We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grant Village Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cascade Lodge(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
Dunraven Lodge(Yellowstone National Park)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Al's Westward Ho Motel(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dude/Round Up Motel(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Lodge(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,012)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveller rating
46
269
444
172
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
269
444
172
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest thumb geyser basinroom was clean and comfortablegas stationold faithful areacoffeemakerregistrationgrill
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

After reading the reviews on here, I was worried. However, this was a great place to stay in yellowstone. Yes, there are no TVs but it clearly says that when making the reservation. And in a national park, that is not why you are there. We did not buy Wifi but noted that cellular data was not possible either unless in the middle of the night. We enjoyed being without contact with the outside world for a week in a true vacation.

The room was clean. The beds were comfortable. The shower is small, but the water is hot, the pressure great, and all plentiful. After a hard day of hiking, it is perfect. Yellowstone is such that there is no need to air conditioning. Even in August the overnight temps were in the lower 40s or upper 30s. Housekeeping was to worst part actually where they did not do everything everyday. But one call the the desk and it was always fixed within 5 minutes. The keurig was nice. However if you want more than two cups, bring some in with you. The local general store had single cups for 1.19$.

We had a room on the parking lot. Only once in a week did we wake to loud people late in the night. The rest of the time it was fine.

For those here to get up and see the park, this is fine. Don't hesitate if this is the only thing available. We do not regret a minute of it here in this amazing park.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kakyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the Mammoth Hot Springs, Canyon Lodge, Grant Village, and Old Faithful Snow Lodge. Seems the deeper you go into the park, the better the hotels get. Grant Village was #2 of all, with OF Snow Lodge the best. No AC, spotty cell coverage, WIFI $11 a day and very marginal. good for email only, no webpages and for some reason search engines are BLOCKED from the service!?

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This motel is the work of amateurs. It was built recently enough that there are no excuses. The rooms are too small. There is no room for queen size beds, so they have double beds. The beds are reasonably comfortable and that is the best thing about the room. There is no chest of drawers or anywhere to store clothing, so we lived out of our suitcases for four days. The entire wall opposite the beds is wasted. Normally this is where one would expect to find chests of drawers, a desk, table, TV stand and sitting chairs. Instead this motel wastes this space with only two small, uncomfortable chairs and a long, low (18" high) block. It does not offer any storage space and is too low to use as shelving to put things on. I have no idea what it is for, but it needs to be replaced with chests of drawers and comfortable sitting chairs.

The light switches are poorly designed. The bathroom light switch turns on the fan as well. The fan's bearings were shot so every time the bathroom light was turned on there was a loud rumbling noise. Using the bathroom at night woke everyone up. The fan did not prevent the bathroom paint from peeling and a fair amount of mold on the bathroom walls. The light for the entrance also turns on track lighting in the bedroom.

The shower had hot water and a strong spray. But the towels were small and scratchy. The toilet paper and facial tissues are incredibly cheap: very thin and very scratchy.

There is no elevator, so everyone on the second floor has to haul their luggage up a long flight of stairs. There are no bellmen to help. Given how many elderly people stay at Grant Village, this is unacceptable.

Noise is a big problem. Both the front door and the door to the adjacent room have a 1" gap at the bottom, so we heard every conversation in the room next to us and any noise in the hall. The doors obviously were not cut to fit the space. Our room faced the parking lot (terrible view) which meant we heard all the motorcycles revving up starting at 6am every day. The rooms should not face the parking lot. Why stay in the middle of Yellowstone to face a parking lot and be deafened by idling motorcycles?

The dining room is nice and has good food at only slightly inflated prices. The Lake House Restaurant has a nice lakeshore setting, but is a disaster. It is a glorified cafeteria. You line up to place your order. It is eventually brought to you, usually about 20-30 minutes later. The food is poor quality and overpriced. Half the tables are high tops. This isn't a bar. High top tables are by definition uncomfortable as there is no floor to rest your feet. The entire experience makes one assume that the prime objective is to get you to leave as quickly as possible to make room for more suckers. It is inefficient, uncomfortable, poor tasting, and overpriced. Unfortunately there is nowhere else to eat at Grant Village except at the grill in the general store and that also is overpriced and cafeteria service style.

Grant Village Lodge would never survive if it had any competition at all. It is a disgrace to the National Park Service, the Department of Interior, and the federal government. The motel should be fundamentally redesigned and refurnished from scratch. I feel sorry for Xanterra (the concessionaire) having to work with this abomination. I have stayed at many other Xanterra lodges which were fine, but they have nothing to work with here.

Room Tip: Try go get a first floor room not facing the parking lot. Good luck as only 25% of the rooms meet this criteria and will be gone quickly.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dutch Brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

OK, so we are in a National Park, so I did not expect a 4 or 5 star resort, but I also did not expect anything so bad: DOUBLE beds (one with a double bed spread, one with a queen size), metal box shower that was so small I hit my elbows when trying to shampoo hair or wash body (I am NOT a large person). Bathrooms are terribly outdated, lamps are glued to nightstand, so you cannot more them for good reading light. Soap and lotion dispensers are glued to bath tops, so cannot have open area for your personal items. No TV, No A/C, dead mosquitoes on the walls, tissue thin sheets and towels, paper thin walls. The outside of the building had molding ripped (broken) off. Soda machine in lobby did not work. So sorry we stayed here. Worst place I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: There are none in this building
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janny2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our stay at Grant Lodge was more than we expected. Be aware this is an older facility but has been maintained very well. We were within walking distance of restaurants and a stroll by the lake. The staff was extremely helpful and the cancelation policy exception when we had to leave earlier than expected.....no questions, no fees! Book months early these National Park Lodges fill up fast!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews