We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome cabin - cozy, provisioned, roomy”
Living room with stone fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with stone fireplace
Authentic Log Home in Yosemite West
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
11 reviews
Living room with stone fireplace
Authentic Log Home in Yosemite West
Fully equipped kitchen
Queen Bedroom
Queen Bedroom
Bedroom with queen & twin bes
Bedroom with queen & twin beds
Patio with charcoal grill
The Log Home in Yosemite West
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
aelior
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome cabin - cozy, provisioned, roomy”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin was beautiful, charming, well provisioned. The children had a wonderful time and so did we. it's a 30 min driver to Yosemite valley.
Points too improve:
1. there was a power outage, which left us with no way to heat the cabin (there was a fireplace, but no wood), no way to light the cabin and no way to cook food (tough with kids).
The Yosemite West guys provided us with a duralog and some sticklights, but a lot can be improved on that. I would expect at least for emergency light to be available and some firewood (to be used only in such cases - that's fair). A gas cooker or a generator would be even better. I can imagine that getting a serious power outage in a snow storm could be very bad.
Another point - garbage had to be thrown in a special dumpster which iis nowhere near the cabin bu next to the registration office - i.e. drive it in your car everyday to throw it away. why can't a dumpster be provided to the cabin?

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
We are glad you found the Cabin charming and well provisioned. We at Yosemite West take great effort to provide for the comfort of our guests.

The power at Yosemite West is underground and the outage you experienced is very rare. We regret that the outage occurred during
your visit. We will take your suggestions into consideration and thank
you for your Review.

The National Park Service requires the special dumpster due to the
wildlife in the Park and due to restrictions, we are unable to provide
these special dumpsters for each dwelling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope that you will visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marianna...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place, works well for families with kids”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at the Log Home for 3 nights - there were nine of us in total. The house was in good condition when we arrived. Kitchen had everything we needed: coffee maker, toaster, microwave, plenty of dinnerware and plates. Plenty of towels in the bathrooms. No shampoo - so bring your own. Also - while there're 2 bathrooms, there's only 1 shower in the downstairs bathroom - so taking showers after hiking all day took a while for all 9 of us. Overall, a good experience.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_m_001
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great in parts - be clear what you're getting”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Face it - accommodation in Yosemite is pricey. This is more affordable than many but be careful that you might not get all you expected. The house has many rooms but not all will be unlocked for you - you might think you booked 4 or 5 bedrooms but if the rental says 3 then that's how many are unlocked. Also, if you are staying more than the 3 night minimum you might want a washing machine & dryer - I never found any so I guess they're not available.
So if you book this knowing that, it's fine. Yosemite West is about 20 minutes outside the main valley. That eats up a bit of time and gas each day. Many YW properties are surrounded by other similar ones, but this one isn't - it's on the edge of the development with steeply sloping forest behind. It's very quiet and you feel as much in the woods as any city-loving English family could want. (If you stay in the valley be prepared for a sensation of being packed into your hotel or campsite).
Parking area is big enough for any car but up a steep slope which our SUV had absolutely no problem with.
We stayed in a heatwave, when the mesh-screened windows needed to be left open to try to keep the temperature down at night. No problems with wildlife or insects! Décor is OK - it's not new but it's fine. Satellite TV doesn't have a huge number of channels but it works. Be aware that in most of the valley there is no cellphone signal or wifi which is fantastic if you want to escape work for a few days - go to the Valley's Deli for wifi.
I'd stay here again but would phone to get the rooms clear (and to ask where to get any washing done).

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vidalu
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Rustic charm , excellent location well maintained”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were a family of 7 ( 3 couples and a baby) . We stayed 2 nights at the log cabin . The reservation was easily made online by my brother who recd a packet with directions to the main cabin ( a different
house in the same area where we were asked to Pick up the keys- very sketchy to no signals in Yosemite ) . We arrived at 11 pm and they very graciously waited for us after we told them the time .

Location - 35 min from the valley and a very easy drive at that . 25 min from glacier point . Glacier point is 50 min from the valley . The cabin is located in the middle which was fantastic as sunset at glacier point is the thing to see along with star gazing . This way you can do the valley , head back to the cabin and then set out later to glacier point .

Cleanliness - the housekeepers did a very good job with the cabin . Both the 1st floor kitchen and bedrooms upstairs were done up nicely . Adequate linen was present . We went in summer so I cannot comment on what linen is provided in winter .

Amenities - 3 bedroom 2 bath house . The master on the 1st floor has an attached bath . All bedrooms were spacious enough and one of the upstairs bedrooms had a queen and a single bed as well .
Kitchen cutlery and pots were more than adequate . Dishwasher and microwave and oven present . Soaps towels Are provided . This is not a big deal but maybe they could put a jar of sugar along with the salt and pepper . We brought coffee etc but forgot the sugar and went out knocking on the door of a nearby b&b asking for sugar

Tv provided along with some DVDs and if you want you can check out the DVDs in the main rental cabin where the keys are returned / picked up . Free rental of the DVDs .

There is a very nice little outdoor table with lanterns provided at the back which feels nice and private and makes for a great spot for family to sit and eat in the evening if it is not too chilly .


Cons - very few but the ones which we found were :-
1 . The bathroom upstairs ( shared one ) did not have a shower head . This was the only major neg we had if any . We all shared the bathroom downstairs at bath time which can prolong things a bit. If any of the closed off rooms in the house are bathrooms it might be a good idea to open that for guests if it has a shower head .

2. The garbage once gathered up needs to be disposed in a dumpster beside the main rental cabin . So we had to drive to the dumpster with the garbage in the boot . This was really not a big deal . If staying with a larger family or longer make sure you make a trip in the evening to get rid of the garbage .

3. The driveway can potentially be an issue in winter . Very steep . It fit both our cars well enough and was fine for us . I can imagine it would be icy and (maybe) dangerous to navigate in winter

Overall - would highly recommend this place for a nice summer stay with family . Perfect location away from the valley but not too far . Clean with all amenities . Oh and did I mention ... The one thing we loved was the rustic feel . The log cabin and the decor put us in the "Yosemite spirit ". It made is feel right away that we were in the national park as opposed to something with a completely modern decor . After all what we need are the modern amenities .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lompoc CA
Reviewed 27 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Dec 2012
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay. You can also borrow DVDs from the Registrar at Yosemite West (no charge). And you're right; we do recommend parking on the bottom portion of the driveway in winter and using the stairs there for access. In summer, you can drive all the way to the top. Looking forward to your return visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing