We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay with good restaurant and elk views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Mammoth as part of 5 nights in the park. After 3 nights at Old Faithful, Mammoth was relaxing.

We stayed in the hotel - as many have said the rooms are nothing special but the staff will try to sort out any issues. We were happy to have a view from the window of elk grazing on the grass outside the room.

After dining at Old Faithful restaurant (and being very disappointed), we wondered whether to bother with the Mammoth restaurant - but we were surprised - we got a proper waiter who looked after us very nicely, gave good advice as to quantities etc and the food was as good as it sounded on the menu. We ate there both nights and were happy with it.

The Hot springs are just a short walk away - we went on the Ranger led walk of the Lower Springs area which was a good introduction.

Would recommend as a good place to see the north end of the park from.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul Schofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 2,057 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here three nights on our way through Yellowstone. It is an old hotel but well maintained. The room was large with 2 queen beds and clean, nothing special. The hotel is green they have recycling bins in the rooms which is quiet nice. The hotel is in a great location near the Park Headquarters and old Fort Yellowstone. The elk like to feed in the grassy areas around the hotel, Park Headquarters the old parade ground and the Old Fort.. We heard a bull elk bugeling outside our window and at dinner across the street at the dining room we could see the elk charging one another during their rutting rituals in the old parade grounds.
One morning the rangers had the street closed due to elk running back and forth across the streeets it lasted about an hour.
A funny thing we witnessed was a female elk crossing the street using the cross walks, she walked across the street from the hotel, to the park headquarters then stopped on the corner looked both ways waited until the light turned green and proceeded to cross the street using the crosswalk and headed down the side walk to the post office. It was like she knew exactly what to do.
Since our last trip to Mammoth the terraces have grown some of the boardwalks have grown shorter. It really is a beautiful part of the park. The bonus is driving through the historic North Gate entrance.

Room Tip: Any room facing the Park Headquarters and Parade Grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank starsweptsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Our cabin this year was a stand-alone, with no shared walls, and thus very quiet at night. Last time I stayed in a Mammoth cabin, the mattresses were ancient and horribly mushy, the bedspreads were old and obviously worn, and the neighbors with whom a wall was shared were noisy late into the night. Our cabin this summer appeared to have new mattresses that were both firm and comfortable. The weather was hot during the day, but we were able to keep the interior habitable by opening windows at night, then closing them first thing in the morning and closing the curtains during the day, and leaving a fan on.

The cabin was very clean, no sticky residues on counter or table-tops, no funny odors, etc. and there was lots of room for both of us and our excessive mounds of luggage. Most of the time we could park right next to the cabin. The night before we left, a neighboring SUV took our spot whilst we were out wildlife viewing, but they left in the morning before we did, so we were able to load the car close to the front porch. A gravel road ran behind the cabin, but the traffic noise wasn't bad and the passing vehicles didn't raise much dust.

The cabin interior had the appearance of being recently painted, and it didn't seem at all decrepit, quite a change from the cabin I stayed at in 2009. The Mammoth cabin was more expensive than our other Park accommodations, but reasonable, considering, and it was nice to have our own bathroom after several nights spent without one. It was the nicest room we stayed in within the Park boundary during our visit in 2013.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank nobodysmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were not looking forward to Mammoth cabins, and were staying there as they were the only cabins in the park available to us at the time we booked. We should not have worried; although vey small, the cabins were spotlessly clean, and quiet. Although our room was connected to another room, the soundproofing was good, and we only heard our neighbors when they entered the room. The beds were probably the best quality we had in the park, the bedding was very nice.

The room is VERY small. It would be a challenge to stay with 2 couples, but for 2 people it was OK. There is no table, so breakfast in the room was a bit challenging, and with luggage and ice chests, there was barely room to turn around. There is no Keurig or coffee maker of any kind. (However the coffee cart in the hotel lobby opens early.)

We really enjoyed the Mammoth lodging area; it was easy to walk to the Hotel and Dining Rooms; easy to get ice for the ice chests, and where else can you hear elk bugling outside your door at 4:30 in the morning? We were in the A loop which is an outer loop. Our room window looked out onto a hill, so we didn't have much of a view but being on the edge of things made it very quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baraseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a cabin with shared bathroom, and to be honest our expectations were not high...
The cabins are actually lovely, very cute & quaint. We'd booked a 2 dble bed room but actually got adjoining cabins! Nicely furnished and spotless. Wish we'd had time to sit on the porch and relax. There is a sink in the room.
The shared bathrooms (very close by) were SPOTLESS. Seriously, I've never seen facilities of this type so clean. There were plenty of towels, complimentary toiletries in the bathroom (& cute bear shaped soap in your room).
There is no fridge in the room, no TV, and wifi is only available in the bar/dining room complex (and you have to buy a pass to use it).
Dining options in Mammoth are very limited - food in the bar looked good but there were no tables (probably due to everyone trying to use the internet), there was a long wait for a table in the dining room. We ended up going to the grill which is a fast food / cafeteria style place. Black bean burger was good. The best bit about this place is the view (if you're eating around sunset you'll see the Elk coming down the road to graze on the grass across the road!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank KateE006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in a hot tub cabin. The hot tub is outside the cabin but surrounded by a privacy wall. The cabin was cozy, clean and comfortable with terry cloth bath roads and Keurig coffee makers.. No TV or wifi which was fine with us. The elk are right in the heart of town and it was AMAZING!! Please respect them and listen to the rangers. They are beautiful but dangerous animals. There is a one way dirt road behind that cabins that goes over to the town of Gardiner that I highly suggest taking. It's short but beautiful and gets you away from the tourists. Stop in Gardiner, a very cute little western town and enjoy an ice cream!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here one night on our way through YNP. It is an old hotel but well maintained. The room was large with 2 queen beds and clean, nothing special. They are very environmentally conscious. There are recycling baskets in the room. Lotion, shampoo and conditioner are in pump bottles instead of small disposable bottles. Good quality.

The hotel is in a great location near the Park Headquarters and old Fort Yellowstone. The elk like to feed in the grassy areas there. We heard a bull elk bugeling outside our window.

Front desk staff were very helpful trying to help me solve a problem that arose.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,205 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,012 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
19.5 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: £214 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing