We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough stuff for beginners, but beautiful.”
Review of Trout Lake Trail

Trout Lake Trail
Midvale, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tough stuff for beginners, but beautiful.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Trout lake hike, dirt path leading 300 ft uphill to spectacular views and a lake that is home to geese, otters, and fish.
TOUGH incline for non-hikers, but there are plenty of resting spots, plenty of shade!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Kierra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    16
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great short hike”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first hike in Yellowstone. As others have mentioned, the first portion of the hike is a steep climb up to the lake. However it is of such short duration that almost anyone should be able to do it. When you reach the top, you will find a picturesque lake surrounded by woods, mountains and a beautiful green meadow. The loop trail around the lake is an easy walk. We did see many trout but unfortunately we did not spot any otters during our visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationqueen1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
247 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Beautiful easy trail”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was our first hike upon arrival at park thru Northeast entrance. Trail was steep at first and we had to take a few breaks early to get acclimated to the higher elevations. We were here in June and it snowed and sleeted lightly on our hike. By time we got to lake the sun was out. Beautiful scenery and we also saw our first buffalo grazing and thought this was a big deal(until driving through Lamar Valley and seeing hundreds more later in the day) Such a beautiful and peaceful place and after the initial climb a fairly easy hike..

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnplatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Do you love lakes?”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If your answer to my question is yes, then take this trail. This is a steep 0.3 miles trail and the trail-head is towards the eastern end of the Lamar Valley.
Before taking this trail I read that it is a hot spot for fishing trouts. I am not that into fishing but there were a bunch of people with fishing rods there. I also read that we could see some otters there. There were none but I cannot complain. This lake is incredibly serene and is not flooded with people observing the beauties of Yellowstone from their tablet or phone screens.
There are a couple of things you can do here.
1) You can enjoy the scenery, climb the hills and take a look at the Lamar valley from a height. Beware of the bison scats.
2) If you walk halfway around the lake you will see a small bridge and another small trail heading to the forest. Unfortunately, the weather did not allow us to move forward, it was raining and we did not have our gaiters with us. If you would take this path you should consider bringing your bear spray, whistle and water bottles.
3) Among all of the lakes we saw in Yellowstone (including Yellowstone lake, Lost Lake, Indian Pond and the remaining small -not boiling- lakes that are located next to the grand loop road) this was the only one free of mosquitoes. You may take your snacks with you and enjoy a small lakeside picnic.
4) Take photographs. They will look like impressionist paintings.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Horizontal_Sleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Short Hike”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

It's hard to not rate every hike in Yellowstone as excellent. This one quickly gets you to a beautiful alpine lake. The lake is perfect for reflection pictures and there is always the chance for animals. I haven't seen the otters yet but I'll try again this fall. There are also two smaller lakes you can hike to further up the valley. You can spend as little as 2 hours or all day in this beautiful area. Always carry bear spray in Yellowstone, you won't regret it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trout Lake Trail also viewed

Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Yellowstone National Park, WY
 

Been to Trout Lake Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing