We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommendable!! Move fast.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommendable!! Move fast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

It was lucky to make reservation here after many tries. Move fast. I had a good time there and would recommend at least 3-4 days of stay to fully enjoy Yosemite here and there. This hotel is the best place to use as a base camp to spend several days in the Valley.

Room Tip: Move fast and try many times. It disappears quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antiques22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,024
    1,427
    725
    289
    166
See reviews for
1,322
1,506
95
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (942)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

By National Park standrds, the rooms will serve your every need. Despite the summer crowds the rooms were quiet and you are just steps from potential solitude in the numerous paths along the meadows to the rear of the property. Outstanding base of operations for all areas of Yosemite exploration.

Room Tip: If possible a room facing the rear of the property is desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Yosemite Lodge is located just right for me when visiting Yosemite National Park. It is my preferred lodging when comparing the price of other in park lodging and other ways to stay in the park including camping. I am satisfied and perhaps not as fussy as most people. I come to hike and enjoy the natural surroundings of the park,

Room Tip: I liked the room I had in the Cedar Lodge section better than other locations. I have always enjoye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 day stay at the lodge and were so glad to arrive after a very long journey from Las Vegas. The room was comfortable with a good shower and a nice balcony. The facilities at the lodge were great - a choice of restaurants from cheap and cheerful to fine dining. I loved the swimming pool - it is massive and there is lane swimming if you want to work off some of the calories when it is too hot to walk! It is surrounded by spectacular scenery and was never overcrowded. We walked and hired cycles at the lodge which was easy (plenty of bikes for all). It was great to be in the park early in the morning as it was very crowded by lunchtime. Didn't see any bears but loved the little chipmunks and the beautiful blue feathered birds. If you are driving in the entrance from the East, it is a 90 minute drive to get to the lodge from there - so don't think you've arrived when you get in the gate!! Obviously it is a very scenic 90 minutes so don't worry. Would loved to have stayed longer as very relaxing.

Room Tip: I would ask for a view to the back over the park and on the first floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanwern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped here overnight on our way from San Francisco to Las Vegas. Our room was basic and a typical lodge in the national park, but ideal for sleeping in. We had a lovely view outside of our room towards one of the large water falls- although it was dry due to the drought.

We ate at the food court, which was ok, nothing special. Food did us for the night but wouldn't have liked to have eaten that for longer.

Check in is easy and the location of the lodge is pretty good for exploring the park. Wild stop here again if on a one night stop over.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MacyGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great location right in the centre of the valley, so can't beat the access to all of the hikes/walks.
My booking was on a B&B rate, but the breakfast at the restaurant/canteen (!) across the road was pretty horrible.

The rooms are ok, very motel like, though much nicer. They are getting pretty tired looking in many cases, so a refurbishment does appear to be underway in some of the room blocks/buildings.

Can't beat the location and a much more reasonable price than The Ahwahnee along the road.

Room Tip: Many different room blocks - see if you can get one of the rooms in a refurbished block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tahirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed a few nights at the Lodge, which was a few nights too few.

The lodge rooms were perhaps getting a little tired, but we're all part of the charm of Yosemite, and unlike camping there, you don't have to use bear lockers.

The lodge is surrounded by wildlife. We had an upstairs room, and there were a few visitors on our balcony. ;-)

The complex is good, and there's evening events and tours that go from the Lodge, with a free shuttle bus stop there too.

The only downsides we found was that the food court was pricey for the food they served, and internet was slow but not surprising given the location and number of visitors.

Would recommend and stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
16.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
10.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Valley Lodge

Property: Yosemite Valley Lodge
Address: 9006 Yosemite Lodge Dr, P.O. Box 578, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Yosemite Lodge At The Falls)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Valley Lodge is a favorite choice for families and large groups. Its close proximity to Yosemite Falls makes it the perfect base camp for exploring Yosemite National Park. Its glass and wood architecture work in unity with the surroundings and the ample windows allow in the bright mountain sunshine while providing remarkable views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Yosemite Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lodge At The Falls
Yosemite Hotel National Park
Yosemite Lodge Falls
Yosemite Ca
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite Hotel At The Falls
Lodge Reservation Yosemite
Lodge Yosemite
Yosemite Lodge Hotel
Yosemite Falls Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing