We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Dame of Lodges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Grand Dame of Lodges”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have stayed at Old Faithful Inn at Yellowstone and Many Glacier Lodge in Glacier National Park and they have nothing on The Ahwahnee. What a Grand Ole Dame! Beautiful architecture and design throughout with log and rock exterior, beautiful native American design interior with several large rock fireplaces. Views of the granite walls surrounding the Yosemite Valley and watched a couple of rock climbers from the Ahwahnee patio deck. Enjoyed wonderful pork tacos and Boysenberry Pie at the Ahwahnee bar! Deer and spotted fawns grazed on the lawn and walking distances to hike the Merced River and a nice swimming hole. We were extra blessed to stay in a King Bed Room #419 which was one of the few rooms with air conditioning and a great view as well although no deck. We had a wonderful breakfast buffet in the gorgeous Dining room but cancelled our dinner reservation because we thought having to wear a dress and collared shirt at a lodge in Yosemite after a day in the beautiful outdoors was simply ridiculous and not what you come here for. Too bad because I understand that the chef fixes splendid meals with local ingredients.

Room Tip: Ask for Room#419 which is on the end of the hall and has air conditioning which is a rarity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationerGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    747
    326
    181
    101
See reviews for
781
1,227
38
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York State
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights. From the moment we checked in, until we checked out, we loved it! It is rustic and at the same time elegant. You feel the history as you walk through the building.

We had a great corner room with beautiful views, a lovely tiled bathroom, and a huge walk in closet. It was very clean and well maintained.

Sitting In the Great Room for afternoon tea and listening to the piano music was such a treat. We took the tour of the building and grounds one afternoon and it was very interesting and well worth the time.

Lastly, the staff was very professional, courteous, pleasant and helpful. Really a perfect stay from start to finish!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripleDeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Majestic Yosemite Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear TripleDeckers

I am so glad to read that you had a perfect stay with us when you visited Yosemite. I greatly appreciate your "rustic and at the same time elegant" comment as that is what I feel The Ahwahnee is all about.

I will be sure to share with the staff that you found them professional, courteous, pleasant, and helpful.

Don't be a stranger; we hope to be able to take care of you in the future.

All the best,

Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The location in the forest was an amazing part of the Yosemite experience. In the river near the cottage, you have an amazing view of Half-Dome. The room was neat and spacious with adequate furnishings. Overall, this hotel was a great place to stay and relax in the Yosemite forest.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Unfortunately the hotel was full, but we decided to go there for having a dinner (2 families, 5 teens..). I was very curious to live a food experience in one of the most loved place of Steve Jobs (I met managers of Apple few days before for business reasons and they told me how good was this place..) and... Tables were available but the dress style of 3 of our kids was not in line with the standard code. Ok, no prob, we will go to our hotel to change them and will be back in 10 minutes, we replied.. Not possible due to the closure of the kitchen in 15 minutes.. Who can ensure me that you will be here within 10 minutes? Ok, without losing our patience we proposed to seat immediately 5 of us ordering for everybody... No way: the lady continued to repeat that it was impossible without giving any rationale and insisting that the snack bar was open for us. Why ? We don't know; but if this is the attitude and the professionalism of the front desk of a place represent its quality and culture... I have never been treated in this way during many years of travelling!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paloma47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Yes, the Ahwahnee is expensive. But if you can do it, it is a great location in the heart of Yosemite with trails and views just out the door. Despite the central location and easy access to trails and the shuttle, the property is pretty quiet, especially in the evenings. The lobby is pretty busy in the day because the hotel itself is a destination. This was a family (two teens) vacation and we stayed in one of the cabins. While there was only one bad, the fold away couch and the trundle bed provided ample space for the four of us. It was nice to have a pool for afternoon swims. The concierge was busy but helpful and the restaurant is not to be missed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrigleydog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is brilliantly located and beautiful on the exterior. Inside it needs refreshment. Rooms are comfortable but a little dark and old. Bathrooms are old fashioned and just plain old. The Ahwanhee dinning room is a spectacular and and beautiful room. Except for the dining room, the interior of the space needs a fixing up. It's OK, but a touch dingier than one expects at $500/night. That said, you can't beat it's location in Yosemite.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPK-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GnrlMgr, General Manager at The Majestic Yosemite Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Good morning DPK-NY

Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit. I am disappointed to read that you felt that the rooms and bathrooms were "just plain old" and "old fashioned" and the hotel was "dingier" than you would expect for $500/night.

I am hoping you might be able to clarify "dingier." Did you experience cleanliness issues? If so, that isn't acceptable and I would love to get more details about that. If you felt that the decor was outdated, the National Park Service, who owns the building, requests that we use the "period of historical significance " which is 1925 to 1942 as guidance in our interior design. I can appreciate that at our price point, one might expect more modern touches and luxurious opulence rather than the rustic elegance for which we strive. I am sorry if we didn't meet your expectations.

Kind regards,

Brett Archer, General Manager
The Ahwahnee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Hotel has great history but in 2014 there is no reason to not have air conditioning in the rooms. We couldn't get the room cooled with the "McQuay Season Maker". Rooms small as expected but no reason they couldn't get Air Conditioning up to the expectations of travelers paying $500 plus per night.
We won't be back to lodge. I heard the cabins are a better choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
17.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
16.4 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
17.4 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
19.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
11.4 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Yosemite Hotel

Property: The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
Address: 9005 Ahwahnee Drive, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly The Ahwahnee)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Yosemite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel shines as Yosemite National Park's distinctive AAA(R) Four-Diamond hotel. Known for its magnificent façade and architecture, The Majestic Yosemite Hotel was specially designed to highlight its natural surroundings, which include Yosemite Falls, Half Dome, and Glacier Point. The destination of queens and presidents alike, this distinctive Yosemite hotel offers a perfect balance of history, hospitality, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Yosemite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Yosemite National Park
Ahwahnee Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing