We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Classic, but Spendy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Classic, but Spendy!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have always wanted to stay at a National Park hotel/lodge and made a last minute decision to try in Yellowstone. Luckily we were able to get the chance at the Lake Hotel on Yellowstone Lake. Although the room lacked any modern amenities, air-conditioning, Internet, it was still very comfortable. We had a great view of the lake, and an outstanding breakfast in the lodge dining room.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the lake view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Outstanding, real focus on being Eco-friendly. Even the drinking glasses are recycled!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boompa135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    339
    207
    97
    46
See reviews for
303
522
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in cabin 611, at the front overlooking the park. Don't be put off by the photo as they are well equipped and outside you have the most wonderful scenery to immerse yourself in. I would recommend staying in the park and not outside as the park is huge, speed limits low (quite rightly) so you do spend a lot of time getting to some of the sights but cost of course is always a factor. The hotel restaurant is of a very high standard and worth a visit but book.
We had a bison eating grass about 50 feet from the cabin, is that not the experience you go for?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce3086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed in cabin which when you approached the flaking paintwork, you were filled with a sense of ................................. but once inside excellent accommodation.

Short 3 minute walk to hotel. Wonderful under the stars.

Great and convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carthage, Mississippi
Level Contributor
121 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

In June, 2014, we stayed at Yellowstone Lake 2 nights and Ole Faithful Inn 3 nights. If I had known better, I would have stayed all 5 nights at Yellowstone Lake Resort. It is a very old hotel but everything is new including all of the bathroom fixtures. The lake view was awesome with buffalo roaming the area. The huge lobby was very inviting with the large windows overlooking the lake with someone playing the grand piano before dinner. The service was excellent at the desk and in the restaurant. The Grand Canyon of Yellowstone is nearby and should not be missed. We also enjoyed a hike to storm point that is located at the lake.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here last year during our anniversary and loved the hotel and the atmosphere. We had a lake view room that hadn't been renovated, but that didn't matter...we realized we were in Yellowstone Park and that luxury wasn't the point. The staff was wonderful, the bar and restaurant were great, the string quartet was perfect! We truly loved it there since it was quieter than the rest of the park. Our plan was to come back to celebrate annually since we live so close by.

Now, the hotel has been completely renovated and the prices are nearly $350/night. Really? You just priced out the ability of normal people to stay at your hotel. The hotel was in need of some renovation, but come on...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bozpd146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were booked for two nights in the hotel, one in the cabin. We were allocated a room in the annex. The room was very, very small but clean. The problem was noise. The bathrooms seem to be fitted with the loudest fans on the planet, and people seemed to leave them running late into the night. The front desk staff were great and let us move to the cabins a night early. What a difference - they are old and don't look much from the outside, but inside they are large, great big comfortable beds, coffee maker and quiet! Very quiet.

The location of the hotel is great and the the main hotel had an old-time glamour with its dining room and bar. There was cafeteria food available at the Lodge, the hotel 5 minutes walk away, but great food and great provisions (at what seemed cheap prices given the location) in the general store next to the hotel.

So the cabins are highly recommended, but for me the annex can't be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marcus_uk2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed at Lake Yellowstone and were a little nervous after reading others reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised. Room was newly renovated, very clean with nice amenities. Hotel staff was helpful and went out of there way to find accomadations for our grandson who came without accomadations plans. Restaurant food was good, waitresses extremely friendly and efficient. Not cheap but a perfect place to stay to see all of Yellowstone. Sits right in the middle of the park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfgal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,960 reviews
13.4 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
918 reviews
22.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
961 reviews
22.2 mi away
Lake Lodge Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins
#6 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
722 reviews
21.6 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins

Property: Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Address: Lake Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Yellowstone Hotel And Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming
Hotel Lake Yellowstone
Yellowstone Lake Hotel
Lake Yellowstone National Park
Lake Yellowstone Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing