We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and not well appointed.”
Review of Cascade Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yellowstone National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cascade Lodge
Lakeside, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not well appointed.”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had some idea what to expect of a National Park Lodge, however, Cascade Lodge was not very good. Way too expensive, no services: no TV (that's okay in a National Park) but no breakfast. Comfortable beds but absolutely miserable pillows. Yellowstone is a treasure but we found the facilities poorly managed (Xanterra is the contracting company); food was terrible, service was good considering that everyone on staff was just coming on for the season. Next time we'll camp.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    37
    24
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We planned our trip to Yellowstone and then worked the accommodation around what we wanted to do. As we were arriving at the park in the afternoon, we decided to head to the Canyon and then drive round the southern loop on the second day, so Canyon Village was an ideal place to stay.

We reserved our rooms nearly a year out, and I'm glad we went for the lodge, rather than the cabins, which really didn't look good at all. The lodge was fine. A bit expensive for what you get, but that's what you expect in places like these.

It's a little walk to the area where the shops and restaurant are. We thought the food was adequate but no more than that.

The staff were all pretty friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in a lodge. Don't risk those cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KeithJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We didn't know what to expect of a National Park Lodge. We got a nice surprise for our five night stay in early Sep 2013.

Very clean and a very spacious room!!!. Electrically heated - which we needed some of the nights in early September.

Clean and nice bathroom. Had one of these infrared heat lamps in the bathroom. In other words, the place was well heated so you would not get cold. It has no air conditioning, however. When we were there, A/C was the last thing one would need.

Rooms were serviced daily and again, a very clean place. Ice machine just down the hall like in a Marriott or Hilton hotel. We found the lodge to be quiet too. There were one or two tour groups there at the time we were there, and still, it was a quiet place to stay.

This particular lodge has no elevator. Because my wife had had knee surgery we asked for, and got, a room on the first floor. That's the only drawback to this lodge - no elevator. Older vacationers or folks with knee problems need to request a first floor room.

Parking is very convenient to the front door. Only way it could have been better was to have had a few luggage carts. When we moved in and moved out it took both of us several trips to get our luggage and other stuff into and out of the room.

Room Tip: If you have knee problems then ask for a first floor room. As stated in the review, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CoastalDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights in the Cascade lodge. First trip to Yellowstone, and turned out to be a great location as the canyon section was our favorite part of the park. The rooms are expensive if you base it on what you get (no TV, no WiFi, pretty basic amenities), but given that the rooms can only be rented for a portion of the year and the remote nature of the area, it's somewhat understandable. It's no Four Seasons, but as long as that is not your expectation it should be fine. You are in Yellowstone National Park - the amenities are located outside the hotel!

Room is very basic, but we found it to be clean which is very high on the priority list. Housekeeping was also very good, as there was a water leak from the room above into our bathroom. It started at about 10 pm and after a trip to the registration area a maintenance person was at our room before I could get back there. Issue was the room above flooded their bathroom and it ran down into ours. After it stopped, the night time housekeeping staff showed up and thoroughly re-cleaned the entire bathroom. When it happened so late at night I was worried that it would be difficult to get any service. I've been at other hotels that if you have a housekeeping issue after 5 pm you are out of luck.

We didn't have any issues with noise, didn't really notice anything past 9 pm or so. Maybe because we were so tired from the day's activities, but didn't really have any problems sleeping.

We did not eat at any food vendor in Yellowstone - when we checked in there was a norovirus outbreak throughout Yellowstone and Grand Teton. Being in the middle of nowhere with limited medical facilities, we agreed that we were going to make sure we didn't get sick. We already had a cooler, so we purchased pre-packaged turkey, bread, and cheese along with chips and ate that food the entire time we were there. It turned out fine, as the food in the park doesn't have the best rep, and we didn't have to take time stop for a formal meal. When we were hungry we would find a parking area and break out the food. And honestly it was way more healthy than anything we would have eaten from the restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

My review is for The Canyon Cabins area. We stayed in a cabin for one night and then moved to Mammoth. Hot Springs for 3 additional nights. The cabin we had was a dump. The area was mostly closed. The restaurant was horrible. There was major construction that messed up the parking lot. The feel was that of the 1950's. There were limited outlets in the room and your knees hit the walls when sitting on the toilet. The shower was barely usable. Our bed shook when the neighbors slammed the door. I could handle all of that if there was some other redeeming feature, but there was not. I wouldn't go back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yellowstone National Park hotels

Northern NM
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Compared to our stay in Grant Village, the Cascade Lodge was a major improvement! Canyon village is a nice central location in the park. You can drive to anywhere in the park in a reasonable amount of time.

On the plus side, the furniture was substantial, and the room was spacious and nice looking. Everything worked and looked decent. The room had a modern design, with the tub/toilet area separate from the sink. The windows can be opened, which I like.

On the minus side, there aren't a lot of amenities: no fridge, for example. The bathroom was not super clean; the floor in the shower area hadn't been vacuumed very well (hair in the corners). The sheets tended to come loose from the mattress during sleep. If you need service, the "front desk" is in the village area, not in the lodge.

Technology is lacking in Canyon Village. No wifi in the lodge. You can pay extra and get wifi in the village area. Our cell carrier (Verizon) had no signal in the lodge, and not much signal anywhere in Canyon Village. We could get a weak cell signal right in front of the General Store (which is NOT close to the lodges). Oddly, we could get a good signal at the sightseeing stops along the canyon rim, about a half mile away.

Overall, this may be one of the best options for in-park lodging. If they were to upgrade their technology services in the future, I'd be willing to stay here again. We liked the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scooters_concierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights in september 13 to explore the Grand Canyon Of Yellowstone & Hayden Valley

+
Clean, big room.
Housekeeping was excellent.
Served for it's purpose (exploring that part of Yellowstone).

-
The corporate feeling is a bit to much.
Everything is to big/to much a factory. Canyon Village is not more then 1 gigantic parking lot surrounded by some buildings.
Don't go there if you want a cosy, nice atmosphere. You are there simply because it's close to where you want to be.
Food at Xanterra properties in Canyon Villadge is mediocre at best.
Rather expensive.
Shops (to buy pick nick/other things) opens at 9 AM. Way to late.

Overall: the NPS should grant 2 or more companies to compete with each other in a NP. This can have a positive effect because they will be forced to raise the bar since there is competition. Now they can just do what they do (and keep on doing this) without really caring about the service they provide. Yellowstone is a beautiful place and deserves better places to stay. This said: still adequate but not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
12.6 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,050 reviews
20.3 mi away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,974 reviews
22.9 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
740 reviews
24.2 mi away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
24.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Lodge

Property: Cascade Lodge
Address: North Rim Dr. at Grand Loop Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Yellowstone National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Cascade Lodge Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing