We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our room in Maple was very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yosemite Valley Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We've stayed in Yosemite Lodge several times, and this upstairs room in Maple facing away from the parking lot was the nicest so far. It looks like they remodeled the bathroom, something I haven't seen in other buildings. It was very quiet and comfy, with a nice balcony facing away from the street and parking areas. When we come again, I think I'll call directly and ask to stay in a remodeled room like ours in Maple. Beware of the bad food at the Food Court, though. It's well worth the money to eat dinner at the Mountain Room and breakfast at the Ahwanee, instead.

Room Tip: For the quietest room, ask for an upstairs room facing away from the parking lots. Also, ask for a r...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,863)
There are newer reviews for Yosemite Valley Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,185 - 2,191 of 3,863 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

I loved staying here with our family of 5. It is ALL about the location when visiting Yosemite. Booked the Lodge over available rooms at Ahwanhee and Tenaya and SO glad. We booked a double bed room and they supplied a rollaway bed. Enjoyed the ground floor room that opened to small patio directly across from the cafeteria-easy access for coffee in the mornings.

Rustic with a nice bathroom set up with sink/counter separate from commode and shower and tall fan for air circulation. A bit small and was busy with visitors and kids everywhere (August visit) but, we managed and loved being so close to the bus, tram stop, and cafeteria. Watched paragliders jump and glide all the way down while having coffee one morning!
Went to Ahwanhee for coffee and again for lunch one day...would stay at the Lodge again over the Ahwanhee because the Lodge is a great value for the price paid. Definitely visit the Ahwanhee, but don't hesitate to save money and stay at the Lodge.
Yosemite is spectacular and our day spent hiking to the top of Vernal Falls will always be a favorite family memory and accomplishment.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have small patio with 2 chairs and a screened door for nice ventilation (no a/c).
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravelJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

The location is epic. Our room looked out into the forest and one of those awesome granite walls. However, the rooms are basic. They reminded me of the places we stayed on school trips. The building is tired but so are the staff who seem remarkably worn out. Yosemite is incredible and should be seen. But I'm told there is a question about whether its good for the area to have so many visitors and perhaps the uncertainty of how this will be handled is hanging over the hotel. It certainly feels like a place trapped in time. Still, a good solid base for visiting the park.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very outdated place, asking around 200 USD a night while a Ramada motel room is better in quality (only 64 USD a night). The toilet didnt'flush through and flooded the bathroom. Asking for a nother room seems to be a weird question in the eyes of the moody desk attendant. The were old and made sounds when you move. It all made it the most terrible stay ever! Yosemite Park at it's own was quite disappointing as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in Yosemite. Food at the restaurants is good and the service is great. Rooms are clean and rustic and the view of the domes is breathtaking. Lots of hiking trails near the lodge. Rooms have space heaters for cold nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shobha t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Obviously with this hotel you're paying for the location, which is undeniably brilliant. I stayed in a family lodge room (all they had left when I booked), which had a queen size bed and a bunkbed with a single bed over a double bed. If I'd been travelling as a couple, the size of the room would have been fine, but I can imagine being in there two, three or four other people would be rather cramped.
The food was good, nothing special, but solid and reasonably priced.
I think the staff let this place down a bit though. The people I cam across generally ranged from a bit uninterested to rude. There were perhaps a couple of exceptions where the staff were perfectly pleasant, but the overall feeling seemed to be that the staff didn't particularly want to be there/want you to be there.
Luckily, the beautiful Yosemite landscape overshadowed this minor annoyance!

Room Tip: Prepare for a squeeze if there are a few of you in a family room!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 84haz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Lodge is very near the Yosemite Falls and has easy access to bike rentals, food court and gift shop. The room at the Juniper location on the first floor on the end was comfortable and clean, but the walls are thin so the tweens next door singing Happy Birthday repetitively was all too audible and annoying. There is no ESPN in the room if that matters to you, but wifi is free although slow. There are no accessible outlets at the bedside so plugging in your laptop or cell phone and using it while in bed is not an option. The Ahwahnee is newer and more upscale but the Lodge has the best location because it is so centrally located within the Valley.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolyBattGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,629 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
504 reviews
18.5 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: £205 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing