We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than expected...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Lodge Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Lodge Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Fairfield, CTq
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“More than expected...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights the first week of August and were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms have been renovated beautifully and were very comfortable. It was a little chilly at night and the heat worked well. Was nice to have a coffee maker in the room as well. Would have been nice to have a few chairs on the deck out front but the room itself was lovely. We ate at the cafeteria in the lodge which was just okay. Having eaten at lots of the other lodges throughout Yellowstone this one was a little disappointing but not bad.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    299
    171
    55
    44
See reviews for
271
330
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We've stayed there because all other accomodation options were full that weekend. The cabin was very old, very basic and super small. We couldn't use the shower in the morning because it was SOOOO cold and the heater didn't work..

I wouldn't stay there again. No one expects Marriott in a national park (it would be just wrong) but the same little cabin can be renovated to provide the minimal comfort (and heating!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_123654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
281 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We loved our stay at the Lake Lodge Cabins! We were told they were renovated and upon arrival and after first inspection, I agree that they did a class A job. The bedding is comfortable, rooms have everything you need, and the bathroom and toiletries were great! I had plenty of room and was just up the hill from the main Lake Lodge (B row).

There are some great trails around the Lodge and we enjoyed watching the bison during breakfast at the dining hall. Lodge is wonderful and I even used the laundry facilities as this was the halfway point of our trip.

We visited the nearby Lake Hotel as well, but I like the Lodge better; it fits well into the surroundings. General store isn't a far walk nor the edge of the lake.

Room Tip: Lower rows (A-C) are close to the main lodge if walking is an issue for you; it is uphill to the cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed in the 2-queen renovated Lake Lodge western cabins, and a friend stayed in the single cabin. We really liked our 2 queen cabin. Good beds, fun rustic furniture, coffee/tea maker, tub/shower, quiet and very clean. The lodge just down the road with WIFI was a great atmosphere, and the cafeteria/restaurant had no lines and good quality food - breakfast, lunch or dinner. One morning, a herd of bison tromped through our cabin area. It is an easy walk or drive to the general store, fancy Lake Hotel, post office, etc. There is even a frisbee golf course in the woods next to the cabins! The morning walk to Lake Yellowstone was so peaceful, and the super moon over the lake at night was a special moment. Great access to all parts of the park and close to Hayden Valley for morning and evening animal viewing. Do have at least one dinner at the Lake Hotel - food was great and the atmosphere very lovely - reservations essential. The whole experience is highly recommended. These cabins are much nicer and in a much more pleasant location than the Lake Yellowstone Hotel cabins.

Room Tip: We stayed in section F which is easy walking to the Lake and the lodge but tucked in the trees and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akuaSaintPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a western cabin at Lake Lodge (not Lake Hotel) with 2 queen beds in row G-be sure to request rows G or H in the trees and looked nicer than the ones we saw in the earlier rows. Saw two young bucks playing just a couple cabins over. Was pleasantly surprised was more like a hotel room and newly renovated at that-had just come from Colter Bay tent village so indoor plumbing and heat were welcome . Very cool had to use key to turn on lights to help conserve energy, there were built in night lights in bathroom and hairdryer and a small coffee maker with coffee! Beautiful to sit out on front porch of lodge and have a drink. Several options for dining nearby. Nice location-we did both loops and Lamar Valley in 2 days.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlingtongang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is one of the best deals in Yellowstone. Sadly, it reflects the adage, "you get what you pay for". The rooms are quite small. They are not particularly clean. They offer few, if any, amenities. There is no view of the lake and they lack the rustic charm of the Canyon lodge (sadly scheduled to be torn down). The good news is that the big lodge (where you check in) nearby is quite nice and has a stunning view of Yellowstone Lake. There is also a cafeteria there that comes in handy. Lastly, the personnel that work here are friendly, kind, and very helpful. If you can't find better and want to visit magnificent Yellowstone National :Park then this place will suffice but that's about all it will do.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthwestDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

These Yellowstone National Park Lake Lodge "Frontier" cabins are typical for YNP. No air conditioning, no television. These cabins are very BASIC... They are basically for sleeping and showering. Clean with parking in front of cabin.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaRealtor4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowstone National Park hotels
22.2 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
36.5 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
14.5 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
25.5 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
#7 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lodge Cabins

Property: Lake Lodge Cabins
Address: Old Faithful Bypass Road, PO Box 165, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Lodge Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Yellowstone Lake Lodge
Lake Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing