We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rush Creek Lodge(Groveland)
US$441
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lake View Lodge(Lee Vining)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
June Lake Villager(June Lake)(Great Value!)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
June Lake Motel(June Lake)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozy Bear Cottages(Yosemite National Park)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,772)
Filter reviews
2,772 results
Traveller rating
1,280
821
366
198
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,280
821
366
198
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomclassic roommezzanine levelthe cottagessweet shopgreat loungepublic roomsdress codebucket listbracebridge dinneronce in a lifetimedinner reservationsthe main hotelcommon areasfour seasonsview of half domecorner room
Filter
Updating list...
1,720 - 1,725 of 2,772 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

What an amazing find by chance. We had planned to go to Yosemite but with the fires and government closures we extended stays at San Francisco and Las Vegas, with the reality of probably bypassing this wonderful National park. Thank goodness we soldiered on. We had the most breathtaking views driving into the park on Hwy 120. We hadn't booked anywhere to stay and we came across the Ahwahnee mid afternoon and chanced a room. We were pleasantly surprised the room was greatly discounted probably due to the many cancellations they had, due to the aforementioned problems. We explored the hotel for the remainder of the afternoon, the grandeur of this hotel was something to be seen. We did have to wait to be seated in the Grand dining room, but we took advantage of the log fires in the sitting rooms, and our meal was worth the wait. We were advised there was a storm coming in and there could possibly be snow in the morning. We had a small balcony off our room and we were up early to check for snow. No snow! Off we went for breakfast and it was drizzling with rain, but of course the hotel was nice and cozy. Straight after breakfast we went to find out from the concierge what would be the best things to do for our 4 hour stay. Just about to leave and down came the snow thick and fast, the concierge found us and advised that we should leave the park straight away as our rental had not come equipped the chains. The road we came in on was already shut and our exit road was being closed as we packing. So we took the All Year Road 41 out. My partner and my grand-daughter had never seen snow, so it was very exciting for them both to see the first snow of the season. All I know if we are ever back in this part of the United States we will be visiting Yosemite and The Ahwahnee again.

Room Tip: Not sure how many rooms have balconies, but ours was huge.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueBrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

First of all there is the setting...the Yosemite Valley may be one of the most spectacular places on earth. Then there is the majestic building itself with soaring ceilings, historic touches and breathtaking views. Finally there is the well trained, friendly staff always available to answer a question. It is always booked and is clearly a gem....but like all fine old things it needs regular polishing.
What a shame to have sheets with holes and tubs with grime. At $480 per night one would demand better any where else.
Yes, the Ahwahnee is still wonderful. However, housekeeping should take more pride in this national treasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderingwidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Grand old hotel full of charm and majestic spaces. Huge fireplace in the Great Lounge is a wonderful spot to relax with a book or a coffee or tea. And the solarium is a magical space to view the breathtaking nature of Yosemite. The gift shop has interesting hand made items ideal for gifts. And the dining room may be the crowing glory of the hotel. If you can snag the Queen's Table you are in for a treat and the best view in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamTHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Well, all round this was good fun. The hotel is just as it is described - a bit of a blast from the past. The public rooms are as I hoped they would be - visionary for the time they were constructed and probably the last word in luxury for the day - and still beautiful. They are really quite splendid and I enjoyed experiencing the lovely decorative touches of fine rugs on the floor and Kilim upholstery for old chairs and sofas. Altogether a very good start for our stay.

The problem is, we've all moved on a bit as far as personal spaces are concerned. We stayed in a "Classic" room, with breakfast, for about $500 a night. Not cheap, so our expectations were high. There is still the same old world feel but it doesn't work well when you can hear everything going on in adjacent rooms and the shower is inside the bath with a shower screen of cloth and plastic. All bathroom services are audible from the floor above and the rooms alongside.

I imagine it is difficult to meet contemporary big-city standards when everything has to be shipped-in from afar and the hotel, built in 1927, is in the the most pristine and beautiful "wilderness" in the US. However, the rooms (and the insulation) could do with an upgrade.

We had a bed and breakfast package, which I would recommend, but the hotel's management of "what is included, and what is out" is inconsistent across the staff from day to day. Our example is that expresso coffee is included with some wait staff (one cup per person) but the next day, expresso is an extra, until our protests had the Manager wipe the additional charges. Otherwise breakfast is excellent. Dinner is also, although the meal sizes are mostly too big.

The hotel reception staff were always fully occupied when we wanted to ask them questions or clarify an issue. Especially for dinner reservations. The same person takes all phone enquiries and also does personal requests from guests. She was unavailable when we walked up to her position with a request. Once we waited 10 minutes whist she dealt with the details of an telephone inquiry. Not her fault - it's a hotel function not being managed effectively.

Dinner gets booked out quickly, so make dinner reservations for the time you want - for every night you stay and then if you change your mind on the day, just cancel. It's too hard any other way, especially as they were packed each night (in November!).

We loved the Park, enjoyed the hotel, mostly, but felt that some services were being provided by amateurs when the rest of the world has become professional.

Perhaps this is the charm of the place, but I didn't really enjoy my neighbour's conversation all evening.

Room Tip: Dinner gets booked out quickly, so make dinner reservations for the time you want - for every night you stay and then if you change your mind on the day, just cancel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airedale-Burradoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I decided to do something different for our 30th wedding anniversary. Neither of us have been to Yosemite, so we thought we'd give it a whirl. This hotel reminded me of hotels from the past in the vain of The Lake Placid Club of old or Lake Mohonk. Just my style! When we arrived the concierge helpfully mapped out our afternoon which included a late lunch al fresco in the park followed by an orientation film and exhibit. We then took a 2 mile hike which landed us back at The Ahwahnee just in time for tea in the Great Hall. The fire was roaring while we were entertained by a wonderful pianist on one of the hotel's grand pianos. We had dinner in the beautiful dining room which twinkled in candlelight. The food, service, and yes another pianist were wonderful.

Room Tip: If you want a huge shared balcony with a view of El Capitan and Half Dome, then room 502 is the room for you. The room is small, but the balcony is spectacular.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merryleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews