We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a shock” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit of a shock”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was the seventh hotel (out of eight) that we stayed in during our trip around the West. Admittedly we arrived when it was raining but our hearts sank when we saw our cabin. I checked with reception to see if there was anything better only to be told that the other cabins used communal toilet facilities and the hotel rooms were tiny, we had the best on offer. Queuing for every meal was a pain and the prices weren't in keeping with the service.
Gardiner is only five miles away and this is where we chose to eat. My guess is you can probably find better accommodation there as well.

Room Tip: Try Gardiner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    798
    520
    172
    53
See reviews for
715
828
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is a historic hotel, and the rooms are hot and stuffy, as others have said, and you may not have your own private facilities, but as a place to base yourself for the northern part of the Park it is ideal. The lobby has a resident barista, there are evening talks from a knowledgeable resident, and the nearby restaurant is good. It is within walking distance of the amazing Travertine Terraces and there are interesting historic buildings in Mammoth itself which are worth a wander round, if the rutting elk don't get in the way, as they did with us in September.

Room Tip: Book early - preferably 6 months ahead - and if you want ensuite facilities you may have to book eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is the second time we've stayed in the Mammoth Hot Springs Cabins. We were so looking forward to staying a second time and were not disappointed. Our little cabin porch faced the courtyard, which made for a relaxing evening. The cabin has two queen beds, a night stand, a desk/chair and a full bathroom (shower and toilet in bath with separate sink area in the bedroom). It would probably be pretty crowded in the cabin for more than 2 people, but perfect for us. The cabins are a short walk from the main hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin facing the grassy courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funNsun324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I booked this space several months in advance and was lucky to get a room by the sounds of it. However I was not overly pleased with the quality of the room. Maybe a cabin would have been better if it had been available. I concede the hotel is well located and has been around for a long time but I think modernization is possible without losing its charm. A coffee maker and hair dryer were the only modern touches. Old windows, doors, plumbing fixtures and very small rooms just did not cut it with me. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Modernization is greatly needed.

Room Tip: If I had to do this trip again I would stay outside the park and drive in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yellowstone National Park hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Located right by the Mammoth Hot Springs in Yellowstone National Park, this hotel is in a wonderful setting. It is old-fashioned and a little tired - the rooms are very hot and stuffy - but that does not detract from the overall experience of staying in such a delightful venue.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186338Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

These are called cabins but in actuality it is a large room with a shower/toilet small bath. The sink is in the bedroom, really more convenient anyway. The cabin had a very nice front porch with chairs for relaxing, viewing and hearing the elk antics. The bed was very comfortable and the cabin clean. As mentioned in other reviews there are few amenities, a hair dryer was it. Be prepared for no television, no internet and very limited (mostly nonexistent) cell phone service. But after all you are in Yellowstone National Park! We will stay there again if the opportunity presents.

Room Tip: Cabins, especially the individual ones will eliminate the noise issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in one of the little cabins which backed up to the hillside. It was small but very quiet and clean. The bed was comfortable. The shower was small but served it's purpose. It was nice being so close to the hot spring Terraces. It was our favorite of all the places we stayed. It was in rut season so the Elk were on the hill behind us bugling all night long. It was so exciting seeing them all over town and hearing them. When we were there 4 bulls were trying to take over town. They were active the whole time we were there. We will for sure stay here again!!

It was close to Gardiner so we went out into town and ate. On the way back be sure to check the hills for Big Horn Sheep. We seen tons!

Room Tip: Choose a stand alone cabin. Then you get no noise from the neighbors!! Watch where you walk - Elk p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NPHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.8 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
4.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
27.1 mi away
Lake Lodge Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins
#6 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Property: Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing