We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Upper Pines Campground
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a good camp spot, near water and bathrooms. The campground is big, so there is alot of activity everywhere. We had a good spot, outer loop. Try to get an outer loop spot so you are not just looking at other campers. There is supposed to be a 6 person max per spot, but I don't think they enforce that as the campers next to us had at least 15 people camping there. One RV, and 4 tents??? Oh well, I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levelsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    47
    30
    10
    1
See reviews for
56
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Nice campground with fine toilets. The location near Curry Village and near a shuttle stop make it ideal for exploring the Valley. We rented bikes in Curry Village one day and hiked the Vernal Falls trail another both within short distance of the campground.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juhlhollen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

These campgrounds fill up within moments of coming available in season, because they are so wonderful. Convenient, reasonably clean restrooms, spacious sites, and quiet, except for the daily garbage trucks.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RXR94563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Yosemite is just one of those places where you are in awe of everything around you. Many people like to go camping and just relax and vegg a little. I challenge everyone to go out and explore Yosemite. Hike, bike, walk the meadows or even take a bus ride to one of the falls. Upper Pines puts you in a great spot to be close to everything. The camp grounds are good size and great for tents as well as RVs. Be advised that some sites are not suitable for large RVs. Make sure you check before going or booking.

My only issue that I have is the increasing numbers of crowded buses. They will load them to the max. The smells get funky.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Upper pines is a great campground because you can't beat camping in Yosemite Valley. Surrounded by beauty all the way. I prefer Upper Pines slightly over Lower Pines because there are a LOT more trees in Upper Pines (more shade). The outer loop sites and sites near the river are always better too! Bathrooms are cleaned every morning but don't stay clean very long. You need to bring your own hand soap. Showers are located at Curry Village (cost $5 to use) and you can get there by taking the free shuttle, walking, or riding your bike since it's not too far. All sites have a fire pit, table, and bear box. The bear boxes at upper pines also are larger than the ones at other campgrounds in Yosemite. You can only burn wood on the fire pit from 5p-10p, for any cooking outside that range you need to use gas or coal. Quiet time is from 10p-7a. Campground sites are pretty close to each other, but you can't beat the location!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandMsRED3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a basic drive in campground that offers a location that rivals any location in the world in regards to beauty. The Yosemite Valley offers vistas of amazing granite cliffs, lush forests, glistening waterfalls and rivers, and dozens of species of animals. There are miles of hiking, walking and bike trails. There's so much that is close at hand that this is the place you want to be. In regards to the campground, it is very basic. Each site has ample space which includes a fire pit, a bear bin (for food storage), a picnic table and a parking spot that can handle 2 vehicles or one RV and a very small vehicle. There are community bathrooms which have toilets and sinks only (no showers or baths). There's also potable water available near the restrooms, which is actually very tasty. It you are in to camping you can't go wrong with this location. In regards to our stay, we had 2 large tents and one small tent, a canopy and a hammock set up. There was plenty of space for our family of 4.

Room Tip: You usually don't get to choose your site due to the popularity, but if you do I would choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

All sites had a fire pit and picnic table. Bathrooms were toilets and sinks. No showers. No hot water. All dishwashing had to be done at site and dirty water got rid off in the utility sink next to bathroom. Great location. Could not get better for the price. Good little shop in the village which sold pretty much everything you need. Would book again if were visiting Yosemite.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjjausatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
14.3 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,580 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,047 reviews
4.8 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
418 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
11.2 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Pines Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Pines Campground

Property: Upper Pines Campground
Address: East Yosemite Valley, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 238
Also Known As:
Upper Pines Campground Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing