We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Indian Creek Campground
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful camping”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed three nights in campground- we heard wolves or coyotes in the night, amazing view of stars, quiet- no loud rvs and close to beautiful creek. Really a special place.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Trailmamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I first found this campground as an escaped college student in 1966- fantastic setting with large and small wildlife all around, also a sense of former people who lived in the area- the Shoshone tribe and mid-1800's railroad camps. The hiking around the area is relaxing and fun, for example, on the north side of the Gardiner River around the famous Sheepeater Cliff site, The best part awaits you at the end of the day- no RV generators allowed, a nice campfire and warm sleeping bag for that well exercised body! This is my favorite campground of all time- fantastic!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
17 Thank KeysSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

With the exception of Slough Creek Campground, Indian Creek is the 2nd best campground in Yellowstone and a very close 2nd at that. It was quiet and your neighbors aren't stacked up right next to you. Indian Creek is a primitive campground so only water faucets, vault toilets and no showers but we dont mind. We showered at the Mammoth Inn which is only about 10 minutes max north of the campground. Norris, Madison and Old Faithful arent too far to the south and Mammoth-Hot Springs is just to the north. Swan Lake Flats is very close by where we got to see a mama Grizzly with 4 cubs. Bison and Elk are abundant and close by. The rangers working were friendly, courteous and very helpful. We were startled to hear gun shots from close by though. A ranger came to warn us that they were hazzing a Grizzly that had ventured a little too close to the campground so remember bear safety and awareness when staying here. Enjoyed our stay at Indian Creek and I think from now on, our annaul trips to Yellowstone will be spent at Indian Creek & Slough Creek Campgrounds.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jcz1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

The campground was so nice and quiet and not even close to close even on the weekends. almost every site offered great privacy as the whole campground is wooded. Camp Host was friendly and informative. ***Great campground for tent campers.*** We heard coyotes every night but on the second night we were there we also got to hear a small group of wolves there was near by. Several campers even got up before day break and were able to spot them and watch them from a distance before they moved off again. Showers are a mere 10 min drive to Mammoth, and while you are close to Mammoth Hot Springs you are also close to Norris Geyser Basin, tons of hiking, plenty of fishing, wildlife spotting and photographic opportunities. The best deal in America to see North Yellowstone for $12 a night. Of course with the cheaper fees means only pit toilets but at least they were clean and every other day the staff would come around and add some chemicals in them which would help the smell always associated with pit toilets. We will returning this is nice camp spot in the future, because of the economy we were unsure whether we could afford a camping trip anywhere this year - but this nice quiet inexpensive primitive campground saved our wedding anniversary - thank you Yellowstone!

I don't recommend this site for RVs there was only realistically 3 or 4 spots where a camper/rv would fit and be easy to park well and they were taken and generators are not allowed at all. We have a camper at home and if we would've brought it instead we would've stayed at Mammoth Campground as it is much more well suited for RVs. If you do happen to have a truck camper and have no need to run your generator this would be an ideal campground though.

Also I wish the "Ranger Talks" were offered at this campground - but we were told because of budget cuts Indian no longer hosts the evening Ranger Talks. Because of this most folks with kids stayed at other campgrounds that offered them. However I rather enjoyed the lack of children.

Also it is important to note that if you are tent camping all of your food will need to be stored in your car or a bear box. If it is warm outside it will be hot in your car, if you store your food in a hot car - you will need to plan trips to Mammoth or another area of the park to get ice daily.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Lostfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 June 2006

This small campground is, in my opinion, Yellowstone's best-kept secret. Rarely full, this small camground is not run by the big concessionaire, Xterra, that runs all the big campgrounds in the park. This campground is in a great location, near lots of hiking. The campground even has hiking trails in and around it that go back fifty or sixty years. Views of the mountains in many sites. Vault toilets, water in spigots, no frills, but a great, great experience.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
32 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
0.1 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,935 reviews
32.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
922 reviews
41.1 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
709 reviews
36.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Creek Campground

Property: Indian Creek Campground
Address: Norris-Mammoth Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Campground Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Indian Creek Campground Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing