We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Very pleasant stay. Had booked well in advance, was able to secure a room with private bath.
The room was large and comfortable, had view of the deers strolling on the lawn. The staff was pleasant and helpful. During the morning there was coffee for the hotel guest, which I enjoyed sitting outside the hotel watching the deers and the geyser.
Definitely will return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank KarinEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 2,057 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel is my favorite in all of Yellowstone. We spent only one night there, but it was such a great stay. Our room was very nice with a huge bathroom (complete with a huge claw foot porcelain tub)! I had the best sleep of my trip here. The room has crown moulding, and was pleasantly decorated, and within walking distance to the Hot Springs. The cafeteria (two buildings over) was very affordable.

We drove through Lamar Valley that night (which is only about 20 minutes away). I'd come back to stay here in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheetosHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I started our Yellowstone vacation here. Because we booked late, we were unable to get two beds or a king. First the good, the cabins are nice basic rooms with good access to the dining facility and main rode. The people were very friendly and helpful. We did not have a private bath but used the shared facilities. They were clean and maintained.

Our room had a single queen bed but I have to say that it seemed more like a double than a queen. It was also not the most comfortable mattress. For the cost of the lodging, I'd hope for a little more comfort. That being said, I consider these minor in respect to the overall stay.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here for one night in the first week of August and loved it. We did make sure when we booked that we had a cabin with a bathroom so if you are not into a shared bathroom make sure you do this at booking you will not be able to switch at checkin most likely. The cabin had two queen beds and a VERY small bathroom but was super clean and cute. We loved sitting out on the little deck in the evening and in the morning and seeing the elk come and go. We had breakfast at the restaurant across the street at the breakfast buffet which was lovely and reasonable. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a private bathroom make sure you book it. Otherwise it will be shared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jemlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We just spent 4 nights in yellowstone in august 2014. We stayed at Mammoth Cabins for 2 nights, Canyon Lodge cabin 1 night and Snow Lodge cabin 1 night.

We liked Mammoth Cabins best.

It was small but the room was clean and smelled clean, no mildew smell. Beds were comfortable. and Bathroom was clean. Had front porch that was great for sitting and reading books.

Be sure to check cabin before settling. Some cabins the porch goes into back of a building, others open to a grass area, very different feel.

Also if you do go, forgot the yellowstone restaurants. They are generic cafeterias dressed up as fine dining with summer exchange students posing as waiters.

Do dinner at Gardiner at Iron Horse Bar & Grill. My son had ribs and I had buffalo meatloaf that was excellent. Has a deck that overlooks river by bridge. Wear something warm so you can hang on deck.

Also you HAVE to swim in the boiling springs stream. very cool.

Room Tip: choose a cabin with porch overlooking grass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank anothertraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Plan well in advance and reserve now for any stay. Staff reported 60% bookings for 2015 already and expect 90% by Christmas.
Room was spacious with 1st queen bed available bed in 3 night's stay inside Yellowstone.
Our cabin was about 50 yards from communal shower hose and toilets. The only lighting to make pre dawn walk to toilets were small bulbs on porches of other cabins and over doors of facilities, Insufficient, if you are rightly concerned about footing, balance, and animal encounters.
No television or phone on entire compound. Internet only available at cafe, $5 per hour or $11 if prepaid unlimited and must be in cafe. Some 3G and 4G service available for smartphones.
We booked only 2 weeks before trip and were locked out of full hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travlndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel is a neat, old style hotel but it has major drawbacks. They purposely are keeping the hotel like it was in the 1920's which means no bathroom in the hotel rooms, only a small sink. There are two bathrooms for each floor of the hotel - one for men and one for women (two stalls each). Especially inconvenient if you have to use the restroom in the middle of the night. Worse yet, there is only one shower for men and one for women on each floor. And I do mean ONE shower, not a room with several shower stalls. It's a large hotel so you are sharing with a lot of people. You need to look at staying there as an adventure, then the inconveniences don't seem so bad. I'd probably stay there again because of its great location. Also neat was all the elk, including newborns, that were on the property. They have park rangers on site to keep people from getting too close. Fun to stay there if, as I said, you consider it an adventure.

Room Tip: A good room would be one close to the bathroom and shower - the hallways are long and the shower and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Photo_traveler520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,205 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,012 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
19.5 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins

Address: 1 Grand Loop, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: £214 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel And Cabins
Hotel Mammoth Hot Springs
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing