We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Brandon, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is on an old Army base. Rooms were clean. Wide hallways with clawfoot tub in the bathroom. Elk and Bison roam the grounds. Walk to mammoth springs, post office, visitor center and store. Gateway to the Best viewing on animals over in the NE Lamar Valley.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private bath.
See more room tips
Green Features: Stresses recycling, climate change. Food locally purchased when possible.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stjudemomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    815
    527
    172
    56
See reviews for
726
849
55
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the cabins, simple comfort, very clean, had everything we needed for our stay in Yellowstone NP. Did not mind not having a TV because we took advantage of the outdoors to the fullest.
Everything is within walking distance and personnel was super friendly. You can get a brown bag lunch or just order a to go lunch if you're hiking or just stop at the little store for supplies. We loved the dinner menu at the Inn, the smoked trout appetizer was to die for. Waiters/waitresses could have been a little faster/more attentive but quality food made up for that!
Loved the park, trails, wildlife, peaceful beauty!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tnrunrgrl262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, IL
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We wanted to have the experience of staying in a historic hotel in Yellowstone NP. If you want to do this also, just don't expect all the modern ammenities of the modern hotels today. You will have your bed to sleep on, running water, and electricity. That's about it. No cell phone service, no TV, no radio, no business center with computers, no fitness center, no pool, no coffee 24/7. However, you can enjoy staying in an old historic hotel with bison and elk on the grounds, enjoy the beauty of the surroundings, and play board or card games in the Map Room which is used for presentations, also. It has a huge wooden map of the United States. There is a gift shop available and an espresso cart where you can buy coffee, other beverages, and snacks.

The hotel has a covered drive thru but had manual doors. Enter into a spacious lobby with a fireplace and some seating. There is a large dining room adjacent to the hotel. Also, there is the Terrace Grill where you can get food at a more moderate fare.

Our room was clean and had 2 queen beds with only 2 lights as well as the light in the bathroom. No radio, no TV, no wi-fi. It had a closet, a dresser with mirror, a fan, a sitting chair, and a night stand. 3 recycle tubs were available for use.

Our room had a private bath with shower only. There really was no vanity space--just the sink. An exhaust fan came on when the light was turned on.

We wanted this national park experience but probably would not do it again if in the park in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaleSwansea_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have written elsewhere (http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g54172-d3419406-r201284184-Hardee_s_of_Cheraw-Cheraw_South_Carolina.html) of the Argyle sock effect (find a place where all the employees wear argyle socks and you know the boss wears argyle socks). We found another instance at Mammoth Hot Springs.

We stayed at the cabins on May 4, the 2d or 3d day they were open (the hotel itself is open all year). We've seen enough government concessions to be cynical about them; this place altered out attitudes.

Starting at the cafe, continuing to the store, then the checkin, then a chat with the folks cleaning the cabins, then the lounge, then early coffee, and then breakfast at the dining room, we were uniformly delighted by the cheerful, attentive, helpful service. Turns out most of these folks were fairly young, enjoying a working/hiking experience. They were lean, clean, and uniformly well-trained.

Xanterra has the concession. It must be a big outfit: We saw a van with license 176 and we suspect the numbers run higher. We can't say anything about the rest of their outfit, but Mammoth Hot Springs is run by a manger who is cheerful, attentive, and helpful. Another expression of the argyle sock effect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CosmoNaughtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

When you go to a place like Yellowstone National Park, you spend very little time in the hotel. With that being said if you are hiking and out all day, you need a good place to sleep. I stayed in the main hotel with my wife and 9-year-old daughter. We did have a room with a private bath. You pretty much have to with a young child. Overall, the room is fine. It is what you need to sleep. It was a warm day in Yellowstone, and our room was very hot. We opened the window and even had a fan running and it was hard to cool down. We couldn't turn off the radiator completely. When we called about it, they told us what to do which we had done. When it was still on, they said the heat would go off around 10pm anyway. Well, it didn't. It wasn't something we could fool around with at night cause had to get my daughter to sleep. The room was pretty warm all night. So note in the summer there is no air conditioning. One of the bigger problems is the nature of the hotel, it's older and shall we say cavernous with huge hallways. This creates an echo effect. I have to tell you it sounded like a heard of bison over our head last night. It went on till late and then again early in the morning. I'm a heavy sleeper and it woke me up. The hotel can't control people stomping around, but you have to be wary that it does echo. Also some families may want to know there are no TV's in the room. That didn't bother us, but I know parents with kids sometimes, hey you need a break.

The location itself is fantastic. You have a lot of great hiking near by and you can walk to the famous Mammoth Hot Springs which is beautiful. Also, driving wise you are not that far from the Norris Geyser basin and even the Black Sand Basin, Middle and Upper Geyser Basins (Old Faithful). We've been to the park before and even on the map it did not take as long or even close to what was indicated. I will also say, my family thought the restaurant was good. It was pricey, but what are you going to do. You're in the park, it's to be expected. It was a good menu and good food.

Green Features: The hotel does work hard to be environmentally friendly. I didn't see this as an option, but a linen policy would be good. I don't need my bed linens changed every day or new towels every day. They do a lot though with recycling and other stuff.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobbesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I've stayed at four or five of the lodgings in Yellowstone. Don't go to Yellowstone to hang out in your bedroom. The rooms are a place to sleep and use the bathroom. The cabins are sufficient for this purpose, and they are a good value if you book in advance. We loved Mammoth for the amazing scenery and hiking. The ice cream shop here is really good, too! Enjoy your vacation in this magical park.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atperts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We have visited Yellowstone NP many times over the years during summers, having camped in the park a few times and stayed in many of the park lodges.  Early January was our first winter visit to Yellowstone and we thoroughly enjoyed it.  We stayed 2 nights at the Mammoth Hotel followed by 2 nights at Old Faithful Snow Lodge (separate review) then back to the Mammoth Hotel again.  This was also our first stay at both lodges.  Mammoth Hotel is close to 100 years old but is well maintained.  This is the only lodge that can be driven to in the winter, as Mammoth is the only entrance open to cars in the winter.  The road is open to cars along the northern part of the park to the turn off to the NE park entrance (Beartooth Hwy is closed beyond that however) but is closed to cars just beyond Tower and closed just a few miles south of Mammoth.  There is plenty of opportunity to see lots of wildlife along the northern road because they tend to move here in the winter because of the lower elevation.  The terraced hot springs near the hotel are great to visit too but unfortunately aren't really spectacular enough to fill a day of sightseeing.  The Old Faithful area has much more to see and do.  Our room in the hotel was comfortable and had a nice view of the visitors center across the street.  Being an older hotel we could hear lots of stuff through the walls and above us.  Each room has a radiator and most people we talked to complained that their rooms were hot like ours.  We had ours turned off but apparently the gage wasn't working.  Our radiator made a lot of clunky noises too in the first room we stayed in.  The bathroom was small and the shower was definitely something out of the 70's, but everything was clean and worked fine.  The main part of the hotel is very nice.  The large common area has a huge beautiful map of the United States made out of all kinds of wood.  The dining hall is across the street and is well maintained and elegant looking, and the food is good too.  Be sure to dress for the outdoors when heading over for a meal.  Everyone working in the hotel and dining hall were friendly and helpful.  We were even able to check in early.  As mentioned in the review for Old Faithful Snow Lodge, Xanterra does a great job with their Yellowstone operations.  We would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2windsurfandski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,041 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
936 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
735 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Property: Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing