We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic run down hotel staffed by idiots”
Review of Big Trees Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Trees Lodge
corning ne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A classic run down hotel staffed by idiots”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

a historic hotel with rustic charm that needs updating badly . Yosemite is the crown jewel of the park system ,but this place is showing its age and its staff should be ashamed of how it is run for the price that is charged and the service that they give .A noisy hotel with thin walls and loud closing doors ( THEY LEAVE EAR PLUGS ON THE NIGHT STAND FOR YOU),Needs to be remodeled so each room has its own bath . As for the restaurant , what a joke !!! if you are a party of six you can make a reservation , but if your a party of two you wait in line all day while the person running the dining room takes each group to their table while all of us in line to eat wait for her to come back and then do it again ,and again ,and again!!!!!! (THEN GIVES YOU ATTITUDE WHEN YOU SPEAK UP FOR YOURSELF) . yeah its overpriced ,but hey, your on vacation, right.!!! Breakfast should start earlier than 7am and be a buffet so you don't wait around all day as again a line forms and the person running the dining room takes each party to their table while the rest of us wait in line again. I bailed out on breakfast as i had already had enough problems getting dinner the night before . The swimming pool has not been usable for years i was told . staff said it needs concrete repairs ??? the parking is far away from the rooms and you walk across a lawn that is un -even and hard to walk across .the sprinklers were almost always running but it still looked bad . Now i know i was not staying at the ahwanee and and was not expecting the same amenities .BUT I DID EXPECT THAT A HOTEL IN THE CROWN JEWEL OF THE NAT. PARK SYSTEM WOULD BE A BETTER FACILITY WITH PEOPLE THAT KNOW HOW TO RUN IT.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with its own bathroom and bring your own food .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    776
    308
    178
    90
See reviews for
528
1,073
63
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

They asked for feedback and this is my comments....
The quality of the rooms available in the hotel is simply not good enough. I do not accept that a "quaint" hotel offers dingy rooms:-
1. not only with no bathroom facilities, but having to endure listening to someone using their "facilities" next door via an adjoining door. This is completely unacceptable standard.
2. The room are in fact no better than a bed. I accept no TVs, but no wash facilities, no clothing storage, no iron, no shampoo, no Internet, no hairdrier, shared (dirty and tacky) toilet/bathroom between 8 rooms, no coffee making, no fridge, no bar after 9:30 (I now laugh at this one)........the list could go on and on and on.
Given the price we paid, the facilities were not good enough.
I was totally and completely ripped off.
Having traveled around 3 states (Calif,Nevada,Arizona) in 3 weeks staying in numerous hotels of various standards and prices, this was by far the worst value for money I experienced not only on this trip, but on any trip I have ever taken.
The dining service (food quality and staff) was the *only* plus point.
This hotel ruined my visit to Yosemite National Park. You have been warned.

Room Tip: Simply do not go to this dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allybally354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This hotel was one of the highlights of my trip to Yosemite. There really is nothing better than relaxing in under the giant trees on the property, sipping a glass of wine, and watching the sunset. After dinner everyone would gather in the parlor for drinks and snacks while listening to the piano player. As there are no TVs in the rooms this made for great entertainment.

A lot of people would prefer to stay in the valley, but I love the peacefulness of this hotel. It is only about a 45 minute drive back to the valley so you aren't terribly isolated. The road that leads to Glacier Point is right down the road, along with a gas station.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a private bath, so if that means a lot to you, I would recommend it. Also, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChildeRoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I don’t want to be harsh about the Wawona because it really is a beautiful hotel. What I will say is that it really does need some time and money spent on bringing it into the 21st Century. I’m not talking flat screen TVs and wet rooms (that would destroy the charm of the place) just new, clean bathrooms (ours was VERY old and slightly mouldy) and some decent lighting (that is more powerful than a candle). I realise that the hotel is old and is trying to keep all of it’s charm and to be fair the main building is a real gem and full of history and character but the block we were staying in was in desperate need of some work. The hotel’s location however is just stunning. It is surrounded by forest and has a charming fountain out front as you drive up. Unfortunately the parking is a joke and we had to keep on driving around until someone left – additional space is desperately needed. It’s an hour’s drive from the hotel to get to Yosemite Village and all of the main attractions which isn’t ideal but we knew this before arriving and to be honest the hotel’s location is so peaceful and quiet that it is welcomed after a busy day exploring.

Having said all of that, our lasting memory of the Wawona will be that of the superb service we received from every single member of staff and in particular those who were serving breakfast. Honestly, it really did make a huge difference and allowed us to forgive the hotel its shortcomings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burraneer
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stopped over for one night and wish I could have stayed at least another. The hotel is just beautiful. Fantastic lawns with plenty of chairs to sit and watch the world go by! We booked a shared bathroom room and it was great. Bathrooms were excellent. Dinner in their restaurant was really good too. Drinks on the verandah are a great way to finish off the day meeting new friends. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baloo_loo_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This historic hotel is the perfect place to relax after a day of hiking Yosemite. Dinner was fabulous and I discovered a new organic Chardonnay courtesy of the restaurant. Reading on the veranda, watching the bluebirds, and strolling to the sunroom for free wi-fi made for a great stay. Clear cell-phone reception for me although others had connection issues. The staff is enormously friendly and helpful. It's a place to almost escape the world with no TV or regular phone. Isn't that why you go to Yosemite? Make sure you request room with bath if you don't want to hike in the middle of the night. Although that hike gives you an opportunity to look at the stars in the sky. The Wawona is only minutes away from the giant Sequoia Trees.

Room Tip: First floor if you have altitude issues. Room with bath - book way in advance to get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBJoyride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomita,
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Does it get any better than this? The 19th century charm of this place is well preserved and in tact. The lodge and sitting room is a throw back to a bygone era. Imagine sitting around a fire and talking and engaging with other guests about your experiences that day in the park. Or playing a board or card game instead of being able to text?? Or reading a good book. The restaurant was superb, the rooms were clean and comfortable and as advertised for a hotel built in the 1870's, the grounds were well maintainted. With the rolling lawn and comfortable adirondack chairs, you can really unwind and truly relax here, something not a lot of hotels emphasize enough with all their modern conveniences. The staff at every turn was very friendly, knowledgeable, efficient, committed and enthusiastic. Really enjoyed our stay. The place breathes of the history of Yosemite with historic photos and paintings everywhere. A unique and very different experience from being in the valley. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We reserved a room with a lawn view with our own bathroom, which is always nice if they are avaiable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
15.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,580 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,038 reviews
22.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
13.8 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Trees Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Trees Lodge

Property: Big Trees Lodge
Address: 8308 Wawona Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Wawona Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Trees Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Trees Lodge is cherished as one of the most respected and most frequently visited Yosemite hotels. Its authentic Victorian architecture features beautiful white buildings, classic verandas and lush natural surroundings. At the Big Trees Lodge, there's something for everyone-including golf, tennis, horseback riding, or fishing. Evenings are spent gathered around the piano for musical performances in the lounge. Big Trees Lodge dining is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Big Trees Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawona Hotel Yosemite National Park
Wawona Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing