We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too hilly for tents, awful sanitation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hodgdon Meadow Campground
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I would never stay here again. I camped here with a group. The group sites were full, and they spread our group across multiple, not-connected sites even though some connecting sites were empty. The campsites are so close together, though, that some can only be accessed by walking through others. The biggest two problems, though, were:
1) Most tent sites were on steep slopes, with no flatten areas to pitch a tent. I had to create flat bed to sleep on with my clothing, otherwise I slid downhill during the night to end in a huddle against my tent wall. Picnic tables had the same problem. Our drinks, camp stoves, and lanterns kept sliding off the slanted tables, and some were broken. One time, a table flipped up when two people tried to sit on the downhill side at the same time.
2) The bathroom situation was awful. There is only one (three stalls for men and for women) for the entire site. For half of the campsite, this means walking up a very steep slope with no paved path. And the restroom was filthy. We were there four nights and it was only ever cleaned once - the morning we left. Sanitary trash bins were overflowing and you actually had to wade through the trash to reach the toilets. I, and nearly have my group of 25 people, came down with a stomach bug at the end of our stay, which was almost certainly due to the abysmal conditions in the bathroom. Also, keep in mind that "using the woods" is not an option here due to bear concerns.

Room Tip: Might be okay for RVs, but I noticed some RV's were on adjustable blocks to account for the unev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Almost all camp sites on the perimeter of the loop are on a hillside. There are few level spots to pitch your tent. You are also stacked on top of other campers. This wasn't much of an issue until 8 campers rolled in at 3 in the morning and set up camp. They then proceeded to do shots and carry on until sunrise. Also experienced issue with toilets that were backing up. You are about 25 minutes outside of Valley floor. The higher elevation can be an issue when it snows. We almost got turned back by a ranger for not having snow chains.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a hard time getting reservations in the park and this was our last choice, but at least we got a spot. If you do camp here, try to camp on the outer edge. When you are in the middle, you are practically camping with other people you are so close, plus, lots of people walk through your camp site to go to the bathrooms. It was okay, but it was good to just stay one night and get out early. Plus, it is almost out of the park and along drive to the valley.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank levelsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My son and daughter-in-law are experienced campers but this was my first time tent camping. Somehow my son got a reservation just a week before we visited Aug. 3; probably a last-minute cancellation. Site 92 had a gentle slope for the tent and the campground host's trailer was just across the road, the bathrooms were close, and surrounding campers all were there to eat, sleep and get up early to explore the next day. That made for convenience and quiet. Birds, but no bears when we were there. It gets really cold at night, so plan for that. Weather sites for Yosemite don't specify where the temp data is taken, but it was allegedly 39 F. overnight. I would guess closer to 45 F. at Hodgdon. Very friendly hosts and fellow campers. Many children. Everyone was considerate of their neighbors and by 10:30 p.m., place was absolutely quiet. Nobody seems to mention it, but because of the fragrant conifers, the air smells wonderful all the time. Definitely would do it again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

After reading a number of negative reviews, we (our couple friends from Germany, my husband, myself, and our 19 month old daughter) headed toward Hodgdon Meadow, with low expectations and an inability to pronounce its name.

LOCATION - We lucked out with a great site (#42) that is in the outermost ring. Its boundary to the east is woods, and the meadow is a short walk past site 33. We shortcut through the woods to get to the meadow, which is beautiful and has a nice trail through it. We spent quite a bit of time at camp, going for walks around the campground to meet people, exploring the woods and climbing on fallen trees. The terrain is steep in places, but toddlers are fine if they are somewhat surefooted and kept in sight. We enjoyed the drive into the Yosemite Valley, and liked being an hour closer to home in the Bay Area when it was time to leave.

THE SITE - Both tent spots were level enough; we just slept with our heads slightly downhill (we find it makes for a better night's sleep). People observed quiet hours, which were enforced early on by rangers coming through sites. That was cool by us since we were all either jet-lagged or the parents of a toddler. The site itself is shady most of the day, has a long picnic table, big bear box, and a fire ring with grill. We had to park our car in a shared lot by the road, but that worked out fine for us; it was nice not having it around. The bathrooms were clean and well-stocked with TP. No shower, soap or paper towels so bring your own. There is a sink outside at the bathroom with potable water, but you must wash dishes at camp. This makes for clean sinks, which I appreciated. We kept meals simple to reduce cleanup at camp.

NOTE: This is not glamorous camping - There are probably some sites that aren't as pleasant as ours was. Other people may have different circumstances that affect their experience. We just found that we were in this spectacular place with people we loved; could it get any better?!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank qoolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Camped here with my husband in May, 2013. Campsite was packed although never more then 1 other person in the bathroom. Bathrooms were clean and well stocked. The campsite itself was average at best. There was no flat area to actually pitch the tent so we chose the area with the least slope, which was not very comfortable. Not much privacy is observed between the sites either. However, we were simply cooking and sleeping so we didn't spend that much time in the campground.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Funkybuns514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Hogdon Meadow is one of the outlying campgrounds to stay at when you can't get a space in Yosemite Valley.

The Bad: A poorly organized and maintained campround with campsites that are extremely close together. Do not expect any privacy. Most sites are on a hill side although a few are level. We had site 68 which was fairly level for one tent but was surrounded by other campsites. Basically, avoid any campsite with shared parking as these sites are very close together. Parking is very tight. As a man, the bathrooms were filthy! I don't expect much but there is just too many people using them and they are only cleaned once a day. Everywhere you step, there will be a cloud of dust; just like walking on the moon. Everything will get dirty and you will breath dust the whole time you are there. If you don't breath dust, you will breath campfire smoke. The campground is not ADA accessible in any way. My wife is mobility challenged and it was difficult for her to get around and walk to the restrooms.

The good: You are staying within the boundaries of Yosemite and the drive to The Valley is not too bad. The park staff and hosts are friendly and helpful. You will meet interesting people from all over the world who are camping in the dirt and not complaining about it. It is located near the information center and the Crane Flat grocery store is on the way to The Valley so you can pick up a few items either on the way in or back out. There is a neat little swimming hole in the creek just a few miles away. Leave the park and take Evergreen RD towards Hetch Hetchy. Go down the hill and stop at the first bridge. There is a picnic area with access to a creek and little swimming holes. It is nice way to beat the heat.

Room Tip: Tent sites 14-32 are down a steep hill from the parking area. Some people might like the uniqueness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank watchman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
20.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
7.5 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,968 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
16.9 mi away
Cozy Bear Cottages
Cozy Bear Cottages
#9 of 23 in Yosemite National Park
80 reviews
6.8 mi away
Half Dome Village
Half Dome Village
#1 of 23 in Yosemite National Park
3,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodgdon Meadow Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodgdon Meadow Campground

Address: Just past south entrance off Highway 120, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 105
Also Known As:
Hodgdon Meadow Campground Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing