We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
GreenLeadersGold level
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

With a late decision to visit Yellowstone this hotel was the only one available. Don't know what we may have missed at the others, but this one was very good. The room was a little small and had very limited storage space, but it was well appointed, clean, had a nice bathroom, and we had a great view of the lake. The hotel is climate-controlled, but despite the existence of a thermostat in the room, which appeared to have no effect, we did have to use an oscillating fan we found in the room at night.
There's lots of convenient parking, bell service if you need it, and the elevators operated quickly. The lodge offers a number of conveniences, and everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. There's a beautiful lounge/sitting area which offered live music each evening we were there, and a very nice deli for a quick breakfast if you want to get an early jump on the bison-viewing.
The dining room was lovely, the food good, and the service mostly excellent. We did have one shaky experience at breakfast with a young lady from central Europe who was learning the job and English at the same time, but she was so charming and apologetic that it did not spoil our meal. All other meals were great. ONE CAUTION: As soon as you make your lodge or cabin reservations - even a year in advance - MAKE YOUR DINNER RESERVATIONS if you want to eat in the dining room. They book up quickly, and you could be faced - as we were - with eating dinner at 5:15 or 9:30!
The grounds around the hotel are pretty, and there are a number of walking trails. There's also a nice dock on the lake behind the hotel where you can sit and enjoy the view of the water and mountains.
Not cheap, but a good place to stay, and relatively easy drives to the key points in the Park.

Room Tip: Try for a lake view
See more room tips
Green Features: About what you'd expect in a National Park; recycling bins around the property, suggested reuse of bath linens, and centralized thermostat controls.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    323
    194
    90
    45
See reviews for
284
499
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was my first time at the Lake Yellowstone Hotel and I look forward to my next visit. At the time of my visit, the majority of the hotel had been renovated and the results were outstanding. The lobby is huge but inviting with large sitting areas, lovely view of the lake and a warm atmosphere. We found the staff to be very helpful. Our room was essentially brand new with plenty of space and large bathroom. Everything was tastefully decorated without being pretentious. The entire facility was clean and well maintained. My only complaint is that our room was near the lobby area and the noise did travel into our room. Fortunately, everything is very quiet at night. There is no TV and no internet service but I consider this a bonus. Staying in a National Park is an opportunity to enjoy the beauty of nature, take advantage of it. Our first morning in the hotel went went on a walk and discovered a buffalo grazing near the cabins. He was simply amazing and far more impressive than anything on an LCD screen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySkiesAhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked this Hotel as it was the only place left to book in the Park - everywhere else was full - so book early. The hotel is being restored and appears to be nearing completion. The place has a very pleasant feel to it and the reception staff are helpful - relatively minor issues - (1) the seats looking out of the Sun Room are some of the most uncomfortable I have sat on - is this to keep people moving (all the others n the room are very comfortable)? Throughout our stay one or other of the lifts was no working, and it appeared someone got stuck in one on one evening.

The room - we had booked a room with a view of the lake (as that was all that was left). The view is wonderful. The rooms are well appointed and the bed was comfortable. There was no fridge and the internet cable didn't appear to work. The main issue is how light the room was at night. There is a light in the bathroom which cannot be turned off (so light from around the frame), The aircon had a bright (at night) green light from it and the smoke alarm (?) on the ceiling did a great impression of a spaceship from outer space (flashing lights).

The Moon guide book say the third floor is best - which is where we were given a room. We had room 360 - this is on the end of the block. The positive aspect to this is that in addition to the lake view, you also get a side window with a forest view, which was nice. The distance from reception also needs to be considered - it is over 200 yards from reception, and well over 100 yards from the lifts - over a quarter of a mile return trip to the Sun Lounge - may be too much for some or good exercise for others.

The hotel has a good central location in the park and easy access to much wildlife (we had bison, elk, grizzlies within 10 miles of us).

The hotel doesn't feel like a National Park Hotel, though. It feels like a down market version of Disney's Grand Floridian (rather than the Old Faithful Inn which is like / the model for Disney's Wilderness Lodge). Having visited the shops in both, they obviously cater for different clientele. If I visited again, I would go for the Old Faithful Inn. The Lake Hotel is expensive for what you get.

Incidentally, when I go to parks run by Xanterra I generally find a more mediocre / expensive / ineffective experience than when I visit those not run by Xanterra.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

You can't beat waking up to a view of the nation's first national park. Lake Yellowstone is serene and beautiful and the location provided convenient access to all of our adventures in the park. The public spaces of the hotel have been lovingly restored. We loved having cocktails to the sounds of a nightly string quartet in the spacious, tastefully decorated lobby overlooking the water. Our room featured a marble bathroom, rain shower, enormous soaking tub and comfy towels and robes. We upgraded to a suite which meant we also had a nice kitchenette with a Keurig and large refrigerator.

Despite this, I gave the hotel an average rating for a couple of reasons:

1) We paid a hefty sum for a suite so our kids could have a separate room. However, they had to walk through our room to go to the bathroom. This didn't give us the privacy we were hoping for.

2) The service in the restaurant was rather "uneven." Despite making reservations months ahead we sat at our table for ten minutes before we finally figured out that there wasn't a server assigned to us. The girl who we called over ended up having to take our table and she was then too slammed to give us much attention. The food was also quite average. The meat was overdone despite asking for medium rare and my son's pizza was burnt. We could have gone down the road to the Lake Lodge or gotten sandwiches from the General Store but they told us we needed bear spray to walk between the two hotels after dark. No thanks!!

3) The outdoor spaces are minimal. The lobby bar was lovely as previously mentioned with windows all around overlooking the lake. However there was no outdoor patio or gathering space to enjoy the lake. By contrast the lower priced Lake Lodge had a wide front porch with rockers where cocktails could be enjoyed.

4) There was no laundry in the hotel. This was also in the Lake Lodge, down the street and through the bears. :-)

5) NO WIFI. I love the idea of being off the grid. However, the lodging in Yellowstone is not consistent in its wifi access. For instance the Lake Lodge does have wifi in the lobby. (You pay for it by the hour as in other hotels but can only have one device on the network) There was hard wired Internet access in our room but we didn't bother with this klunky set up.

Overall it was a nice experience and we really enjoyed the access to the park from this location. The front desk staff and housekeeping were very friendly and helpful. I don't think it was really worth it to pay extra for the suite even though we got the amazing bathroom and kitchenette. We weren't in Yellowstone for a luxury vacation and probably would have been happier at the Lake Lodge with access to washer/dryer, wifi and sunsets on the front porch.

Room Tip: Definitely pay for the lake side. Even though there are no balconies it's lovely to have a view...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good. The garbage can in the room was divided for recyclables vs. garbage. The use regular sized bottles of shampoo, conditioner, etc. and recycle these by putting in new pumps for each guest. In the cafe/deli there are bins for recycling and composting as well as trash.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Past and on going renovations maintained the Victorian charm of main hotel right done to NO TELEVISION nor Internet beyond limited 3G for smart phones.
We came into massive, open lobby with open dining room and adjacent gift shop. Piano player was working mud lobby close by bar island and local artistd were selling works showcasing nearby natural wonders, a photographer the evening of arrival and pen and ink artist the morning of departure.
Morning bellman was not available on arrival and even though he showed in time to bring in some bags, he turned and walked away with minimal comment as I picked up last 2 bags for storage. Afternoon bellman displayed high customer service as he followed me to car with loaded cart when I thought I was bring car to door.
We stayed in cabin as we booked late. 2 double beds made our room in the duplex building seem small in addition to sink, toilet and no tub, only shower, being available.
We were warned to watch for lone bison, known to be in area and to sneak up on guests in the dark or at least to wait quietly in dark allowing guests to approach well within 25 yard zone and to be surprised by brushing against he almost invisible brown and black hide. Extremely limited outdoor lighting made walking away from main roadway and parking lots ill advised.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travlndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My room was in the annex and the annex feels like a dated motel. Room was decent and clean but nothing impressive. The main hotel is quite a beautiful building with a fantastic lobby and lounge area. I can't say what the rooms in the main hotel are like but they are double the cost of the annex so I expect they are nicer.

Beds were acceptable and no noise issues.

If the annex, you are getting the lake location as a lower price. I'd absolutely stay again for the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OdinCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
key west
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

For nearly $200 a night, I was not impressed, but with the size of Yellowstone National Park, you should stay in the park because it is not a one day kind of place. The beds were comfortable and the shower was hot. We stayed in a cabin, not the hotel itself. I will say that the lobby was fabulous. It was a great place to relax and have a drink while listening to piano or orchestra... both live. The lobby had so much character and charm, I felt like I was in another time period completely. For this, I would stay again, the location was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parithon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
32.9 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
13.4 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
22.2 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
Canyon Lodge and Cabins
#1 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
22.2 mi away
Lake Lodge Cabins
Lake Lodge Cabins
#6 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
22.1 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins

Property: Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Address: Lake Village, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Yellowstone Hotel And Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming
Hotel Lake Yellowstone
Yellowstone Lake Hotel
Lake Yellowstone National Park
Lake Yellowstone Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing