We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great grounds”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I've stayed at four or five of the lodgings in Yellowstone. Don't go to Yellowstone to hang out in your bedroom. The rooms are a place to sleep and use the bathroom. The cabins are sufficient for this purpose, and they are a good value if you book in advance. We loved Mammoth for the amazing scenery and hiking. The ice cream shop here is really good, too! Enjoy your vacation in this magical park.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atperts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    815
    527
    172
    56
See reviews for
726
850
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We have visited Yellowstone NP many times over the years during summers, having camped in the park a few times and stayed in many of the park lodges.  Early January was our first winter visit to Yellowstone and we thoroughly enjoyed it.  We stayed 2 nights at the Mammoth Hotel followed by 2 nights at Old Faithful Snow Lodge (separate review) then back to the Mammoth Hotel again.  This was also our first stay at both lodges.  Mammoth Hotel is close to 100 years old but is well maintained.  This is the only lodge that can be driven to in the winter, as Mammoth is the only entrance open to cars in the winter.  The road is open to cars along the northern part of the park to the turn off to the NE park entrance (Beartooth Hwy is closed beyond that however) but is closed to cars just beyond Tower and closed just a few miles south of Mammoth.  There is plenty of opportunity to see lots of wildlife along the northern road because they tend to move here in the winter because of the lower elevation.  The terraced hot springs near the hotel are great to visit too but unfortunately aren't really spectacular enough to fill a day of sightseeing.  The Old Faithful area has much more to see and do.  Our room in the hotel was comfortable and had a nice view of the visitors center across the street.  Being an older hotel we could hear lots of stuff through the walls and above us.  Each room has a radiator and most people we talked to complained that their rooms were hot like ours.  We had ours turned off but apparently the gage wasn't working.  Our radiator made a lot of clunky noises too in the first room we stayed in.  The bathroom was small and the shower was definitely something out of the 70's, but everything was clean and worked fine.  The main part of the hotel is very nice.  The large common area has a huge beautiful map of the United States made out of all kinds of wood.  The dining hall is across the street and is well maintained and elegant looking, and the food is good too.  Be sure to dress for the outdoors when heading over for a meal.  Everyone working in the hotel and dining hall were friendly and helpful.  We were even able to check in early.  As mentioned in the review for Old Faithful Snow Lodge, Xanterra does a great job with their Yellowstone operations.  We would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2windsurfandski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Accommodation is a problem in Yellowstone, but we found the Mammoth Hot Springs hotel to be quite adequate and not badly priced. We even got a small refund because the price had apparently fallen after we booked.

Food options in the area were OK (we just had burgers), and the rooms were old but comfortable. All in all, not a bad place to stay considering.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I looooove Yellowstone. Once I visited it, I felt so connected to it and now wish I could live there. We stayed at Mammoth back in May on our first visit here. The price was good and I think at the time we booked, it was the only lodging available. The area that its in, I consider to sort of be in the middle of the park- in the sense that you will either go in 2 directions. We had a queen bed and shared bath option. Sharing a bathroom was not that bad, not as bad as we thought it could be, but we are the camping type. The room is small, and has a sink inside. Its really neat to look out your window and see all of the bison out roaming along the lawn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

The information center sent us up to the hotel to book some tours and suggested that we ask about staying there although warned that the rooms were not equipped with bathrooms and we would have to share. That was not really what we wanted and were suprised to find that they do have rooms available with large bathrooms and old fashion tubs. We decided to stay and as I was finalizing the reservation my husband happened to ask about WiFi and they replied that it was only available in the dining room and very unpredictable at that and was pay as you go. So ok no WiFi, laughingly we said, you do have TV and that was a big NO. Right away I thought we were in trouble, how would the husband live without TV for four nights well guess what, we had the best time at the inn and never missed the Tv or really the wifi. The wild life that we saw and the beautiful suuroundings were so impressive, I'm so happy that we had the chance to stay.
We took two full day tours and one half day tour and loved every minute of the snow, cold and all the bison we saw as well as elk, wolves, sheep and coyotes. The snow track vans were great for touring in small groups.
We didn't want to leave but had to head back to Florida to get back to work.
All we can tell everyone is, if you haven't been you need to go! Best trip ever.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to and 4 nights on our Winter in Wonderland tour (the tour was fabulous). We stayed in 3 rooms during the trip, see room tips. Definitely try to get either of the first two floors as the fourth is like a sauna and we had to keep the window wide open even when the outside temp was below zero. We did not stay on the third floor. The hotel was clean, the beds very comfortable. None of the rooms had much storage, just a couple drawers and a few hooks. The food was good, especially the breakfasts. We found the dinners to be so-so. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in 422 the first night. It was quite cramped and very hot so we asked if we could move to an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Make sure to get room private bat and if possible 2 queen beds . Room 213 very basic but good.
Feels like 1950's . However the location great especially in winter since a lot of winter tours leaves from lobby. Restaurant food VG.

Room Tip: Get private bathroom and 2 queen rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSU64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,050 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
943 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
737 reviews
4.2 mi away
No photo provided
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Property: Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing