We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Let me start by saying that we stayed in 3 different Xanterra properties (lodges) while in Yellowstone, and I was pleased with all of them. If you are staying in Yellowstone lodging, please know that the accommodations are not luxurious, but rather, a place to hang your hat when not taking in the sights of the park. We stayed in a cabin, and the simplicity of it was reminiscent of a bygone era. Loved the front porch. Inside, there was barely enough room to move around the 2 beds, but we were only staying for 2 nights, so we managed. The bathroom is beyond tiny with only a toilet and small shower. The sink is in the bedroom area. Despite being tiny, the cabin was very charming and clean. I liked the soap/shampoo/cond dispensers in the Xanterra showers, too. Our friends had a grass courtyard in front of their cabin, so our kids had fun playing in the grass together and unplugging from devices. Our cabin, however, had no courtyard. You will likely have the windows open in July for airflow, so expect to hear neighbors coming and going. We ate at the grill a couple of times, and it was a decent option for quick food. We also went for Pizza at K Bar in Gardiner which was just five miles away - yum! In the evening, we had elk eating and roaming right next to our cabin. All in all, the Mammoth cabins were a memorable place to stay, and I would love to go back some day. Just keep in mind, the closest laundry is in Gardiner.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank chillyjilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 2,058 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed in the cabins, not the hotel, but like most of the lodging inside Yellowstone it is fairly spartan - no TV or wifi, minimal cell service (at least with AT&T) but the cabin was clean and comfortable and we specifcally rented a cabin with a hot tub which we made great use of. We did the cookout out by Roosevelt Lodge the night we stayed so getting dark by the time we got back, the hot tub was perfect in the cool air of the evening and helped our family relax and rejuvenate after a busy day of hiking and sightseeing. The location is great - walking distance to the Mammoth Hot Springs, Visitor's Center and restaurants. The only drawback was very limited parking in this area (thankfuly we had our own spot next to the cabin). While overall a quiet area, we unfortunately had pretty noisy neighbors but otherwise though this was a very good experience.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a hot tub cabin - they are worht it - well maintained and a nice touch at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

From the desk clerk to the housekeeping staff, everyone here was friendly, efficient and welcoming. I would give the hotel a higher rating but for the real need for air conditioners in the rooms! We arrived at about 11pm at night in the middle of July, and our 4th-floor room felt like it was around 90 degrees. Even leaving the window open and a fan on all night barely cooled it to tolerable. That said, the old-fashioned charm goes a long way to redeeming the discomforts. They have modernized the bathrooms and the room was spacious and still has some of the 1930's feel with fixtures and architectural details. I recommend asking for a room on a lower floor, and knowing in advance that some of the amenities you might expect just aren't there. Not to mention, being IN the park itself is a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor and that the fan be left on in the summertime!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMHRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel for three nights. It was clean and the staff is friendly. :) That's the best I can say. Perhaps I didn't read up enough. I thought "shared bathroom" meant we'd be sharing with another room...not the entire floor! They should say "dorm style" bathrooms and possibly specify that it has ONE women's shower for the whole floor. The rooms has no AC and the fan we got didn't oscillate. They did provide us with another fan, but that one also didn't oscillate. I think I would stay in Gardiner next time since it is just 10 minutes further and offers more amenities and food choices. It is very cool that the elk roam around the grounds and there is an awesome piano player in the lobby area. The front desk also has card/board games for people to borrow which is pretty sweet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank akronbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

National park hotels are in a class by themselves. Typically they're outdated with limited amenities, but make up for this lack by being located in a beautiful park. So you can't really compare them to a typical hotel, because they'll always come up short. But if you're willing to put up with these shortcomings, it's typically worthwhile to stay in park lodging because the location can't be beat.

We enjoyed our stay at Mammoth Hot Springs. The shared bathroom room (with 2 queen beds) was a good price and quite comfortable. While there are only 2 showers on each floor (one each for male and females), we never had to wait because you could always go to another floor to find an open shower. The beds were comfortable, there was a decent sink in each room, and the room spacious enough. The biggest issue was that the room was extremely stuffy, and even keeping the window open the entire night didn't help matters. Each room comes with a small fan, but it didn't really help much. Only when the weather turned cooler did our room cool off a bit (we stayed for a number of days)

Mammoth Hot Springs doesn't have the same ambiance as the Old Faithful Inn, lacking a decent lounge area to sit in, but it was convenient to get to the sights. The dining hall across the street from the hotel was pretty good (the bison and trout tacos were quite good) and there's a general store where you can get supplies for breakfast and lunch. Plus the bar area in the dining room has the only TV in the park (though it's tiny).

All in all, it was definitely worth staying.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wuppertaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our first trip to Yellowstone, so I didn't realize that it was sort of silly to stay at this Xanterra property, which is just 5 miles from the town of Gardiner. It's a poor value for the money relative to what you can get for the same price just a few minutes away. It seems like it would make sense to put up with Xanterra's dreariness if you were squarely in the middle of the part, like at Old Faithful. That said, our cabin was clean, the hot tub was lovely, and the staff was pleasant.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank PdxTraveller994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed one night here -very comfortable room with a view - Elk! Seemed like the whole herd of elk took up residence right outside our bedroom. Great photo's.
Very hot whilst we were there and no air conditioning so a bit uncomfortable but still a great stay.
The service from staff was first class and so helpful. Whilst we were there I lost my wallet and had an awful time trying to cancel credit cards. I have to mention Josh from Georgia. This guy was just fantastic trying to help us contact the UK to cancel cards at 1am in the morning, he could not have been more helpful and caring. Even offering his own cell phone to make it easier than feeding the phone with quarters. First class Josh, we won't forget your kindness and all you did for us. Management - please take note, in our eyes he is the employee of the year!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank p3x701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,205 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,012 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
19.5 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: £38 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing