We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lower Pines Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower Pines Campground
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“beautiful location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Obviously, it's a state park...no frills! However, it is in the most idyllic of locations! A stream nearby, surrounded by the wonderful mountains, and close (walking close) to amenities! The park was busy, but it wasn't noisy and everyone was extremely helpful and polite. No bear sightings, but all foot is stored away in an allocated food storage container.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

I'll start with the worst, which others have mentioned - the bathrooms. In the week we were there they were cleaned once. Overall they were pretty bad. That said, most National Park campgrounds only have pit toilets. So I'm not complaining. The sites were surprisingly large for the high demand in the Valley. Lots of trees, convenient (though not clean) bear box, easy access to the Merced River. The kids had fun swimming and kayaking right out of the campsite. Very easy access to every part of the Yosemite Valley via bike or shuttle. The pay showers at Curry Village across the street were gross and overpriced. But a regular gave us the code for the free shower house at Curry Village, which was very clean and nice. The Rangers and volunteer rangers were helpful and accessible, though they are quick to hand out citations. If we ever go back we'll stay at Lower Pines or North Pines just across the Merced. Overall a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pdxtml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwards, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We visited Yosemite last year and every camper was polite respectful and quiet, this year we had a group that didn't feel like the campground regulations applied to them. About 20 people at one site, loud children, screaming parents and a barking dog left in the car. Just plain rude to all the other campers in the area.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Look i can't complain much. I booked an amazing site one week before our trip (in may). Apparently you have to book super far in advance. We got lucky and we had one of the best sites in the lot. The bathrooms suck and are pretty bad. I'm not sure why they don't invest money into them. $20/per night for a camp site is cheap, I would be happy to bay another $5 night to have better washrooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pRoy613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

What can I say but, after spending our days hiking, climbing and cycling the camp ground was a welcome retreat in such a fabulous part of the world. Felt like a big kid again around the campfire with my marshmallows. Great community spirit with mix of locals and tourists. Good facilities, and easy to navigate with our 30ft RV. We were so lucky to find space as silly English tourists did not realise the sites get snapped up months in advance. We went on standby each morning and had no issues moving between Wawona to lower then Upper pines. Worth getting up at 6.30am to get on standby list, we were normally 3rd or 4th in line and always got a cancellation. We had bicycles to help us get around and take in as much as possible. We really did not want to move on. All this for $20 at night, you really cannot complain.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Hound_DogUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Camping in Yosemite on Memorial Weekend had me nervous. I selected Lower Pines because I wanted a small campground than some of the others available in the park. I did my research and had an idea of what camp site I wanted in particular. I sat at the computer the day the reservations for that period went live and was lucky enough to get the site I had selected (site 71). It was a great site. We backed up to a patch of woods which bordered the meadow so no one behind us but deer and birds. The site was large enough to have friends of our pitch their tent (we had a pop up camper) and still have room to move around and park two vehicles. I didn't feel like we were on top of neighbors, but the sites along that outer loop definitely had more room. None of the sites have any hook ups. The river was just a short walk across the camp ground so it was fun to hear that throughout our stay. In one direction we could see Yosemite Falls and to the other we had a good view of Half Dome. The camp ground was full, but it was quiet. Each site comes with a bear box which was large enough to fit a large cooler and two smaller coolers, plus all our other food and items. You have to put everything with a scent in the bear box including sun screen, soap, drinks, etc. So keep that in mind when you are packing. We ended up not being prepared for that and we had lots of little items just thrown in there and it was a very tight squeeze! The campground was located within a short walk to a shuttle stop which made it easy to get around. In four days there we only drove our truck once. There was a store and burger place within walking distance. The showers were over in that area too, but we did not use them. The bathrooms in the campground had sinks (cold water only), did not provide any soap or paper towels (assuming because of the bears). There was a sink in between the restrooms for potable water and a dump site for gray water, but there was no actual dump site in that camp ground. You had to go across the street to the Pines campground. There were also no spigots with in the campground other than that one by the bathrooms. I have seen some nasty camp ground bathrooms, but these were probably the worst. I don't know that they were ever cleaned in our time there. I realize it didn't help that it rained for two days and that it was the busiest time of year in the park, but they were really, really bad. We would definitely stay there again. When we looked around at the other camp grounds in the valley, Lower Pines was definitely one of the best. North Pines (across the river) seemed similar, but the other Pines campgrounds were very crowded. It was hard even walking through them because there was so much traffic.

Room Tip: You can see the camp ground map online at reservations and then there is a web site http://www.camps...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
21 Thank KMR96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here in a 26 foot motorhome/RV for 3 nights April 2012 in pitch 38 - have a look at the National parks reservations site to get a map of the sites at Yosemite. Pitch 38 was fantastic - loads of space around, right beside the river, clear and uninterrupted classic view of Half Dome (see attached photo) and easy to reverse into. If you want good pitches like this, I think you need to have your finger on the online trigger when the site availability is released - again see the NPS reservation site for when they open. The site has a shuttle bus stop right beside it and is only a short walk to Curry Village, or to the beginning of the Vernal Falls trail. At this time of year, though the site was full it was still relatively quiet and peaceful. We were wary of snow and the possible requirement for snowchains, but were lucky and just managed to leave the park before the onset of a fairly significant snowstorm. Despite this, the weather was great, not too cold and perfect for hiking. We booked Lower Pines as it was smaller and more central than Upper Pines, and got more sun than North Pines which is important at this time of year. Thoroughly recommend in view of other options, having been there and looked around the other sites. The rangers/wardens at the site were very helpful too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sands3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
16.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
18.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
11.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices

Been to Lower Pines Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Pines Campground

Property: Lower Pines Campground
Address: East Yosemite Valley, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Lower Pines Campground Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing