We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Picture perfect way to relax in quite beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Stairway to Private and Romantic Penthouse Loft
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stairway to Private and Romantic Penthouse Loft
Beautiful Fall colors Romantic Mtn Retreat Balcony and Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
142 reviews
Stairway to Private and Romantic Penthouse Loft
Beautiful Fall colors
Romantic Mtn Retreat Balcony and Pool Area
A drone shot of the property taken by a previous guest
Studio as seen from entry sliding patio door
View from entry patio door
View from comfortable sofa
View of studio from sofa
Large and very comfortable studio with TV,  Fireplace and Dinning Table
View of  well appointed kitchenette
Super comfortable Queen Bed and Large Armoire
View from Kitchen area
Living / Dinning Room Area
TV  and Fireplace Area
Picnic Area as viewed from upstairs deck area
Picnic and BBQ Area
Enjoy a Relaxing Aftenoon Float!
Firepit and Pool Area
Local Traffic
Wine and Sunsets, the Perfect Pairing!
Nearby Angel Falls
Just the right amount of snow!
Picnicing / Fishing / Kyaking on Lake 2 miles from home
Hiking the High Country in Yosemite
Tunnel View, a view not to be missed or forgotten
Something for Everyone
Ponder the Yonder
Visit the Woodpecker Tree
The End Of The Rainbow Is Here
Local Air Traffic
Half Dome as viewed from Glacier Point
Historic 'Overhang Ledge' @ Glacier Point
View from Picnic Area
View from Pool Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 142 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Swedish first
Any
English first
carlosfan...
Lincs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Picture perfect way to relax in quite beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 14 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this magnificent apartment for 3 nights whilst we explored Yosemite National Park and we could not have asked for a better apartment, host (Bob) or surroundings.

Having driven several hours from San Francisco we were greeted by Bob who was waitng outside for us and who could not have been more helpful, accomodating and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for him.

Bob quite literally hand built his home and this apartment and choose a location with spectacular views, it was a joy to return to after a long day trekking through Yosemite. Deer, hummingbirds, bluejays all make regular appearances during the morning and night.

We were bowled over by the lengths Bob had gone to, not only with furnishing the apartment but all the brilliant small touches, such as a travel pack for Yosemite National Park, previous guests experiences comments book, cooler box, hair dryer, complimentary bottle of wine and beers in the fridge, Wifi, Netflix movies just to name but a few.

Based just outside of North Fork (Centre of California) you are about 55miles from the centre of Yosemite (Mariposa Grove 40miles, Glacier Point 55miles & Tioga Pass 55-120miles) this will take around 90mins to drive along some of the most spectacular mountain roads anywhere in the world with incredible views, so have your camera at your disposal. Bass lake if you like fishing, water sports and eating at nice restaurants (Dueceys) is just 10miles away.

In terms of value for money compared to hotels inside the park, there is simply no comparison, I would choose Bobs Mountain Retreat every time, it is a fraction of the price with much more to offer.

Had we known this was going to be this special we would've spent several days more here. We can't thank Bob enough for his hospitality and kindness, really made our time here something we will never forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking in the morning and watching the sunrise over the mountains. Apartment was without fault.
Liked least: Could not find fault with any particular aspect of our stay
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noodles40...
Cerritos, California
1 review
“Home away from home.. only better!”
Reviewed 20 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

A great place to stay, far better than staying in a cold hotel environment. Very peaceful, warm and inviting.

Bob, is great! if we hadn't planned on spending the whole day in Yosemite, we would have liked to hung out and have coffee out by the fire pit.

when we plan on revisiting Yosemite we have a home away from home already in mind..

Book early.. don't miss on a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very warm feeling
Liked least: not staying long enough
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarpetta...
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most relaxing stay on our vacation. EXCELLENT Accomodations!!”
Reviewed 17 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Builder Bob could not be friendlier or more attentive to his guests needs. After traveling from San Francisco and spending all day in Yosemite then driving to the rental in the dark of night we were exhausted and famished. Bob, knowing that we had not eaten, insisted on us taking some items in order to create some quick bruschetta (wonderful mixture of spices and veggies Bob!!).
The rental was extremely comfortable and homey. You can tell that Bob took some real time thinking about how to make his guests feel at home. Almost everything you could possibly need, Bob has thought to include. The only thing I did not find was an iron and ironing board. I was very pleasently suprised to find extras like fruit and condiments. All in all we had a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dadwithfa...
tennesee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent host”
Reviewed 2 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

beautiful, clean, pleasant. nice view and fire pit area. grocery near by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nice setting and perks
Liked least: farther from Yosemite than I realized.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 1 April 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sacramento
Reviewed 18 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andy774
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 26 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

We had just visited Vegas at the start of our holiday. It was fantastic. The sheer opulence. Surely this could not be beaten?
We then came to this mountain retreat. Robert met us and the welcome was genuine and warm. We wanted for nothing.
We visited Yosemite in the day. Be aware always check if the roads are open as on the second day with Roberts advice we entered via a different entrance as the other was closed due to snow. Yosemite is awesome and we cannot wait to visit again. At the end of the day we were tired and cold. We found that we looked forward to spending the night at this mountain retreat. It is so warm and cosy. The design is second to none. We snuggled down, chose one of the hundreds of films on offer and enjoyed a glass of Roberts excellent chosen wine. I cannot speak any higher about this place and Robert. I highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing