We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded and lovely.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Dome Home has a brand new roof as well as other renovations
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Dome Home has a brand new roof as well as other renovations
Nestled on a seculded private mountaintop with incredible views and peace and quiet. Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
The Dome Home has a brand new roof as well as other renovations
Nestled on a seculded private mountaintop with incredible views and peace and quiet.
Living Area
Dining Room w/ picture window - view for miles!
Living area with picture window, wood burning stove
Master bedroom - two closets and dresser
'Slumber Party Loft' Right Wing
'Slumber Party Loft' Right Wing
'Slumber Party Loft' Left Wing also showing private dressing room and sitting area
Staircase leading to 'Slumber Party Loft'
Dining Room and Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Winter view from back of Yosemite Dome Home
Winter View from back of Yosemite Dome Home
Yosemite Dome Home after one of our occasional winter snowfalls
Fenced yard (rear view of home)
Fenced yard (front left view of home)
'Slumber Party' loft, left side sleeping area
'Slumber Party' loft sitting area looking to left side sleeping area
The results of one of our fishing trips to the beautiful Merced River - one was a whopper!
A fall view from the rear of the Dome Home - photos just don't capture the sweeping panorama
'NV Beau Bey' - one of the Arabian breed's leading stallions resides on the ranch.
Yosemite December 2011
Yosemite from Dewey Point
Spring Wildflowers
Spring Wildflowers
Spring Wildflowers
Spring Wildflowers
Merced River canyon ablaze with poppies in the spring
Spectacular wild poppies in the Merced River Canyon
Spring wildflowers
View from front door of home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Frederick...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secluded and lovely. ”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

I had a lot of anxiety about planning the perfect trip for my girlfriends birthday. I wanted something that would take us away from city life and also be close to something we can both enjoy, like Yosemite National Park. We stayed for three nights in the Yosemite Dome Home and were sad when we had to leave. It is one of the quietest places I have ever been and quite cozy inside. On a clear night, the stars are beautiful with no light pollution. Irene was great and did everything to make our stay comfortable. We had planned on arriving at 2pm but found that traffic had other plans. Irene was kind enough to wait for us when we got there around 8:30 pm. We loved how easy it was to access the Yosemite from the ranch and the convenience of having a town nearby to grab groceries. Everything in the kitchen works and they provide pots, pans and all basic utensils and cooking tools with a full size fridge. My girlfriend's birthday weekend was a success and I cannot thank you enough. Happy New Year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so glad you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you as guests again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToddS2392
2 reviews
“The Great (Yosemite) Escape”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

"Home Away from Home" on a hilltop close to the Arch Rock Entrance into Yosemite. Irene was so hospitable, and a delight to meet. The Dome Home and all of its amenities added to our Yosemite Experience in a memorable way. The only thing which could have made our stay better is if we stayed longer.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian g
kansas city
1 review
“Yosemite dome home”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Nice house and great experience, with a very helpful owner. Perfect a crew of 6 heading to Half dome!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
We are so happy you had a great trip, we really enjoyed having you as guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johiostat...
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxed and enjoyed, best vacation!”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
5
people found this review helpful

Irene and her husband are very sweet and welcoming.They both made us feel right at home. The house is comfortable in every way imaginable, fresh towels and a very comfortable bed I might add. We went into the Yosemite valley every day around 730-8am depending on what hike we were planning on doing. The home sits an hour's drive from the valley floor in Yosemite, but this doesn't matter because the drive is so scenic it seems quicker. We packed a lunch every day and made dinner back at the house every night. Enjoyed a few creature comforts of the TV and internet when it got dark. The home is well supplied with utensils and pots and pans. Some places I've stayed at didn't have this so we were super thankful. They also have a large cooler if you wanted to pack more food or drinks while you stayed in Yosemite. This place was private and we enjoyed seeing mule deer walk up 15 ft into the yard as well as jack rabbits and turkey abundant. I can't say enough good things about our stay here. If you have questions just as Irene. Don't hesitate just book your trip here. We could have easily had 6 people stay here comfortably. Oh and get your groceries in town Irene can send the details. Prices are good and comparable.
The park gets busy during noon so plan ahead. Find a spot to park and plan to be there all day. We hiked glacier point the first day. It had views that we didn't get anywhere else. It's more like a 9.5 mile hike so start from the valley floor. I saw people starting from glacier point top going down and I'd rather go up first. Bridle veil falls is awesome to have lunch by along with lower Yosemite falls. Both will be busy places due to easy access. We took a day to see some giant sequoias on Merced Grove. It's an easy 3 mile round trip. Just stopped at the first Grove of 6-7 they were the biggest. We saw 3 large black bears there one just 35 ft in the woods foraging. This was one of the more private trails in the morning. Sentinel dome is also nice. Mirror lake is only good for views on the right side of the trail through the woods. I suspect it won't be around in a few years due to natural processes. We rented bikes for the day and rode everywhere in the park enjoying the majestic hotel, museum, lower falls, gift shops, and half dome village. This was the best way by far to get around. Then went to sentinel dome in the evening with a glacier point sunset. Dreamy to say the least. We will come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you had such a great time and really look forward to seeing you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourist68...
1 review
“Exellent!”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Very happy!! Nice place, good people!! Convineint location!! Very close to Yosemite National Park. Amazing view!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thanks so much for your wonderful review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jet684145
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful & scenic”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our weekend at the Yosemite Dome Home. It was so quiet, peaceful, and spacious and had beautiful views right out the windows. The home while older, is large and comfortable and very secluded, you don't see or hear any other people. I have to wonder at the reviewer that complained about a few ants, we didn't see any during our stay but even if we had, this home is out in the wilderness and you have to expect you may possibly find a few bugs. Heck, even living in the city I get occasional ants. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return another time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and roominess of the rental
Liked least: Really no complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, we enjoyed having you as guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie B
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could be wonderful but very tired”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A very peaceful location, great instructions provided so very easy to find, even in the dark. We found the drive into the Park was not a problem, it is very beautiful, but you do have to take the journey time Into account when planning your days. Surroundings are lovely, lots of wildlife and open space to enjoy. Sadly only a few horses remain on the ranch.
The house itself is looking sadly tired and careworn. As farm owners ourselves we are well used to rural life and did not expect hotel style accommodation, but it all just felt rather shabby and in need of a really good clean. The towels desperately need replacing and the bathroom needs a very good clean and airing. There was a problem with the toilet flush (it didn't always work) which I hope Irene will get fixed before the next guests arrive. We also had an issue with ants in the kitchen which I note has been commented on before, and Irene mentioned might happen. It would seem wise to provide spray etc. In fairness Irene did say that we should let her know of any issues during our stay, but being out for long days and only there for a short time we decided just to "grin & bear it"
In summary the house is very spacious, but is dated and rather tatty. The upper floor is very sparsely furnished and with no curtains/blinds on the upstairs windows you are likely to get an early start to the day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Very poor bathroom
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
I am sorry you had an issue with the toilet, as we told you when you arrived we had a plumber out to work on it and if there were any problems, please let us know. We have not had a problem with ants this summer, but when we took you up to show you the Dome Home, I noticed one or two in the kitchen and pointed them out and said I would get some spray and you said, don't worry, we are used to living on a farm. I said, well if there is a problem, please let us know. We live right on the property and it is very easy to call us or knock on the door and we are happy to come and fix any problem you might have. I didn't see more than one or two ants after you left and of course sprayed them and put out bait stations. We are located in the middle of the wildnerness and there will be the occasional bugs. The home is an older home but it is thoroughly cleaned before each new group arrives. Everything is swept, mopped, dusted, wiped down, and all the beds are stripped and all linens including the towels are washed. As far as the upstairs, there are three large skylights, so it does get bright early regardless of whether there would be curtains on the windows. The Dome Home's appeal is it's spacious living spaces, peace and quiet, and beautiful scenery which I'm glad you did enjoy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing