We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed in one of the Cabins because the Hotel part was booked out many months in advance, The Cabin was nice and cosy, Very Clean and had all that you would require for your stay and just minutes walk away from Yellowstone Lake. Plus if you dont want to eat in the Hotel which was a bit expensive they have a cheap eating place around 5 minute walk away which serves great meals.

Tips If you want to stay in the Hotel book 6 months or more in advance, To me the Cabin was just like a hotel room but without a T.V. but you are not there to watch T.V. I highly recommend staying in either a Cabin or in the Hotel.

Also if you want to use WiFi or internet you would require a very good Internet provider because you would be lucky to get any signal while in Yellowstone which to me is a good thing !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Traveller69692013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,175)
There are newer reviews for Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Tv not important but travelling with kids, may well be the most important thing in their lives. As a couple we tend to have the odd Skype chat with the kids around the world; and we did not have this option when returning to the hotel after a long busy day in The Park. Room was a little small. Shower fine. Noise heard a little from upstairs.... Plumbing mainly. Parking easy compared with some parks we have visited and stayed in park lodgings. Not bad value for money. Food limited choice. No breakfast with our deal. So its an extra.

Only heard about the Brazilian thrashing via another walker in the park, so out of touch with the world. Perhaps a change of management may consider internet wifi in the future.

Room Tip: Just wear yourselves out so room quality is insignificant
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tourerBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed in the newly renovated East Wing. Rooms were very clean and nicely decorated, but walls were thin (we could often hear neighboring rooms) and bathroom was cramped. Lake is an odd place to stay, since main attractions are closer to Canyon or Old Faithful. Hotel is not as charming as Old Faithful Lodge or the flagship hotels in other western national parks - common area is big and airy but does not feel cozy and unlike Ahwanee, El Tovar, or Old Faithful, doesn't really evoke the past at all. Service is friendly and enthusiastic. Hard to get reservations at a decent hour at the restaurant (though dinner at 9 isn't bad when you're hiking all day, given driving distances). No telephones or wifi (Old Faithful at least has wifi)

Room Tip: When we were there, the Lake view was $20 a night more, and the non-Lake view was of muddy tire trac...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimInNWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is on the beautiful Lake Yellowstone, one of the most special places in the whole park. The view from the benches in front of the hotel are lakeside. The perfect place to contemplate nothing or everything.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McKenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We last stayed at the Hotel some 25 years ago and vowed to return to Yellowstone. We were delighted that the hotel had recently been refurbished as it was quite 'tired' when we were first here. We booked a suite (partly because all the standard rooms were already booked when we wanted to stay - booking some 14 months before our stay!). The suite was absolutely fabulous and well worth the money. It was a proper suite with large separate lounge area as well as a large bedroom and good sized bathroom (with both walk in shower and bath). It was on the third floor of the hotel, so well above any noise from below. The lounge area and dining restaurant have both been renovated beautifully, to make them light and spacious. And we enjoyed having a drink in the lounge before going into the restaurant. We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food in the restaurant - especially the a la carte. We were told that the executive chef was European, so that explained the good cuisine!
We stayed for 4 nights and had an absolutely fantastic time. If you want to go to Yellowstone, we believe that the Lake Hotel is the best place to stay, with the best food. You need to book early and make your dinner reservations well in advance of your stay, otherwise you will end up eating quite late.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This property is stunning. Our room was large, beautiful and extremely comfortable. The common area with the lake view is gorgeous and tasteful. It's great to see that they modernized but maintained the classic feel of an old hotel with the huge fireplace and staircases. I would recommend to anyone!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank BLMMacungie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in the yellow annex, next to the main hotel. We were on the second floor - no elevator. The room décor was dated but beds were comfortable, room was clean. However the walls are thin, and we could hear noise in the hallway. there is no wifi, no internet, no tv in the room. there was also no frig but the hotel did bring one over, at no additional charge.
The sun room in the main hotel was a great place to hang out - lots of space, comfy sofas and chairs, and tables. They had a quartet playing two of the nights, a pianist the other night.
There were limited food options at the hotel. We had dinner and breakfast in the main dining room, and enjoyed all the meals. You can eat for a reasonably price if you don't do the buffets.
There was a small deli down the hallway but didn't eat there. We had breakfast at the grocery store just down the street. This place has such potential - a diner like setting with a small counter and bar tables but breakfast was a microwaved Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwich : (. We also had breakfast and dinner at the cafeteria at the lodge down the street. Dinner was better than breakfast but it's a cafeteria.
My biggest complaint is with the internet service. At the hotel, there is info about a paid internet service, which you can only get at the lodge. However, when we went to the lodge to inquire about the cost, we were told that the hotel has a business center with computers! so back we went to the hotel, and got a swipe card for the business center. (Because we were staying in the annex, we didn't have a swipe card). The internet on the business center's 4 computers was slow.
Note: there is cell phone service but only if you have Verizon. no service for att except in spotty areas in the park.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowstone National Park hotels
32.9 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,037 reviews
13.4 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,003 reviews
22.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
1,164 reviews
22.2 mi away
Lake Lodge Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins
#7 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
768 reviews
21.9 mi away
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
#5 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins

Address: Lake Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: £193 - £613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Yellowstone Hotel And Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming
Hotel Lake Yellowstone
Yellowstone Lake Hotel
Lake Yellowstone National Park
Lake Yellowstone Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing