We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camping for grownups” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuolumne Meadows Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tuolumne Meadows Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Camping for grownups”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This isn't technically a "lodge." You'll stay in one of about 60 cabins with tents for ceilings and walls, on a raised concrete platform. There's enough space between cabins that you're not right on top of your neighbors. Our had 2 twin beds and one double bed - there are different bedding configurations.
Overall it was a really fun experience - making the fire in our wooden stove, watching the stars at night, and of course the hikes in the area are some of the best in Yosemite! The location is really nice - next to a river and away from the main road.The staff was friendly and helpful.
The showers were quite basic, and small.
The only downside was a long wait for dinner (even though we had a reservation), and their mandatory policy of seating you at large round tables with strangers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfh310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    76
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
81
58
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

First trip to Tuolumne Meadows to stay at the lodge this season. Early open due to scant snow year. Took two friends who had never been to T Meadows & they were beyond thrilled. Loved our cozy tent cabin with pot belly stove to warm us after Day 1 hike to Cathedral Lakes saw temps plummet from early warm weather & clear skies & finished with lightening, thunder & SNOW!
Lodge staff very welcoming & got us through check in to our cozy tent quickly. Delicious dinner - thank you Zak & Zach & whomever was the cook. As usual met fellow hikers from across the US & world really.
If you haven't visited this beautiful, much less crowded part of Yosemite - calendar it NOW & get going. Incredible place - perfect semi rustic w/ necessary creature comforts for home base.

Room Tip: Don't want to spoil it for my next visit, but I like the tents in proximity to Cascades - the 60...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BikeSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Tuolumne Meadows Lodge is a collection of canvas tent cabins, located in a flat, shady corner of the massive meadow and right along side the beautiful Dana Fork of the Tuolumne River. The tents have comfortable bed frames with mattresses and warm wool blankets, a shelf or two to store your lantern and bath kit, and a wood stove for chilly nights. The screen doors on the tent cabins creak just right when they're opened and closed, and though you can hear your neighbor's laughter and conversation through your tent's canvas walls, all grows quiet with nightfall. After dinner, a big campfire is lit outside and many visitors gather to take in the serenity and warmth (it gets chilly at this elevation even in the middle of summer). The office/store/restaurant has electricity and will generally let you power up your electronic devices there. If you are planning to hike the High Sierra, this is the perfect transition spot for a night before and after. If you just want to spend a day or two visiting Yosemite's high country, TML will give you a very comfortable, safe, away-from-civilization feeling and let you stretch your legs on trails without the crowds of the lower valley. Warning for families with very small children, unstable balance or elderly: most (all?) cabins have steeper concrete steps up to the door and terrain in the area is uneven, though most paths in the lodge area are paved. Use common sense and caution. Keep your valuables at home or locked out of sight in your car; all food must go in the common-use bear boxes.

Room Tip: If you arrive early, ask for a tent close to the water. You'll fall asleep to the sound of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chip004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My first experience of the High Sierra camps was 35 years ago at Tuolumne Meadows Lodge and I have returned many times since then and I have enjoyed every visit. My most recent visit was Sep 10-12, 2013.

The Tuolumne Meadows Lodge is ideally located for anyone who wants to explore the Yosemite high country. The lodge is accessible by car from the Tioga Pass road and is located on the Dana Fork of the Tuolumne river. The accommodations are rustic but comfortable and in keeping with the wild setting. Tent cabins with wood burning stoves and no electricity are the only accommodations. Visitors who desire more amenities would likelier be happier lodging in Yosemite Valley. The lodge serves family style breakfast and dinners and the food is good but not exceptional. That said we have looked forward to our meals at the lodge, as the experience of sharing stories and experiences with our fellow table mates is always memorable part of the stay. The best reason to stay at Tuolumne Meadows Lodge is beautiful scenery of Tuolumne meadows, the Cathedral range peaks, and the many hiking options available.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in a tent cabin the night before and the night after an overnight backpacking trip. Each cabin has either four single beds, or two singles and one double. No electricity, no running water. You get a solar-rechargeable lantern, and a wood-burning stove. Both nights we had to get extra wood from the front desk to last the night. The cabin worked fine for our family of four. You must be prepared to store all your food and toiletries in the bear-proof shared lockers, which can be a bit of a logistical hassle. Can't beat the location and setting. The staff is quirky but helpful. It is a very communal experience overall. No locks on the cabins, shared lockers, shared tables in the dining room, shared bathrooms, cabins close enough to hear neighbors' conversations. Fortunately, the people who stay here seem friendly and embrace the setting so it was a lot of fun for us. I do wish the showers were a bit nicer and cleaner. The kids loved the communal campfire and the river that runs next to the lodge. In sum, for those interested in a rustic and communal experience with easy access to the high country trails, this is a wonderful place to stay . If they cleaned up the bathrooms, they would get four stars. For those who seek more comfortable and private accomodations, I would recommend heading to Tioga Pass or Lee Vining, which are not that far away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CubsFanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

It will get stolen. If you leave for the day - which you will since you want to see the area - lock EVERYTHING of value in your car. There are no locks on the doors and the helpful staff will help themselves to your things.

Room Tip: Stay on the east side of the park in a motel in Lee Vining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 616RegularTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Four of us stayed here at the beginning and end of our ranger-led High Sierra Loop Hike during the Rim Fire. Of course it's not a "lodge" in most folks' perceptions of what a lodge should be, but it sure felt like a 4-star hotel by the time we returned from our hike and snuggled into clean white sheets in our tent after a hot shower. As other reviewers have noted, it does get chilly at night and a fire in the stove helps a lot. We asked for and received a few extra logs to get us through the night. Not sure this was normal procedure but since the lodge was about half empty due to the fire, there was plenty extra of everything. Yes, restaurant food was pricey and decent, but not great. (We actually had much better meals at the High Sierra camps, where everything must be trucked in by mules. Go figger.) Still, the lodge makes a great base camp for day hikes or for setting off to Vogelsang or Glen Aulin. We loved the High Sierras, especially Vogelsang, and hope one day to return for more hiking!

Room Tip: Hmm. It looked as if some of the higher numbered tents might be closer to a babbling brook--which c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwenner2941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
13.9 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
15.1 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,631 reviews
27.8 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
14.2 mi away
Half Dome Village
Half Dome Village
#2 of 25 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,617 reviews
14.4 mi away
Housekeeping Camp
Housekeeping Camp
#1 of 25 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuolumne Meadows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuolumne Meadows Lodge

Property: Tuolumne Meadows Lodge
Address: Tioga Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabins of Tuolumne Meadows are located 60 miles from Yosemite Valley at over 8,700 feet above sea level. Here, you'll find 69 canvas-tent cabins that are available from mid-June to mid-September, conditions permitting. Situated next to a picturesque meadow, it's the perfect place to settle in after hiking in Yosemite-or before embarking on an extended backpacking trip. You'll find the Cabins of Tuolumne Meadows on Tioga Road, near the Park's eastern entrance on Highway 120 East. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tuolumne Meadows Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing