We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Budget cabins”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the Budget cabins for a night and it was totally worth it. We had a sink in our room. There is shared toilets and showers that we had to use but it was fine for a night. Besides, we got to see Old Faithful go off three times!

Lodgings were simple and basic but got the job done. It's rustic, it's not meant to be fancy. We enjoyed it very very much!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    193
    127
    41
    10
See reviews for
141
230
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Was here with a group (family members - 8 adults, 1 child). We had a total of 4 cabins. Am taking 1 star off because the walls near my bed (was in the cabin style where the single bed was in a little alcove) had a bunch of very small, sticky areas. Dead bugs, mildew, who knows. Glad I had read many TripAdvisor postings and knew a few people had small problems with their rooms before! Plus the sheet on the bed seemed "stale" - maybe dirt had gotten on the sheets since they felt a little "sandy." This was not the best start to my 4 days in Yellowstone. Since I noticed it late, I just wiped off the walls myself. Reported it the next day and the staff could not have been quicker in responding - sent out housecleaning to wipe down walls, change my sheets, and vacuum. Couldn't ask for more from that. The rest of my party said their rooms were fine.
One thing I also got used to over time was the smell in the area of the cabins. At first I thought it was fried cooking grease possibly from the lodge, but it may have just been sulphur.
This is a terrific location if you don't want to drive while you are at Yellowstone. You can walk to just about anything you need. I was with an outdoors-enthusiastic group that took full advantage of the entire park, taking day trips all over and hiked a lot. I was happy spending my days in the Old Faithful area - I saw Old Faithful erupt MANY times. There were plenty of food options nearby (no cooking allowed in cabins) and there are two general stores in the area as well as gift shops at the various lodges. The visitors center was nice and I went to one of its evening programs which was enjoyable. You can also see A LOT within a mile of the cabins - the river, the pools, other geyers, etc. I think it is called the Geyser Hill area. It wasn't crowded out there PLUS you didn't have to fight for parking spaces since you could walk there right from your room.
I definitely appreciated the boardwalk areas which were easy to walk on. They say this is the busiest area of the park, but it was plenty rustic for me. One night I even saw a bison while walking over to Old Faithful Lodge for dinner near dusk - woo hoo.
It was fine for me to just visit the Old Faithful Inn and Snow Lodge - I preferred staying in the cabins. Felt more like home and the cabins are less expensive than hotel-style rooms.
BTW - someone else wrote about light filtering into the room thru the curtains. This is absolutely true. It can hit you right in the eyes if your head is towards the wall. It's a function of how the curtains are hung there. What we did was hang very lightweight clothes (e.g., a windbreaker jacket or a shirt) on the end of the curtain rod which did not injure the curtain rod and took care of the light passing into the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCalCouple050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

These cabins are obviously not for everyone. But as a single male traveler, I was very pleased to make use of the cabin. It is a one room, two bed configuration with a sink. Toilets and showers are communal, but not a far walk at all. The room was spotless. The bed and bedding were superior to some that I have had at 3 star hotels. The location is also great for ease in getting around Yellowstone. If you do reserve a cabin, check in is at the OF LODGE, not the INN.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a small Frontier cabin with double bed and private bathroom for 2 nights. The cabin was as we expected it to be, based on reviews we'd already read here on Tripadvisor. It didn't look much from the outside but the inside was better than we'd hoped for in terms of comfort. The cabin was exceptionally clean too. Ok the bathroom/shower was small, sink in main area and how cute is that bear soap they put out for you with the other toiletries!

We were adjacent to one other cabin, and yes, the sound proofing wasn't great but not a problem to us. Indeed, we chose it for the location alone, and a very good decision that was too! We loved be able to get up early and walk the Upper Geyser basin, virtually had it to ourselves! It was also lovely to see the sunset right by Old Faithful too, with just a very short walk back to the cabin. We were able to park our car right by the cabin and leave it there, while we enjoyed all that the Upper Geyser Basin had to offer.

We found all the amenities at Old Faithful to be very good, we ate dinner in the cafeteria twice (shame they didn't do breakfast as well though when we were there). We got hot drink and bagel from the main lodge for that instead. The staff on reception were superb, very friendly and welcoming, helpful too. We very much preferred this location to Canyon Village, road to cabin was much better, cabin interior nicer and so much else on the doorstep to enjoy as well. We made good use of eateries for lunch & shops over at Snow Lodge and the Old Faithful Inn too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night in september 13.

+
Cheap
Close to Old Faithfull
For the price still rather big room
Earthquake-proof (we had a 3.4 richter quake + 2 aftershocks) ; )

-
Our cabin was not ready before 4.30PM. This is way to late.
Noisy (airco?) when you are close to the lodge
Shower was partly broken (soap-dispenser)
Disney-land (whole Old Faithfull area)

Overall: since no alternatives in same pricerange: recommended. But NPS should really rethink the way they let 1 single corporation run all accomodations in 1 park. Competion is needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a cabin for two nights on the northern edge. We could walk out and see Old faithful go off early morning and at dusk. We walked on
over to the inn for dinner which were great. Nothing but coffee and muffins close for breakfast. But the little cabin had a bath and was perfect for us. What a gorgeous place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdgtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at the Old Faithful Lodge because the Old Faithful Inn was already full. The cabins look a bit worn from the outside and are basic on the inside but are ok especially as we only stayed one night. Pricewise a bit expensive but you pay for where you are. Great location for the Upper Geyser Basin. A bit stuffy in the cabin with no air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellowstone National Park
21.9 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,099 reviews
14.3 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#6 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
974 reviews
19.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
761 reviews
19.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Faithful Inn
Old Faithful Inn
#1 of 1 in Yellowstone National Park
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Faithful Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Faithful Lodge Cabins

Property: Old Faithful Lodge Cabins
Address: Old Faithful Bypass Road, Yellowstone National Park, WY
Region: United States > Wyoming > Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Yellowstone National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Faithful Lodge Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Faithful Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins Hotel Yellowstone National Park
Old Faithful Lodge Cabins Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing