We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely place that matches the lovely owners”
welcome to D&E Digs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
welcome to D&E Digs
Large bedroom with queen-size Tempurpedic Full vintage kitchen for 'eating in'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
welcome to D&E Digs
Large bedroom with queen-size Tempurpedic
Full vintage kitchen for 'eating in'
Spacious living room area...just sit back and relax
Very clean bathroom...
Private deck with dining area.
Relax in the gazebo with a glass of wine....
Deer grazing the meadow.
Stroll through one of our many gardens...
The view from your deck after a light snowfall.
sit next to a warm fire and enjoy the night skies....
Nearby Lake...
Redbud Trees bloom in early spring...
Dogwood Trees in the fall...
Hike along the Merced River surrounded by poppies.
Winter in Yosemite!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
km22_12
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A lovely place that matches the lovely owners”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spent 4 nights at D&E digs, using it as a base to explore Yosemite.
The location is lovely and peaceful, and within 2 hours driving you can access many of Yosemite's famous sights and hikes. There is a big supermarket 20 minutes away and plenty of little restaurants within half an hour if you want to eat out.
The accommodation is fairly old-fashioned but just what we needed: very comfortable and clean. It was extremely hot when we were there, but the little AC unit and fans just about kept us cool!
We enjoyed grilling, eating our meals outside and strolling along the lane in the evening. We even fed some apples to the horses!
What really makes this place special however is Donna and Eric. They are kind, interesting people and they went out of their way to make us feel at home. Donna's instructions for how to get there were so thorough they reduced all the stress from our long journey. We arrived to a basket of fruit and muffins, and cold beers in the fridge.
While we were there they were very sadly undergoing tree cutting due to the drought in the area. This meant there was quite a lot of noise a couple of mornings. They were incredibly apologetic and Eric came over with a bottle of wine to apologise, which was really beyond what he had to do!
I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys meeting interesting people when they travel and who wants a homely base to come back to after a long day exploring Yosemite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chatting with Donna and Eric, grilling outside
Liked least: Not having proper AC in the summer made things a little uncomfortable at times
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apryer201...
DeKalb, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I stayed at D&E Digs for our honeymoon trip to Yosemite. We could not have asked for a better place!! The couple that own the place were super nice and accommodating yet gave us plenty of privacy. Although we didn't spend much time in the cabin, had everything we needed...fully equipped kitchen, Wi-Fi, a COMFY bed, shower, satellite TV, and less than an hour drive to the valley. We wouldn't stay anywhere else when we go back to that magical park!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the kitchen had everthing we needed. They even left us a fruit basket!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson...
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended spot to use as a base camp for exploring Yosemite”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My fiance and I had a wonderful time at D&E digs - Donna was very friendly and had a small fruit & muffin basket waiting for us upon arrival to the warm, cozy cottage. The cottage is a 15-20 minute drive to Mariposa, Ahwahnee, and Oakhurst where you can get great meals (check out the Hitching Post for burgers!), groceries, and anything else you need; there's also a small gas station and cafe just down the road to start the day off right. Depending on the park entrance, Yosemite is about 45-60 minutes away with pretty much any route being scenic - make sure to get there early for an out-of-this-world sunrise. We stayed in November when Glacier Point Road and Tioga Pass Road were closed, and would absolutely return in the summer and stay again at D&E Digs. Come see one of our great national parks and have a relaxing home base to return to at the end of each day!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beviec
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Peaceful sleepover”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Donna was a lovely host. We arrived quite late but she was very friendly and welcoming, and even went and got us a beer. Although the cottage looks quaint it's very well equipped. Plenty space to chill out. The bed was comfortable, linens were of nice quality too.
We were given a recommendation for food which was not too far away at 'Hitching post' which served us well.
The location was easy to find and the local market adjacent to the petrol station was well equipped.
Donna had left us fruit and a muffin which was welcome as we had no food with us.
It's in a rural location and we would have liked to explore but we had travel deadlines.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam_in...
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy comfort and deep relaxation near one of America's Jewels”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage itself is very comfortable and conveniently located near the Yosemite National Park. If you enjoy a fun and windy drive to the Park and excellent restaurants, rent this cottage. The bed is super comfortable. The owners are friendly and helpful, yet unobtrusive. I did not use the pool, but it looked refreshing.

The reviews ask if I would recommend for folks with disabilities. Depending on the disability, it could be fine. I have muscular dystrophy, and could manage the three steps at the front door and the bathroom was fine. The gas stove requires lighting, which was a bit of a challenge given the type of lighter, but manageable for me. If you have specific questions, ask Donna and she will be up front with you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and quiet.
Liked least: It was a bit smoky due to wildfires in the region.
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather B
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Genuine rural bliss”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at D&E for two nights, using it as our base for exploring Yosemite. It exceeded our expectations.

Donna and Eric are extremely kind and thoughtful. Donna and I had been in email contact before our stay and she knew we were planning to spend the day in the park before arriving at D&E Digs. I was very surprised to receive an email from Donna on the morning of our trip warning us that the gate we were planning to use to access the park was closed because of a landslide. It was so kind of her to let us know as it saved us about 90 minutes of driving.

When we arrived at D&E Digs we were met by Donna and shown around the cabin. The photos don't do it justice. The place is old fashioned, as you can tell from the photos, but not in a ‘we-haven’t-bothered-to-update-it’ way. It’s old fashioned in a ‘this-is-the-original-kitchen’ kind of way, which means it is totally charming and vintage and lovely. (and the wifi worked perfectly).

When we arrived, there was a bowl of fresh fruit and some muffins and Eric brought over a couple of beers. Other than that they left us to ourselves, so we could enjoy the peaceful surroundings. They have dogs, and we told them we are dog people, so they let the dogs wander around freely. However, if we weren’t dog people, I don't think they would have let the dogs out.

We took the apples down to the paddock across the street (Eric suggested this) and fed them to the two ridiculous ponies. Then we had a bbq and went to bed. The bed was very comfortable, although we got bitten by mosquitoes a few times so we would recommend using the coil or repellant.

(also note that we had no cell phone reception when we were there)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom_m_ric...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Yosemite getaway”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I booked to stay at Donna and Eric ' s place as part of our honeymoon tour.
After a hot drive from San Francisco this was an ideal cool mountain spot to unwind.
We were greeted my the most warm, friendly and interesting couple you'll ever meet. Eric shared lots of fascinating stories about his career in music and film.
The cottage had bundles of charm with an orginal period kitchen and suited our needs in every way.
In the evening there is the option to have a bbq and drink a cold beer under the stars.
Would wholeheartedly recommend D&E digs to any couple passing through Yosemite who wish to do some hiking or just soak up the serenity of the forest.

Thanks Donna & Eric, wish we had longer! Next time eh?!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing