We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic Wonders was AWESOME!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scenic Wonders was AWESOME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Myself and my boyfriend rented Scenic Wonders as well as Little Scenic with a group of friends and we had an amazing time! It's close enough to the valley floor that it was easy to coordinate hikes. The house itself was very clean and roomy. Everyone felt comfortable and had enough space to themselves, if they wanted it. The common area on the main floor with the kitchen, dining room and living room were perfect for hanging out. The deck, oh the deck, was fabulous! Of course, we lucked out because we had sunny skies and no weather but sitting out on the deck in the morning having our coffee and watching the sun rise on the hill sides with the light coming through the trees was fantastic and the perfect way to find peace. Don't forget the great star gazing while sitting in the hot tub at night! We brought all our own food and drink (just like their website warns you) and we had a blast grilling up some food and cooking in the kitchen. I've stayed at other vacation rentals before and usually the kitchens are not stocked well at all, but, this kitchen was great! We all took turns cooking and had so much fun doing it. Surrounded by so many trees really made this feel private and in the middle of nature. We would definitely rent and hope to rent this place again. It was a diamond that we were so glad to find! Thank you!

Room Tip: The website is a little unclear about the layout of the rooms. If you just rent Scenic Wonders, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vdubrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    81
    41
    12
    8
See reviews for
204
94
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We( 2 couples) stayed for a weekend last fall in the coyote creek cabin(by the way, no creek), staff was a bit unfriendly and vacant ,"He" seemed put-out by our arrival, like we just interrupted his dinner or something (we arrived 2 p.m. ish) The only information he gave us was "Dont use the fireplace" What ? That was pretty much why we rented the place over a hotel, apparently.. that time of year (fall) it's dangerous to burn fires in Yosemite although we could smell other fires being burnt in this residential area with hundreds of homes, its felt like they just dont want you burning fires..period, or others residents dont heed the warnings.. they might want to mention those dates on the website ! The cabin itself is on a steep incline that makes parking your car in the driveway a real challenge, the driveway was not transitioned from the road to the driveway very well, our SUV bottomed out going in and out everytime. I not sure how you could even pull in with a ordinary car? Your met with a long, narrow and steep set of stairs to haul your bags and groceries up, if your older this would not be for you. The cabin is cute but dated, the deck is not really set-up for hanging out and eating as there is no table and chairs, its more like a long bench with a firewood corral, which was full of wood we could'nt use. There was plenty of cookware, plates, glasses & silverware for our needs, however the grill was old and beat-up and only half the cooking surface was usable as the burner wasnt working properly.. so it made cooking tough, the bedrooms are weirdly spread out in the floor plan (or should I say lack of plan) this would be an issue if you have kids with, you'll be too far away from them to feel at ease through the night. Fact its in the park was really the best part, its about a 25 minute drive to the valley floor and yes, if you run out of something prepare for a bit of a drive and price shock, you would think they were a far off pacific island with vast miles of ocean to cross getting supplies and what not, the prices are just short of hard to swallow, the driving in Yosomite is crazy and uncomfortable, if your driving.. your limits will be tested, if your a passenger you'll be thrown about the car left to right from the moment you get in until it stops...with that being said the park is incredible and worth everything forementioned. Before check out it was a full morning of cleaning (followed by worrying if you cleaned enough) rules are bit vague in this regard, keys are just dropped off in a box, we were lucky enough to run into people that already had the key to the garbage dumpster, otherwise I'm not sure we could have known or found them as there is no sign or any staff , once again the staff knows people are leaving and they should be open and visually present , not hiding behind a intercom system, imagine yourself in a hotel without any staff present, thats what it like, complete hands off operation.. which is some cases would be fine but not friday check-in's or Sunday morning check-out's. We had a good time and did some great hiking, the weather was unseasonably warm. which was great ,and if you want to look at the stars at night.. lying on the driveways 25 degree or more pitch is a perfect unobstructed view(its the only thing good about that slab of concrete). The cabin itself should be alot nicer for the price and afterwards we wondered how people even owned or were ever allowed to build in the park, it just seems wrong, the building codes and such seem way too loose, for example, the stairs and the pitch of the driveway are all just accidents waiting to happen. I dont know but something is not on the up and up, this national teasure is for sell it would appear and there was alot of building still going on .

Room Tip: choose a different cabin or better yet dont become part of the problem by renting in the park in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redfish1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed in Sequoias East over Easter. The property is fairly new, very clean and well equipped with a kitchen/dining room/sitting room, one bedroom and bathroom up stairs along with a balcony with barbeque. Downstairs there are two more bedrooms, a living room with futon and a bathroom. There were plenty of towels provided.
The location is great, close to the major sites, in a quiet area. It was great to get away from the crowds in the evening and sit out on the balcony enjoying the surroundings. We picked up food and drink in Oakhurst and catered for ourselves.
Scenic Wonders staff are very helpful although the office was closed two out of the three times we called but there is a phone number to contact them. All emails sent before we arrived were answered promptly. DVDs can be borrowed from the office.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bard_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powers Lake
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at Scenic Wonders near Yosemite West in mid April 2012. The short drive to the Valley floor was a major plus. The 2 story loft slept 5 comfortably, had a small kitchen that fit our needs and the 2 baths were convenient. The quality of the facility was average, but it met all of our needs---we weren't there for the lofts. At $180/night it was a fair price.

Having once stayed outside the park, it was very important for us to not waste time driving 45-60 mins in/out of the park each day---the location was outstanding and we'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshua012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We are a family of 5 (with three children) - and we stayed at the Yosemite West loft condo for three nights during the first week in April. It was a lovely stay and the unit was very comfortable for a family. Having the two bathrooms, a little kitchen and enough beds for everyone was great. The only thing that could be improved is if they had a few more necessities in the kitchen (such as salt, oil, etc.) -- since there are not much dining options available around, we ended up cooking and found that it could have been nice to have some more basic items available in the kitchen... If you're cooking, you really have to make sure you have EVERYTHING.

The units are very basic, so do not expect luxury, but the staff is helpful and it is a comfortable place for a family to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelseemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed in scenic wonders with my family in march. There were 10 of us in total and we were very comfortable in this 6 bedroom house. Very clean, it also had a nice spa out on the deck. Best time of our lives. I have stayed in yosemite many times before and this was the best place. It was snowing heavily (freak storm) and I got stuck; however the friendly staff pulled us out. Hands down the best place in Yosemite. I will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Secarpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The lodges were nice but some of them were old with layers of dust in the bathroom. Otherwise, the location is Great and the kids loved playing in the snow around the lodges .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
17.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
7.2 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
14.5 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
0.3 mi away
Cozy Bear Cottages
Cozy Bear Cottages
#15 of 24 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals

Property: Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals
Address: 7403 Yosemite Park Way, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389-9101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite`s Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing