We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small geyser area but just as awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fountain Paint Pot

Fountain Paint Pot
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1,500.00*
and up
Yellowstone Lower Loop Full-Day Tour
London,
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small geyser area but just as awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Although there were grander pools and geysers - this area was a personal favourite. We went back for a second look around the next day. The bubbling mud pool was incredible - I can hear it bubbling on the short video I took on my phone. The whole basin just looks like it is smoking. The whole of Yellowstone is amazing but just because this is a smaller attraction it should not be overlooked. It left me speechless!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank love2bpampered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    71
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
324 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“VERY COLORFUL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Located in the Lower Geyser Basin, this is a one of the smaller (but popular) geyser areas. The trail is about 1/2 mile long on boardwalks that are in good shape. I have stopped many times before, but always enjoy my visit. I always seem to see something new here.

This place has all of the four types of hydrothermal features. Some of the features are named – Celestine Pool, Silex Spring, Red Spouter, Spasm Geyser, Clepsyrda Geyser, Jelly Geyser & more. Pick up a guide at the beginning of your walk for 50 cents.

The colors are beautiful. It is almost like a moonscape with beautiful colors. Just remember to not touch, you may get burned and stay on the path!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank limey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
584 reviews
435 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Unique and pretty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

It is not as vivid as the Prismatic Geysir but there something quite pretty about the coloured mud around it. The other sites in the area are also interesting like the Celestine pool and the red bacteria. Easy level boardwalk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IOGWFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty at its Best!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The beautiful colors of the pools was amazing....This was in what is called the "Lower Loop" of the park so its close to Old Faithful. Be sure to stop here before leaving the park, you wont be disappointed. There were boardwalks there that wind around the Paint Pots and other vents that put you up close and personal when we were there some years ago...The whole park is so mesmerizing you cant wait to see the next amazing sight, from bison to osprey, elk, moose, waterfalls. You will pass through Cody, WY going/coming from Yellowstone, so make a quick stop there as well..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank phillyeaglesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
351 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“This area was so unique and splendid.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

The steam rolling off the earth and meeting the cool air was amazing while the perfect soft blue color of the water pool was definitely an inspiration! The colors are truly splendid. Fher areas were really muddy but there was a place to walk and enjoy. Definitely a must see at Yellowstone!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tanyasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fountain Paint Pot also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Fountain Paint Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing