We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid camping for trip to Yosemite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Pines Campground
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We camped here during mid April 2010 for 3 nights with our 7 and 5 year old in a tent trailer. Used it as launching off to Yosemite points of interest. Camping spots are close together (so if you have quarrelsome neighbors you hear it all, but thankfully we didn;t have those types of neighbors). Shade factor is very good. It's close to the creek. It's a very short walk to the shuttle stop. It snowed the night before, so it was kind of cool to have a little snow on the ground when we arrived. There aren't hookups here, so that's a minus (but that's common for most NPS campgrounds).

Of course Yosemite was awesome...but everyone already knew that!

If this wasn't in Yosemite, we would rank as pretty so-so, but since its in such a beautiful place, that's why it gets a 4.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank chit_chat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2007

We stayed at the North Pines campground during the last weekend in April. Our timing couldn't have been better because it had snowed the weekend before and is supposed to rain the weekend after. I booked our campsite (#526) online at the official reservation site about six months in advance. The location was great because it was right next to the river and we only had neighbors on one side. Some of the interior campsites looked a lot more crowded. There was ample shade and plenty of room for two (or more) tents. They gave us the scary bear lecture upon arrival, but we didn't have any bear problems. The thing they should have warned us about was the squirrel problem. While we kept our food items securely tucked away in the bear locker provided by the park, we left out paper towels and tissues. Apparently among the squirrels favorite things because they ran off with almost a whole roll of paper towels (and we also observed the squirrels stealing toilet paper out of the bathrooms).

Cost was $20/night for the campsite, $20 per car to enter the park, and $9/box of firewood (we went through about 3 boxes a day and the weather was nice).

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
24  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Jose
139
Reviewed 4 February 2005

North Pines is a nice area, the campsites are well laid out and you don't feel as cramped as Upper Pines. Just be careful to not pick a campsite near the stables as the smell from the horses can be a little ripe in the morning. This was not an issue in the afternoon and evening.

39  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Johanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank El_Baklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliseetmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Senorita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
18.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,722 reviews
1.7 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,231 reviews
17.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
583 reviews
11.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Pines Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Pines Campground

Address: East Yosemite Valley, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 81
Also Known As:
North Pines Campground Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing