We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yellowstone Headquarters Lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Yellowstone Headquarters Lodging”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Mammoth Hotsprings hotel is like a classic lodging experience from the 1950s. The hotel features huge hallways and rooms. The rooms were fantastic when built and have been maintained with good quality.

Great location in "village" that houses Yellowstone Parks administrative headquarters. Elk come in to graze the lawns in the late afternoon and you can watch from the hotel's veranda or your room if it faces the east or south. Walk to Mammoth Hotsprings terraces from the hotel and other small museums in the Mammoth complex.

Dining room is next door, which is a bit strange, but... Near a Yellowstone general store and gas station. Overall my wife's favorite in a long list of National Park Lodges we visited in the Rockies.

Only real negative was the shower. Awkward set up with ring curtains around tub. Last morning of our stay the room above's shower started leaking into our bathroom. Maintenance was right on the issue though! Also while WiFi is available it is at a steep price and only in the restaurant's bar area.

Room Tip: Rooms on east have better views. Cabins looked nice, but we stayed in main buidling. Noise from abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    798
    520
    172
    53
See reviews for
715
828
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed on a cabin during august 2013, were two kids and two adults.
Overall it has been a good experience, cabins were comfortable enough even if furnitures are somewhat old. Bed were comfortable, room was clean, bathroom was clean too. The thing we disliked was that the sink was not in the bathroom but in the main room, this was a hassle because I get up very early to hike. However the PRO is that just behind our cabin started the beaver ponds trail... Another pro is that you can park your car just behind your cabin.
Staff was very polite and helpful. Price is fair.
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlop_oOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Mammoth as part of 5 nights in the park. After 3 nights at Old Faithful, Mammoth was relaxing.

We stayed in the hotel - as many have said the rooms are nothing special but the staff will try to sort out any issues. We were happy to have a view from the window of elk grazing on the grass outside the room.

After dining at Old Faithful restaurant (and being very disappointed), we wondered whether to bother with the Mammoth restaurant - but we were surprised - we got a proper waiter who looked after us very nicely, gave good advice as to quantities etc and the food was as good as it sounded on the menu. We ate there both nights and were happy with it.

The Hot springs are just a short walk away - we went on the Ranger led walk of the Lower Springs area which was a good introduction.

Would recommend as a good place to see the north end of the park from.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Schofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here three nights on our way through Yellowstone. It is an old hotel but well maintained. The room was large with 2 queen beds and clean, nothing special. The hotel is green they have recycling bins in the rooms which is quiet nice. The hotel is in a great location near the Park Headquarters and old Fort Yellowstone. The elk like to feed in the grassy areas around the hotel, Park Headquarters the old parade ground and the Old Fort.. We heard a bull elk bugeling outside our window and at dinner across the street at the dining room we could see the elk charging one another during their rutting rituals in the old parade grounds.
One morning the rangers had the street closed due to elk running back and forth across the streeets it lasted about an hour.
A funny thing we witnessed was a female elk crossing the street using the cross walks, she walked across the street from the hotel, to the park headquarters then stopped on the corner looked both ways waited until the light turned green and proceeded to cross the street using the crosswalk and headed down the side walk to the post office. It was like she knew exactly what to do.
Since our last trip to Mammoth the terraces have grown some of the boardwalks have grown shorter. It really is a beautiful part of the park. The bonus is driving through the historic North Gate entrance.

Room Tip: Any room facing the Park Headquarters and Parade Grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank starsweptsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Our cabin this year was a stand-alone, with no shared walls, and thus very quiet at night. Last time I stayed in a Mammoth cabin, the mattresses were ancient and horribly mushy, the bedspreads were old and obviously worn, and the neighbors with whom a wall was shared were noisy late into the night. Our cabin this summer appeared to have new mattresses that were both firm and comfortable. The weather was hot during the day, but we were able to keep the interior habitable by opening windows at night, then closing them first thing in the morning and closing the curtains during the day, and leaving a fan on.

The cabin was very clean, no sticky residues on counter or table-tops, no funny odors, etc. and there was lots of room for both of us and our excessive mounds of luggage. Most of the time we could park right next to the cabin. The night before we left, a neighboring SUV took our spot whilst we were out wildlife viewing, but they left in the morning before we did, so we were able to load the car close to the front porch. A gravel road ran behind the cabin, but the traffic noise wasn't bad and the passing vehicles didn't raise much dust.

The cabin interior had the appearance of being recently painted, and it didn't seem at all decrepit, quite a change from the cabin I stayed at in 2009. The Mammoth cabin was more expensive than our other Park accommodations, but reasonable, considering, and it was nice to have our own bathroom after several nights spent without one. It was the nicest room we stayed in within the Park boundary during our visit in 2013.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank nobodysmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were not looking forward to Mammoth cabins, and were staying there as they were the only cabins in the park available to us at the time we booked. We should not have worried; although vey small, the cabins were spotlessly clean, and quiet. Although our room was connected to another room, the soundproofing was good, and we only heard our neighbors when they entered the room. The beds were probably the best quality we had in the park, the bedding was very nice.

The room is VERY small. It would be a challenge to stay with 2 couples, but for 2 people it was OK. There is no table, so breakfast in the room was a bit challenging, and with luggage and ice chests, there was barely room to turn around. There is no Keurig or coffee maker of any kind. (However the coffee cart in the hotel lobby opens early.)

We really enjoyed the Mammoth lodging area; it was easy to walk to the Hotel and Dining Rooms; easy to get ice for the ice chests, and where else can you hear elk bugling outside your door at 4:30 in the morning? We were in the A loop which is an outer loop. Our room window looked out onto a hill, so we didn't have much of a view but being on the edge of things made it very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baraseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a cabin with shared bathroom, and to be honest our expectations were not high...
The cabins are actually lovely, very cute & quaint. We'd booked a 2 dble bed room but actually got adjoining cabins! Nicely furnished and spotless. Wish we'd had time to sit on the porch and relax. There is a sink in the room.
The shared bathrooms (very close by) were SPOTLESS. Seriously, I've never seen facilities of this type so clean. There were plenty of towels, complimentary toiletries in the bathroom (& cute bear shaped soap in your room).
There is no fridge in the room, no TV, and wifi is only available in the bar/dining room complex (and you have to buy a pass to use it).
Dining options in Mammoth are very limited - food in the bar looked good but there were no tables (probably due to everyone trying to use the internet), there was a long wait for a table in the dining room. We ended up going to the grill which is a fast food / cafeteria style place. Black bean burger was good. The best bit about this place is the view (if you're eating around sunset you'll see the Elk coming down the road to graze on the grass across the road!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KateE006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
922 reviews
36.5 mi away
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,341 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
709 reviews
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Property: Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing