We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A curate's egg!”
Review of Old Faithful Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Faithful Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A curate's egg!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

There are so many things wrong with this hotel that anywhere else the score would be lower but there are so many other things that are fabulous that you forgive the faults!
We had a standard room in the west wing. It was quite small with just one double bed. The decoration was dowdy dull and a little worn. The bathroom was small with mediocre fittings. There was no TV, no fridge, no microwave, no wifi etc but............. LOOK OUT OF THE WINDOW! Even without a geyser view the hotel location was probably the best we have ever experienced. Who needs wifi when you have Yellowstone? Who needs a TV when you have that lobby?
If there is a more fabulous lobby in an any hotel anywhere in the world I have yet to see it! To sit on a balcony sofa drinking wine, listening to the live music and just soaking up the history and atmosphere is a fabulous experience! To get up early and see Old Faithful erupt on a bright frosty morning with no one about is amazing! To walk out of the front door straight into the geyser basin is incredible! The location is perfect!
We ate dinner once in the hotel as I had booked in advance. Any other evening we would have had to eat so late it would almost be time for breakfast! No problem, the Snow Lodge is close by and the wait time is much less there. Breakfast at the Old Faithful Inn was good value.
The staff was mixed. Some were excellent. Others reacted like they were seasonal workers who didn't give a dam. If only this place had to try harder to have full occupancy it would be unbelievable!
One final thing, by booking through a UK travel company that used a USA booking agency we ended up paying double the rack rate! Supply and demand! Book direct if you can! Also check your final bill. There were things on ours that we had already paid in advance!
So despite a poor room, mediocre service and being ripped off we have no regrets about going to the Old Faithful Inn. They must be doing something right!!!!

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel when reservations open in May for the following year!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baloo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    824
    423
    198
    103
See reviews for
861
1,136
60
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Beautiful old hotel with lots of character. The entry way and foyer is stunning, and the architecture of the place is breathtaking. We stayed in the Old House rooms are basic and aged but that's what you expect from a building built at the trun of the centry. . The shared bathrooms were clean and large, very well maintained there was no waiting to use the showers or the toliets. The room was cozy, the bed was very comfortable, we did have a basin type sink in our room which brought out even more of the charm. The dinining room experience was uneventful....slow service howver the food was worth the wait. We really enjoyed the location because there was so much to see and explore in the area. Lots of boardwalks and walking trails Morning Glory gyser was worth the walk it's not as beautfiful as it once was due to abuse by visitors tossing coins and garbage in it blocking the steam vents but still beautful none the less. The big bonus is having Old Fiathful right outside the hotel only a two minute walk. We would sit on the the second story balcony early in the mornings with our coffee and watch her go off as well in the evenings with a cup of Huckleberry ice cream in hand. One word of of advice....book early because the rooms don't last long!

Room Tip: Any room in the Old House facing Old Faithful or the Gyser area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starsweptsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My family and I save up every few years to go here. It's historic significance has been preserved through the years, even through the Yellowstone fire in the late 80s. I have seen it transformed from the old hardwood floors to its more modern floor restoration, but you can buy frames of the old flooring in the gift shop. Those planks had ladies and gentle treading on them all the way back to the late 19th century! Right next to Old Faithful geyser, which if you are lucky to get an extension room on the West Side, you might be able to see it take off from your room! Wake up to brisk, fogging mornings and fresh Starbucks coffee downstairs. Really a magical place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainCutlazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were on a tour in September and stayed at the OLD FAITHFUL INN for two nights. The lobby was just magnificent and the rooms was just like old time but very cozy, looking out the window I was so impressed at all the smoking geysers and at a perfect picture with the snow, yes snow in September. We were not ready with winter accessories and had to buy jackets and sweat shirts, next time we would not go there at this time. The restaurant was also very nice all made with logs, food was good but must have reservation, the first night our tour director made the reservation for us but the second night we had to go at the Snow Lodge restaurant but very nice there too. The Old Faithful is right out the door of the Inn. Just an amazing place to visit.

Room Tip: More or less they are all the same but there are some rooms with no private bathrooms, must share w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARINELLA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We came to the Old Faithful Inn from Canyon where we stayed at the Dunraven Lodge. We stayed one night in the newer part of the Inn. We had some family members traveling with us that stayed in the old part.

We found that the Old Faithful area was much more crowded than other parts of the park. The parking lots were tricky to navigate and ripe for accidents. The signage wasn't great and it made it tough to find our way around. Once we found the Inn we had to park a good distance away.

The room wasn't as nice as the one we had at Dunraven, but worked fine. The rooms in the old part of the Inn were pretty cool to check out, but not big enough for us with 2 kids.

The overall atmosphere was OK once the crowds died down in the evening. We enjoyed sitting on the second floor balcony watching Old Faithful with a cup of Huckleberry Ice Cream. We ate at the Inn's dinning room. The food wasn't memorable, but was better than the food at Canyon. Overall, I'd say the stay at the Inn was average. It was just to crowded for me. I think that we'd try the snow lodge next time or just day trip into the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AWandering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My partner, mother and I stayed in the old part of the lodge above the magnificent lobby. The bath was down the hall, but it was the sense of history and charm I was looking for, not to be pampered. My 78 year old mother had worked in Yellowstone as a maid when she was a teenager and was never allowed to go in the grand old lodge back in the day.

That night we sat on the benches looking down on the lobby and listened to the piano player around 9 at night when most of the crowds were gone. The following morning my mother and I sipped hot chocolate on the porch above the entrance listening to classical music together on my I-Pod and watched Old Faithful spray into the sky in front of the rising sun. So the experience was wonderful for her, a chance to experience the beautiful old lodge as a guest.

I booked 10 months in advance and asked specifically to stay in the old part of the lodge. When you travel to an historic location like this you must do your research and honestly stop complaining about minor problems. I've read so many of the reviews that make clear people were more focused on the linen in their room than on what was possible in the lodge as I've just pointed out. Those two experiences were priceless memories, not the details of the silly bedsheets.

As to price, the lodge is not nearly as expensive as other grand park lodges like the Ahwanee in Yosemite. If you're interest is a five star resort then honestly why are you in Yellowstone? Go somewhere else where you'll be waited on hand and foot. You come here to enjoy the amazing building, the setting and the sense that you just arrived by carriage and are inside one of the most amazing wilderness areas on Earth.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room in the old lodge. You'll have to go down the room to the restroom, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelBakerSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This really a wonderful trip down memory lane. An amazing hotel build in the days of yesteryear but with all the comforts of a modern hotel. The hotel is also in very close proximity to Old Faithful Geyser in Yellowstone National Park (2 minutes walk).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinmU4050CQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
989 reviews
36.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,963 reviews
19.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
923 reviews
19.0 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
19.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Inn

Property: Old Faithful Inn
Address: Old Faithful, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Faithful Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Faithful Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Inn Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming
Old Faithful Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing