We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here in May of 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Here in May of 2013”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I looooove Yellowstone. Once I visited it, I felt so connected to it and now wish I could live there. We stayed at Mammoth back in May on our first visit here. The price was good and I think at the time we booked, it was the only lodging available. The area that its in, I consider to sort of be in the middle of the park- in the sense that you will either go in 2 directions. We had a queen bed and shared bath option. Sharing a bathroom was not that bad, not as bad as we thought it could be, but we are the camping type. The room is small, and has a sink inside. Its really neat to look out your window and see all of the bison out roaming along the lawn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    809
    523
    172
    56
See reviews for
722
841
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

The information center sent us up to the hotel to book some tours and suggested that we ask about staying there although warned that the rooms were not equipped with bathrooms and we would have to share. That was not really what we wanted and were suprised to find that they do have rooms available with large bathrooms and old fashion tubs. We decided to stay and as I was finalizing the reservation my husband happened to ask about WiFi and they replied that it was only available in the dining room and very unpredictable at that and was pay as you go. So ok no WiFi, laughingly we said, you do have TV and that was a big NO. Right away I thought we were in trouble, how would the husband live without TV for four nights well guess what, we had the best time at the inn and never missed the Tv or really the wifi. The wild life that we saw and the beautiful suuroundings were so impressive, I'm so happy that we had the chance to stay.
We took two full day tours and one half day tour and loved every minute of the snow, cold and all the bison we saw as well as elk, wolves, sheep and coyotes. The snow track vans were great for touring in small groups.
We didn't want to leave but had to head back to Florida to get back to work.
All we can tell everyone is, if you haven't been you need to go! Best trip ever.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to and 4 nights on our Winter in Wonderland tour (the tour was fabulous). We stayed in 3 rooms during the trip, see room tips. Definitely try to get either of the first two floors as the fourth is like a sauna and we had to keep the window wide open even when the outside temp was below zero. We did not stay on the third floor. The hotel was clean, the beds very comfortable. None of the rooms had much storage, just a couple drawers and a few hooks. The food was good, especially the breakfasts. We found the dinners to be so-so. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in 422 the first night. It was quite cramped and very hot so we asked if we could move to an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Make sure to get room private bat and if possible 2 queen beds . Room 213 very basic but good.
Feels like 1950's . However the location great especially in winter since a lot of winter tours leaves from lobby. Restaurant food VG.

Room Tip: Get private bathroom and 2 queen rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSU64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
190 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

In spite of the age of this hotel, we really enjoyed our stay. All of the staff were very helpful and we had the best snow coach tours from this location. The guides are a little older and more experienced than those at the Snow Lodge at Old Faithful (and have a lot of stories). It is also significantly less expensive than the Snow Lodge, though the Snow Lodge is much newer. That said, there was no closet in our room and we had limited space, i.e. a chest with 2 drawers and some hangars and hooks, to put things away. I noticed, some rooms had chests with 3 drawers. To control the heat, we turned the heat to zero and opened the window to cool it off. A little strange considering it was pretty cold outside. We had a room with a bathroom (some do not), which had a footed tub. Not the most convenient, but it worked fine and was in keeping with the hotel.

Even though I have explained the downfalls of this hotel, we still would recommend the hotel because of the wonderful staff at the desk and the restaurant. We booked the "Frosty Fun" package which saved us some money on the snow coach tours and transfers and gave us 10% off in the restaurant and gift shop. I would highly recommend that. And by the way, the Lamar Valley Wildlife tour was outstanding. Ours was led by Woody. You have to get up early but it was well worth it. He wanted to make sure we saw everything we could and kept us out later. Plus there were bison on the road a lot. Avoid booking other tours or reservations right after your tour, since the coaches often get in late. But it is well worth it! And Yellowstone in the winter is SPECTACULAR!

I want to comment here about the Xanterra tours since I did read the review about the bad Xanterra tour to the canyon from Mammoth. We took 6 Xanterra tours, 2 at Mammoth and 4 at the Snow Lodge, and 5 of them were very good or excellent. Our drivers were always prepared and knowledgeable, and they were good about seeing and doing things that were good for the group. For example, on the Fire Hole tour, everyone in our coach was leaving the park through Flag Ranch from the Snow Lodge rather than going back to Mammoth. So our guide, William, did something that we would not have seen otherwise. It was great! Our last day, our driver, Matt, went through a blizzard to get to the canyon, and took us on another wildlife visit after visiting the canyon since we had a 5th grader that had seen a bobcat along the Madison River the day before (and the guide did not stop). We saw the bobcat, elks, bald eagles, coyotes, ducks, swans, and of course bison. So I think it is a little bit luck of the draw with the guides. We did not enjoy the Steam and Stars tour because there were no stars that night, it was extremely cold, and our guide did not engage the group much at all. She was nice enough and pretty knowledgeable. From the Snow Lodge, most of the coaches are bombardiers, like tanks, see the photo. Some of the guides use ear plugs because of the noise. Our guides/drivers at Mammoth all used a microphone and talked to us most of the time. It does help get the group talking, and asking questions. But the tours were still worthwhile from the Snow Lodge, just a little different.

I do want to mention that there is limited WiFi at this location and the Snow lodge. And you must pay for it, $5 an hour, or $12 per day. In Mammoth you need to go over to the restaurant building to use it and at the Snow Lodge, it is just off of the lobby. Everyone said that Verizon had the best service. ATT was OK at the Snow Lodge but otherwise very spotty around the park. With T-mobile, we could make calls and text at the hotels, but no data service at all.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top (4th) floor facing the street and some mountains. I don't think any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
942 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 731 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

In any historic accommodation there are oddities. Among those here are old call buttons which I don't think function any more, a heat system that a knowledge of thermodynamics is helpful to negotiate, hallways that reminded us of the hotel in The Shining, and a famous, artistic fountain you may need help to find in the lobby None of these are bad, just quirky. I like this place, and I've enjoyed every visit. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and quiet as long as there aren't kids running in the hall (A very rare occurrence). The lobby is comfortable, as is the Map Room, for relaxing or playing a board game. I missed the lobby clock this time. The staff was friendly, courteous and efficient.
We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Reference the heat issue, try for a room on the first floor in the winter. The heat tends to build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Staying at the Mammoth Hot Springs cabins was great! They are cute with nice windows to let the breeze in to keep it cool! The front porch with chairs was a welcome place to relax. The only draw back is not having a bathroom...but the facilities only 2 cabins down were always clean and
not crowded. I loved the atmosphere of the clean little yellow freshly painted cabins. It was home to me! The real draw is the park...being close is such a great benefit , being able to get an early start every morning to go explore the park is worth the stay!

Room Tip: Just a short walk to the cafe and Hot Springs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2carolyngg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
981 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
917 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
720 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Property: Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing