We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite family getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Faithful Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Faithful Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My favorite family getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My family and I save up every few years to go here. It's historic significance has been preserved through the years, even through the Yellowstone fire in the late 80s. I have seen it transformed from the old hardwood floors to its more modern floor restoration, but you can buy frames of the old flooring in the gift shop. Those planks had ladies and gentle treading on them all the way back to the late 19th century! Right next to Old Faithful geyser, which if you are lucky to get an extension room on the West Side, you might be able to see it take off from your room! Wake up to brisk, fogging mornings and fresh Starbucks coffee downstairs. Really a magical place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainCutlazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    794
    406
    185
    95
See reviews for
825
1,082
60
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were on a tour in September and stayed at the OLD FAITHFUL INN for two nights. The lobby was just magnificent and the rooms was just like old time but very cozy, looking out the window I was so impressed at all the smoking geysers and at a perfect picture with the snow, yes snow in September. We were not ready with winter accessories and had to buy jackets and sweat shirts, next time we would not go there at this time. The restaurant was also very nice all made with logs, food was good but must have reservation, the first night our tour director made the reservation for us but the second night we had to go at the Snow Lodge restaurant but very nice there too. The Old Faithful is right out the door of the Inn. Just an amazing place to visit.

Room Tip: More or less they are all the same but there are some rooms with no private bathrooms, must share w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARINELLA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We came to the Old Faithful Inn from Canyon where we stayed at the Dunraven Lodge. We stayed one night in the newer part of the Inn. We had some family members traveling with us that stayed in the old part.

We found that the Old Faithful area was much more crowded than other parts of the park. The parking lots were tricky to navigate and ripe for accidents. The signage wasn't great and it made it tough to find our way around. Once we found the Inn we had to park a good distance away.

The room wasn't as nice as the one we had at Dunraven, but worked fine. The rooms in the old part of the Inn were pretty cool to check out, but not big enough for us with 2 kids.

The overall atmosphere was OK once the crowds died down in the evening. We enjoyed sitting on the second floor balcony watching Old Faithful with a cup of Huckleberry Ice Cream. We ate at the Inn's dinning room. The food wasn't memorable, but was better than the food at Canyon. Overall, I'd say the stay at the Inn was average. It was just to crowded for me. I think that we'd try the snow lodge next time or just day trip into the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AWandering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My partner, mother and I stayed in the old part of the lodge above the magnificent lobby. The bath was down the hall, but it was the sense of history and charm I was looking for, not to be pampered. My 78 year old mother had worked in Yellowstone as a maid when she was a teenager and was never allowed to go in the grand old lodge back in the day.

That night we sat on the benches looking down on the lobby and listened to the piano player around 9 at night when most of the crowds were gone. The following morning my mother and I sipped hot chocolate on the porch above the entrance listening to classical music together on my I-Pod and watched Old Faithful spray into the sky in front of the rising sun. So the experience was wonderful for her, a chance to experience the beautiful old lodge as a guest.

I booked 10 months in advance and asked specifically to stay in the old part of the lodge. When you travel to an historic location like this you must do your research and honestly stop complaining about minor problems. I've read so many of the reviews that make clear people were more focused on the linen in their room than on what was possible in the lodge as I've just pointed out. Those two experiences were priceless memories, not the details of the silly bedsheets.

As to price, the lodge is not nearly as expensive as other grand park lodges like the Ahwanee in Yosemite. If you're interest is a five star resort then honestly why are you in Yellowstone? Go somewhere else where you'll be waited on hand and foot. You come here to enjoy the amazing building, the setting and the sense that you just arrived by carriage and are inside one of the most amazing wilderness areas on Earth.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room in the old lodge. You'll have to go down the room to the restroom, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelBakerSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This really a wonderful trip down memory lane. An amazing hotel build in the days of yesteryear but with all the comforts of a modern hotel. The hotel is also in very close proximity to Old Faithful Geyser in Yellowstone National Park (2 minutes walk).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinmU4050CQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed one night at the Old Faithful Inn. Despite booking months in advance, we were unable to book two consecutive nights. This lodging relies very much on its prime location and historic significance, but is too expensive, nonetheless, for the privilege of staying there (the most expensive lodgings in the entire Park).

Our room was in a "newer" wing. Down the hall, up some stairs, down some stairs and down another long hall. Good thing we discovered another entrance/exit as this made it less of a journey with our luggage. The room was quite nice with the sink situated old-school fashion outside the bathroom. We were surprised to encounter a cute little stuffed bison on the bed (these are for sale, proceeds to an environmental charity). He is now a treasured travelling companion!

We opted to have dinner at the nearby Snow Lodge as the Old Faithful dining room was very busy and quite expensive. Breakfast the next morning, however, was not so busy and was reasonably priced comparable to other locations in the Park. The Inn itself is grand, an architectural marvel and well worth exploring. At certain times of the day, however, (i.e. check-in and check-out times) the lobby is reminiscent of Grand Central Station.

Old Faithful is very faithful and erupted every 90 minutes (plus or minus) like "clockwork". The staff very religiously post the next Old Faithful viewing time on a clock-face at the main desk. We did the loop of all the other geysers in the Upper Geyser Basin and each erupted in turn, just for us!

We would come to this location again on at later trip to YNP, but would not likely stay in the Inn again because it is so expensive.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here book WELL (at least a year) in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Inn is truly beautiful and pretty impressive. Reception was busy when we arrived but check in was speedy and efficient. We had booked a room in the old house with private bathroom. The room itself was pretty good, very cosy and rustic although quite dark because of its location practically facing a wall. For some reason I really liked the bathroom with its old style tub and big cast iron radiator.

Unfortunately, it was a long and noisy night. Perhaps it isn't always as bad but during the night we were there it seemed like every couple of minutes someone was moving around, banging the doors or talking loudly outside. These rooms seem to have zero soundproofing. Bring ear plugs!

I think it was cool to stay here for one night in the old part of the hotel purely for the experience, and of course the location can't be beaten, but I doubt we'd stay here again.

One big disappointment was that due to refurbishment the fire in the lobby wasn't lit. The second disappointment was the sandwich we bought from the deli; it tasted like it had been sitting there for at least 2 days and it wasn't cheap. The canteen over at the nearby Old Faithful Lodge however was surprisingly good.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old house are cool but noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.5 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
36.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
19.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
#7 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
19.2 mi away
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone
Holiday Inn - West Yellowstone
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Inn

Property: Old Faithful Inn
Address: Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Faithful Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Old Faithful Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Inn Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming
Old Faithful Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing