We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Price increases just took away our ability to come back!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Price increases just took away our ability to come back!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here last year during our anniversary and loved the hotel and the atmosphere. We had a lake view room that hadn't been renovated, but that didn't matter...we realized we were in Yellowstone Park and that luxury wasn't the point. The staff was wonderful, the bar and restaurant were great, the string quartet was perfect! We truly loved it there since it was quieter than the rest of the park. Our plan was to come back to celebrate annually since we live so close by.

Now, the hotel has been completely renovated and the prices are nearly $350/night. Really? You just priced out the ability of normal people to stay at your hotel. The hotel was in need of some renovation, but come on...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bozpd146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    317
    191
    89
    45
See reviews for
283
488
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were booked for two nights in the hotel, one in the cabin. We were allocated a room in the annex. The room was very, very small but clean. The problem was noise. The bathrooms seem to be fitted with the loudest fans on the planet, and people seemed to leave them running late into the night. The front desk staff were great and let us move to the cabins a night early. What a difference - they are old and don't look much from the outside, but inside they are large, great big comfortable beds, coffee maker and quiet! Very quiet.

The location of the hotel is great and the the main hotel had an old-time glamour with its dining room and bar. There was cafeteria food available at the Lodge, the hotel 5 minutes walk away, but great food and great provisions (at what seemed cheap prices given the location) in the general store next to the hotel.

So the cabins are highly recommended, but for me the annex can't be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marcus_uk2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed at Lake Yellowstone and were a little nervous after reading others reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised. Room was newly renovated, very clean with nice amenities. Hotel staff was helpful and went out of there way to find accomadations for our grandson who came without accomadations plans. Restaurant food was good, waitresses extremely friendly and efficient. Not cheap but a perfect place to stay to see all of Yellowstone. Sits right in the middle of the park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfgal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We've stayed in cabins in many places and these were OK but not great. There are lots of them and each building is split into two cabins, ordinary from the outside but comfortable inside. No views, apart from other cabins and it was a 5 minute walk to the main hotel.

Now the hotel, bar and dining room, were impressive and I guess the rooms are too.The meals we had there were good as well.

Good access to Lake Yellowstone and Hayden Valley from here but given the choice I would opt for a room in the hotel.

Room Tip: Worth comparing the cost of the hotel rooms compared with the cabins before you make a decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GACASydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Our second stay at Frontier cabins at Lake Hotel. We really love staying there. Family of 5, so son sleeps on inflatable mattress. Dissapointed we didn't get. Stand alone cabin, but thought this was seemed a bit larger then our stand alone a few years ago. And no noise issues at all. Kerig coffee maker in room, loved that! One of our favorites, since we love early mornings at Hayden Valley!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 1of5wilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at the Annex wing which is not the mail hotel.

pros: quiet, two beds, great location,
Cons: dirty, no elevator

The main hotel is really beautiful and modern. The lake view is truly wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zxrst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This area of Lake Yellowstone in the heart of our nation's first National Park should always be on the top of everyone's list for the beauty of the Rocky Mountains, fishing in the lake or hiking the many trails that are better than a thousand miles of hiking, in addition to Old Faithful plus the many wonders of Yellowstone National Park. Dining in the Lake Yellowstone Hotel is a very special adventure in food all prepared to delight a person's taste and appetite with outstanding service.
Accommodations can be rooms in the hotel or rustic cabins, and the camp grounds at various locations about the park. Rest assured that a good length of time is allowed for this park that will thrill and make life long memories in the lives of whole families being really brought together in this beautiful wilderness that is so peacefully abounding in wild life.
Having been blessed with three different trips to Yellowstone National Park I discovered that there is so much to see and experience in the park that I have yet to see it all after three years. One location in the park is the only place along the whole Continental Divide where water goes both to the west, and to the east from the source of it's beginning. What really amazed me was how I changed being away from all the noise of the metropolitan areas to the peaceful quietness that affects a persons spirit and soul to become in tune with the elements God Created about us with a greater sensitivity that is awesome. I still wonder what the first white man thought that entered this area which became our First National Park for all people to enjoy. A must in my opinion for every family or person to be always remembered in a very, very special way in our heart.

Room Tip: The choice has to be individual as this area is going back in time without many of the comforts of p...
See more room tips
Green Features: Every practice to preserve and maintain the natural environment by staff and rangers to assure the safety of people so they will have an enjoyable experience of adventure in the hotel and areas with the fondest of life long memories for all ages and families even though in a wilderness area.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowstone National Park hotels
32.8 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
22.4 mi away
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabins
Old Faithful Snow Lodge and Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
13.7 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
13.0 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lake Lodge Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins
#6 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins

Property: Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Address: Lake Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Yellowstone Hotel And Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming
Hotel Lake Yellowstone
Yellowstone Lake Hotel
Lake Yellowstone National Park
Lake Yellowstone Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing