We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Geronimo, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“It's the location”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed in a Frontier Cabin for two nights. The fourplex configuration did a good job of mitigating the noise from the other 3 units. The room was clean and comfortable. Since we were staying here for the location, it was exactly what we wanted - a nice place to stay with a shower while we visited the magnificence of Yellowstone Canyon and Falls. While it is not on any maps and the employees and rangers do not mention it, there is an old abandoned bike path/trail running just beyond the row of cabins above the loop road that takes you to the North Rim of Yellowstone Canyon (this is also the path that takes you to Canyon Village). If you are an experienced hiker, it is a great way to get to the North Rim.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    439
    251
    90
    31
See reviews for
486
426
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

If you are taking kids, download some videos for them. You will be totally unplugged here. But, where else will you have to wait for a bison to pass before you enter the room. The rooms are very basic and you may or may not have a bath, so check first. It is so worth staying right in the park. The cafeteria food was okay. We did a last minute booking through the lodge and were able to get a cancelled room. So check it out

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyCongar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed in frontier cabins and Western cabins both.Frontier cabins are really basic and are just good to spend a night but thats what, we were there for.Western cabins are really nice and of course pricy.
I would again stay in Frontier cabin coz after hiking all day all we need is a good bed to sleep.
Located at perfect setting, in center of park, frontier cabins are value for money.(no other options in park in same price range.)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelophile_Banjara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

The Western cabins at Canyon are very nice. Avoid the Frontier or Pioneer cabins which are old and small. I think it is worth the extra cost for the Western cabins. The canyon at Yellowstone is wonderful so it is nice to stay close to it. The cafeteria and restaurant are not bad.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pizzalover245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our Australian family stayed at Canyon Lodge back in July 2013. Although a little pricey (everything is, but well worth the stunning scenery and the easy access to everything) we were very happy with our rooms. Our family of 5 had two Frontier Cabin rooms B4-3 and B4-4 which were adjoining rooms. Our immediate impression of the rooms were that they were very basic but also very clean. As we were already aware there would be no fridge, cooking facilities or hair dryers. The showers were awesome and we were comfortable in our beds. We loved the wildlife surrounding the rooms and we could walk out the door and see bison, deer and lots of little creatures. It was a nice walk (but I wouldn't like to walk in the dark) or short drive to the village which had a grocery store, dining room, cafeteria and gift shop. Each night at Yellowstone we ate in restaurants and cafeterias and we were happy with both the food and prices . We had no trouble driving around Yellowstone, there were no big traffic jams, just small ones from time to time when an animal was spotted on the side of the road and we were more than happy to join the queue. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CanberraGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

After our prior national park lodging experiences, our Western cabin seemed like the Ritz. I guess with national park lodges, newer is better. Our unit was at the end of the last loop so it felt like we were out in the woods. And while there were 4 cabins in our unit, there was no noise from our neighbors. Had there not been cars parked next to ours, I wouldn't have known they were even there. Having a Keurig machine in the room was a big plus too. My only complaint is the condition of the roads in front of the cabins. It was a bit of a chore to avoid the huge potholes. Our cabin was too far away to walk to the restaurants but worth the drive for the peacefulness we experienced. I liked the location of Canyon Village the best. If I had it to do over again, I would have spent all 4 nights here instead of spending 2 nights at Old Faithful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bams220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

National Parks all seem to be a rip-off for accommodations and food. Yellowstone is no exception. However, our cabin here had been newly remodeled and was clean and modern. Still no WiFi or TV, a noisy wall heater but other than that is was lovely. We had a big window looking out on the forest, which was fun. But at $213.00 a night, something should be fun.

Room Tip: ask for a re-modeled room or it will be funky and old. Possibly smelly, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auh2o5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
13.1 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,097 reviews
23.8 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
969 reviews
23.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
23.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
25.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lodge and Cabins

Property: Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Address: 5700 Norris Canyon Rd, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Lodge and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 520
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canyon Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Lodge And Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Canyon Lodge Cabins
Canyon Lodge Yellowstone
Canyon Lodge And Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing