We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and and nice place to rest”
Review of Cascade Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cascade Lodge
Reviewed 29 July 2012

No one spends any time in their room in Yellowstone. A room with two double beds was great for a family of four. Cascade lodge in the Canyon is a great place centrally located to everything in Yellowstone. The cafeteria left a lot to be desired, but the General store made up for that.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank LoveVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

On our two-day drive through Yellowstone in July, we spent one night at Canyon Lodge in the Cascade Lodge building. We paid a premium price for this very basic room, but the location is well worth that price. If you really want to see all the highlights of Yellowstone, you should allow a minimum of one full day for the upper loop drive and a second full day for the lower loop. The location of Canyon Lodge enables you to drive these routes see the major sights without a lot of backtracking and extra driving.

Check in was quick and friendly. Note....The registration office and dining areas are being reroofed, and the construction barricades and equipment are not pleasant. This is only a problem outside the buildings...parking, walking around. Once inside, everything is as usual. We enjoyed a great meal at the Canyon Lodge Restaurant as well as a quick breakfast the next morning in the adjacent cafeteria.

As mentioned, the rooms in Cascade Lodge are very basic...no phone, television or elevator. They do, however, provide a hair dryer, coffee maker and the cutest bear shaped soap! We would definitely recommend staying here if you want a clean, convenient place in the park to spend a night or two.

Room Tip: The third floor might be quieter, but keep in mind that there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Onthelake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Rooms were ready when we arrived (early). However we were delayed getting into them (actually the whole lodge) as we had to wait for the bison to move away from the front door before we could go in! It was a great welcome and the kids loved it! The room was others as described and was very clean. Our room was on the first floor looking into the woods with a stream. We were also near the ice machine but we never heard any noise from there or any other rooms around or above us. Was a great night sleep on very comfortable beds and with the stream outside. Wished we had spent more than one night-well worth every penny! Everyone at the Canyon Lodge was also great and very friendly!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Disneyadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My daughter and I stayed for two mights in Cascade Lodge on the 3rd floor (room 307). This room had two double beds, a small round table, nightstand, and dresser with a coffee maching. We overlooked the woods which made for a very quiet stay. We didn't hear any noises from adjoining rooms, even though the lodge was full. As others have noted, the check in is in the village and in the lodge there are only rooms and a vending maching. Dunraven is right next door and has additional vending machines (according to my 11 year old). We went to the ampithether for a talk on Bison, a national treasure and there was no electricity when we retured that night, although the lights in the hallways were well lit. Our clue was that the emergency exit doors were all closed (and there were no lights in the room). They provide coffee and tea for the coffee maker and shampoo, soap and moisturizer (but no conditioer) for your shower. In summary, there was nothing dothing dramatic but it was a nice place to stay that is centrally located, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank jjdm922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The amazing Old Faithful Inn was a hard act to follow, but the Cascade Lodge was a suitable second act for us in Yellowstone during our June 2011 trip. You just can’t beat the Canyon area’s central location in regards to the entire park.

Right off the bat, you’re happy to be assigned to Cascade/Dunraven once you realize you’re not staying in those rustic (decrepit looking) cabins. The check-in process over at the main complex was relatively painless (be prepared for a line and know the check-in clerks, mostly college-age kids from all over the U.S., are cranking as fast as possible).

Standard clean motel/hotel room, roomy enough, well-lit hallways. Affordable. Tucked just behind the convenient Canyon Village complex and Visitor Center. This is where we slept for 3 nights and one afternoon nap (after we got back from a 6 a.m. Wake Up to Wildlife bus tour). … That’s all we needed – a clean, quiet room, no TV, nothing fancy at all. We got what we paid for. Cascade Lodge served its purpose.

Room Tip: You do not get a choice between Cascade and Dunraven when you make your reservation. You get assigne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MinivanMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Opting to stay in one place for all 10 days of our Yellowstone trip was a considered decision....we wanted centrality of location, comfort, atmosphere, and the usual cleanliness, quiet, and efficiency. Though price was of some concern, we chose a Canyon Village lodge (instead of the cheaper cabins) to find all of the above, and we weren't disappointed. Room #109's windows opened onto a truly babbling brook, (frequented by the above-noted bison), and offered the most privacy with its end-of-hall location. Certainly not luxurious, but solidly furnished in "pioneer modern" woods with rustic woolen blankets, it featured a perfectly adequate bathroom and passable beds. The lack of good indoor light could have been a problem had the weather throughout our September stay not been more conducive to hiking than reading. In any place other than the national park system, I might have labelled the room "overpriced", but here, apparently it's a seller's world.

Room Tip: Definitely room #109, for the above-noted reasons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CapeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed in the Cascade lodge for three nights from sept 6th through the 8th and found it to be a very pleasant surprise given all the old cabins we had to pass to get there. This is the ideal accommodation for folks who want to see a lot of Yellowstone without the need to rough it. Consider it to be the quality of a 4star motel with a 6star access to one of the country's greatest national parks.

Room Tip: Since there are no views from the Cascade Lodge to speak of go ahead and book a first floor room (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank On_the_G0_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
20.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,085 reviews
12.6 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#3 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,216 reviews
24.2 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
24.3 mi away
Travelodge Gardiner at Yellowstone Park North Entrance
13.9 mi away
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
Roosevelt Lodge Cabins
#2 of 17 in Yellowstone National Park
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Address: North Rim Dr. at Grand Loop Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range: £54 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Cascade Lodge Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing