We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would pick other lodging when coming back...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grant Village Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Would pick other lodging when coming back...”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here during a motorcycle trip through Yellowstone. We picked this hotel because it was on our way to the South Entrance as we left for the Grand Tetons. This hotel is in serious need of an update and we could see beginning signs of a remodel. The buildings reminded me of college dorms (and not the new fancy ones) and there was not an elevator to get to the 2nd floor. If you're carrying a lot of luggage, make sure you are on the first floor!

The best thing going for this hotel is it's fairly central location. But as it was too expensive for a basic room (booked in January), I would pick other lodging when coming back to Yellowstone.

The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. The restaurant at the hotel was overprice for what we got.

Stayed here on July 12

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingManTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    259
    430
    165
    77
See reviews for
373
394
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MD
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here in July and booked two rooms in early February. There are only several hotels and lodges in Yellowstone and thousands of people in the summer season, so you take what you can get. Grant Village Lodges were small with two double beds, a dresser, and a desk. The bathroom was very small, especially the shower, but at least we had a private bath (some lodges do not). There was no air conditioner but I have to say, we did not need it because it was so cool at night. There also is no television, but you are so exhausted from driving around and looking at the magnificent park, that you do not miss it. For the price, you do not get much, but it was comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

What better greeting than a young elk each morning dining in the front yard. She wanted us to know we were in her park, and we should enjoy it as much as she did. The location was superior. We were in Building E, and it will be renovated soon. It has a nice living room area as you enter, ice and soda vending machines. You can walk to the lake, Lake Restaurant, Grant Village Restaurant, laundry, post office, gift shop, market, etc. It's really convenient! As for it's location within the park, we felt it was an easy drive everywhere. About 40 minutes to Old Faithful, and about two hours to the Lemar Valley. We were there at the height of the visitor's season, and we didn't sense any crowds. We did get behind a bison parade one night...an extra 30 minutes to get home.

Room Tip: No elevators in two story buildings. First floor windows lock well, although we never had a sense o...
See more room tips
Green Features: Every product supplied in the rooms has been through Xanterra's (the concessionnaire) sustainability practices. Their procedures for cleaning and laundry also are very sensitive to their environment.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

About the only thing going for this hotel is the location. It was not our first choice, but, due to late scheduling, it was the only one available. The staff was great and it has a great location. The rooms are clean and small but the outside say 1970 all over it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We went here because the Old Faithful Inn was sold out (bummer) and were not pleased with this place. First of all, it's not really near anything like Mammoth or Old Faithful or Canyon inns are. Second, it's outdated and the rooms were not comfortable.

Ours had 2 doubles--not 2 queens as expected, so sharing a bed was really tight. The bottom sheets were flat sheets that were too small for the mattress, so they rode up and we ended up sleeping on the nasty old mattress pad.

The entire hotel was really hot and stuffy even with our room heat off.

Worst of all, we had a room with a connecting door to another room. The door was like plywood, so we could hear the neighbors turn on the bathroom fan, talk, move, etc. And unfortunately, we got stuck next to 2 teenage boys who kept us awake until I went next door and asked them to be quiet. No one slept at all.

While the waitress at the main restaurant was nice, it took 45 minutes to get our food once we had ordered. The food was expensive and poor quality. My Cobb salad was sad iceberg lettuce, a few chopped tomatoes, corn, and shredded cheese for something like $18.

Stay anywhere else if you can!

Room Tip: If you can, make sure you get one without a connecting door to the room next door!!
See more room tips
Green Features: This was great at all Yellowstone hotels. Soaps/shampoos in dispensers to avoid wasting plastic. Refillable water bottle stations. Lots of recycling.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yellowstone National Park hotels

Seminole, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a basic room with no TV. We were comfortable and the ranger talks are a short walk away from our building. The restaurants were close by. We went to the Lake House ( too busy) & the main restaurant- a much better choice- less crowded! It is walking distance to the post office, the gift shop & the grocery / general store. By the way, we found the prices for gifts to be less expensive there versus the general store. I recommend attending ranger talks!

Room Tip: I didn't get to choose my room so I couldn't compare the room with others. There is no a/c...
See more room tips
Green Features: They asked us to reuse our towels which I don't have a problem doing.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knightleysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The check in process was slow, or maybe I just hit rush hour. I made the camping reservation a week ahead and was surprised by the availability and the knowledgeable customer service that helped optimize our trip through Yellowstone. Only recommendation would be to update maps to match road signs. Campsite bathrroms and showers were clean.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cbrooker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowstone National Park hotels
13.4 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,097 reviews
14.6 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,591 reviews
23.8 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Lake Lodge Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins
#7 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
751 reviews
14.3 mi away
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
#6 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
462 reviews
36.7 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Village Lodge

Property: Grant Village Lodge
Address: Old Faithful Bypass Road, Yellowstone Lake, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grant Village Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grant Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Village Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Grant Village Lodge Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing