, we were delighted with how well the lodging blended in with the surroundings. At $70 a night, it doesn't get much better than this. Definitely one of our top lodging experiences in the national parks.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYHonduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
231 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

We knew coming in that Roosevelt Lodge would be roughing it (we knew about the communal bathroom and stove in the room which we needed to start up ourselves). When I heard that the temperatures in Yellowstone would drop below freezing overnight and some snowshowers were possible at the end of August, you can imagine how we dreaded to stay here.
When I walked into the Roosevelt Lodge dining room, it was love at first sight. It was cozy and inviting - it really felt so comfortable that my worries immediately disappeared. When we checked into the rooms - yes, they were very cold, but after starting up the stove (it was not that difficult and the kids were really excited about seeing the real fire in the stove), the room became warm and stayed so till the middle of the night. At that point, I was too lazy to get out and put some additional wood into the stove, so by the morning it got cold again (but that's just due to my laziness). It was still bearable.
As for the common bathroom, it was also very warm and clean. We even joked that after looking at the cold cabin, maybe we can sleep in the warm bathroom.
The food at Roosevelt Lodge is outstanding - it was probably the best one we had for the entire trip. The prices were decent, and so were the portions. The breakfast was so filling and sumptious that it lasted us till the evening.
To me, this was the best choice in Yellowstone - all of us unanimously came to that agreement. We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Have to be honest, we usually prefer more luxury accomodation but Roughrider cabins with shared bathroom facilities were all we could find available. The two teenagers were able to have one each but we were still not particularly looking forward to the experience. However, we had a great time. The change in style was fun, the cabins, while basic were clean and toiletries and towels were supplied. The Lodge itself is attractive, good staff, pleasant dining room and sitting on a rocker on the balcony was a great way to end the day. The cabins are not insulated and it gets really cold even in summer so light the fire and take warm pyjamas. Noise can be a problem with thoughtless neighbours bringing their car to their cabin to pack at midnight. The car park is close and as this happened again at 4 am it may be worth the lodge requesting guests not to do this.
Incidentally the cowboy cookout was great fun.
We would return but would probably try and book a cabin with bathroom facilities if possible. Definitely recommend this area of Yellowstone. Quieter but still within easy reach of all you might want to see.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Our family stayed in two Roughrider lodge cabins for 4 nights while in Yellowstone. We had two 21 year olds who had their own cabin who called it their favorite part of their Yellowstone experience! We had amazing views from the porch while sitting in rocking chairs of the main lodge. The cabins are clean, comfortable and charming. Shared bathroom for the rough rider units but they were clean and accessible. Some units do have a bathrooms. Wood stove for heat-wood provided even with starter and matches! Extra blankets, a fan, towels, glasses and shampoo and soap are also provided. Amazing details to make you comfortable at an amazing price. Very cold even in August at night bring flannel pajamas! EXCELLENT FOOD (best in the whole park)! We ate at the Roosevelt 4 times. FREE MORNING COFFEE. Excellent service and staff. Reserve ahead for the very popular chuck wagon dinner offered right next door. Great location to explore all parts of the park. Much less congested than Old Faithful or Canyon areas. Attracts a nice quiet "outdoorsy" crowd. I would highly recommend this for a great stay in Yellowstone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisachristine0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

Stayed in the Roughrider Cabins with no toilets and sink. Got a real feel of being in a national park. The Roosevelt Lodge is in a quiet place of the park. We loved the cabins! They also provide excellent value for the yellowstone park. Only downside was that the lodge is a bit far away from the main locations such as old faithful and others. Would go there agains.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicoZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawson, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

Cute little cabins. Very neat and clean. Just beware...there is no insulation in the cabins, so you hear everything your neighbor does outside. Talking, car doors..etc. You will need to use the fireplace, but it was warm and cozy. The food was very good in the restaurant and affordable. The service was great, friendly staff. It is located at the end of the park and there was alot of construction going on. I liked staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheriM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
24.8 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
14.7 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
37.5 mi away
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.7 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
17.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Lodge Cabins

Property: Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Address: PO Box 165, Tower-Roosevelt Junction, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Lodge Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Roosevelt Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing