We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“R & R”
other travellers have booked this property
Stairway to Private and Romantic Penthouse Loft
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stairway to Private and Romantic Penthouse Loft
Beautiful Fall colors Romantic Mtn Retreat Balcony and Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
147 reviews
Stairway to Private and Romantic Penthouse Loft
Beautiful Fall colors
Romantic Mtn Retreat Balcony and Pool Area
A drone shot of the property taken by a previous guest
Studio as seen from entry sliding patio door
View from entry patio door
View from comfortable sofa
View of studio from sofa
Large and very comfortable studio with TV,  Fireplace and Dinning Table
View of  well appointed kitchenette
Super comfortable Queen Bed and Large Armoire
View from Kitchen area
Living / Dinning Room Area
TV  and Fireplace Area
Picnic Area as viewed from upstairs deck area
Picnic and BBQ Area
Enjoy a Relaxing Aftenoon Float!
Firepit and Pool Area
Local Traffic
Wine and Sunsets, the Perfect Pairing!
Nearby Angel Falls
Just the right amount of snow!
Picnicing / Fishing / Kyaking on Lake 2 miles from home
Hiking the High Country in Yosemite
Tunnel View, a view not to be missed or forgotten
Something for Everyone
Ponder the Yonder
Visit the Woodpecker Tree
The End Of The Rainbow Is Here
Local Air Traffic
Half Dome as viewed from Glacier Point
Historic 'Overhang Ledge' @ Glacier Point
View from Picnic Area
View from Pool Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 147 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Paul L
Vancouver, WA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“R & R”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

After visiting the Oregon Coast + No. CA redwoods & wine country Bob's retreat was just what we needed. Small but thoughtfully laid out & appointed studio made a comfortable respite. We especially enjoyed the fresh air provided by a window at the head ofthe bed. Though there was air conditioning the mountain air was so much nicer. Thanks Bob!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Beautiful, serene setting. Felt that it was a good value. A few more cooking utensils would be helpful and I probably needed to read the description better as far as the kitchen and location was concerned. The location is about 35 miles from the Yosemite Valley and 14 miles from Oakhurst which means unless you want to do a lot of driving come prepared for making your meals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet at night
Liked least: How far removed it was from the Yosemite Park/Oakhurst
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcbaker11...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Bob's wonderful home for a couple of nights whilst we explored nearby Yosemite. Accommodation was great,very homely and clean and we felt we could really relax after a busy day. Bob is so nice and helpful and could not do enough, even getting the pool ready as we arrived. The view from the house is amazing. The accommodation is great value and plenty of places to grab food, wine etc nearby. About an hours drive in Yosemite and a further 39 mins to get up to the valley. We discussed a plan with Bob as we were only going for 1 day and he was so helpful and we had a fantastic day. Yosemite is so beautiful and Bob's place is a great place to explore it from. Recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the deck area. Wow
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect way to experience the majesty of Yosemite”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Bob's place is the ideal base for exploring Yosemite National Park and the surrounding area. The upstairs apartment was clean, perfectly equipped and full of charm and character - the perfect place for a romantic escape. The views from the landscaped garden are breathtaking and lying in the pool during the day or star-gazing at night was very special.

Bob was very helpful in advance of our trip in sending driving directions and once we arrived he was friendly and keen to make our stay special. He provided us with a great itinerary for visiting Yosemite (which was an easy drive away) and was great fun to chat to in the evening without being intrusive at all.

The apartment has a kitchen and there is a BBQ in the garden which we used to prepare food bought from the supermarket in the local town. We would highly recommend a visit to Bob's place for relaxing, enjoying the local scenery and exploring Yosemite. Our only regret is that we didn't stay an extra night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARBJSS
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yosemite Gem”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

When we arrived, we couldn't believe our luck in finding this place. Due to an unexpected "delay" in wine country during which we lost our printed directions to the property, we moved our booking back by a day.Our host Bob was helpful and accommodating with this and responded immediately to some panicked e-mails requesting directions. The room was beautiful. Stunning views from a comfy bed and a decent bathroom.The kitchen was sufficiently well equipped that we stayed in and cooked as we wanted to make the most of our limited time in the property rather than eating out. The mini pool was heated and we spent some happy evenings in it drinking wine under the stars l. Location wise it was perfect.Wonderful views, quiet and with a remote feel yet close enough to Yosemite park for some long walks.Bob was a first class host. We wish we could have stayed a bit longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcoming host, wonderful location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prsharp
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, clean, spacious and a great host”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were a little sceptical about straying away from the main hotels but after being recommended by a friend and reading all the other great reviews we decided to take the chance. We stayed at Bobs for 3 nights in the beginning of August and can only mirror what has already been said in previous reviews. This place is simply amazing. It's bigger and better than a hotel room, cleaned to a very high standard and with stunning views. Our only regret is that we didn't stay a bit longer.

Bob is also a truly great host, he gave us a very warm welcome on arrival and made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. There was a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room and plenty of tea and coffee as well as a few supplies in the fridge.

We can not rate Bobs place highly enough and we would like to thank him for a great stay.

We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this place to couples and small families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: That we had to leave :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“IT'S LIKE WE NEVER LEFT HOME”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house was clean and had everything we needed. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, cutlery, pots and pans. We were very happy to be able to stream Netflix and have wifi. The view was incredible and worth every penny. We enjoyed the pool at night. It was very relaxing since the water was heated. Overall we couldn't ask for a better vacation. We saved tons of money by bringing our own food and enjoyed preparing it with a glass of wine and a perfect view. We will be staying here again! Thank you Bob! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing