We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Price Beauty?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a fabulous hotel in one of the most beautiful settings imaginable. The building has historical significance itself, with concrete and brick disguised to look like timber to reduce fire vulnerability. There are mountains surrounding the hotel in the valley, and your neck will hurt with all the looking up at sheer rock walls around you.
The hotel is very pricey, but the very best available. The rooms are adequate size and well enough appointed. Wi-Fi is slow. The main Dining Room is beautiful and the food is first class. So to are the prices. There is also an in house cafe with heavy prices.
In all regards you are paying a premium for everything because demand exceeds availability. Bookings run a year ahead.
BUT...the place and the location is spectacular! If you can plan far enough ahead to get in, this is one of those places that is worth the
extra bucks because of its' uniqueness.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank PDX2DOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,629)
There are newer reviews for The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,366 - 1,372 of 2,629 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed for three nights in July 2014. A fantastic location which can't be faulted. Free parking on site.

The hotel is extremely expensive and I'm not sure I'd recommend it purely because of that. Or two nights might be better (we came from San Francisco, about 5 hrs drive and then went on to Vegas, but stopped overnight in Bishop, about 6 hours drive with a stop at Mono Lake).

The hotel restaurant was first rate but breakfast was (a lot) extra.

A few observations:
- rooms are quite dated
- some room linen was dirty; not filthy just dated and worn
- bathroom had obvious damp
- some staff uniforms in restaurant were filthy

We also had quite a lot of trouble with getting the hotel to speak to Lastminute.com to sort out a booking amendment.

Overall it's a decent hotel in a superlative location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We loved our stay at the Ahwahnee. It is truly one of the greatest locations in the world for a hotel. The history of this place is fascinating and makes it a very special place. The staff are attentive, kind and helpful. However, the hotel needs some work in some important areas. The rooms are small but adequate and comfortable. A bit expensive for what you get, but certainly you are largely paying for the location and the service and you really don't spend much time in your room anyway. Air conditioning barely cools the room no matter how much you turn it up and should be updated. It is an antiquated system. Water pressure in the shower is sub par. The food in the historic main dining room is quite poor considering the extremely high prices they charge for it. However the service in the dining room is excellent. The grounds are beautiful and having bears and deer stroll right up to you outside the hotel is amazing. Parking is free and easy. Overall I would recommend the Ahwahnee, especially if you want to stay on the Valley floor. Not the best bang for your buck but who cares when you are staying at the foot of Yosemite Falls in one of the most beautiful places on earth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the falls.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I know it is expensive, but stay 1 or 2 nights here if you can while you are in Yosemite. It is a spectacular old lodge with amazing views, service, and amenities. You can spend a day just admiring the architecture, art work, and unique furnishings throughout the place. I know that you come to Yosemite to enjoy the outdoors, but believe me you will enjoy having stayed here. And the dining room will remind the kids of Hogwarts with all the candles - quite expensive but a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vince41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Ahwahnee is a must-see if you're in the Yosemite Valley. Great architecture from the days of the grand old hotels. While it is pricey, you can still wander around the downstairs, visit the gift shop, and eat in the dining room if you are not staying there. Sunday brunch is great (reservation needed), and the views can't be beat.

The rooms are nice, though not luxurious. The decor is rustic-chic. All of the usual amenities. The cottages out back are nice if you like to have an outdoor area that is semi-private. They include a small table and chairs and are close to the river. Deer wander around outside the window.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WickedThistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Never-to-be-forgotten! We'd never stayed before, but we were given an excellent welcome when we checked in, and were shown to our large, beautifully-furnished and very comfortable room with fabulous views out into the canyon. Afternoon tea in the amazing lounge with a pianist playing was another delight. The dining room is stunning, and the service and food good enough to match it. If I have to be picky, I'd say that the A/C can be a bit insensitive, but that it didn't spoil our enjoyment. The whole hotel is highly historic and has a large number of public rooms. Although it was full, there was always plenty of space and we never felt rushed or crowded.
They've pulled of a great trick here in providing top-class service and food standards without it ever feeling stuffy or intimidating. Our view was that we wanted somewhere special and we found it. Excellence never comes cheap, but it's a real pleasure when it's promised and delivered, as it was here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johnwiththewind47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was a beautiful place but very expensive. I had no idea there were complementary cocktails, a pool or a fitness room. Staff checking in could have done a better job describing amenities.
Dinner in the dining room was fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neztie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
1.3 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,863 reviews
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
17.4 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,151 reviews
18.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
19.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: £436 - £705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Majestic Yosemite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing