We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”
Review of Big Trees Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Trees Lodge
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

You have to go to this hotel with the right attitude and the right expectations. It's an old, historic hotel built in the early 1900s. There is no air conditioning and they still use radiators for heating. A lot of the the rooms don't have private bathrooms. We were 3 adults and 1 child, so we had to get two rooms since each room had a double bed and a single. The rooms were quaint and had everything we needed. The water was hot and the beds were comfortable. We enjoyed the piano playing in the lobby before supper and found the meals to be pricey and just OK from a food quality standpoint.

We stayed here during the government shut down. We were supposed to be staying at the Lodge at the Falls, but our reservations there were cancelled and they put us here instead. For some reason since this govt. property was on a main road they were allowed to remain open. Whatever the case, we were glad to stay there because it's always best to stay inside the park if you can. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Yosemite.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms in the annex that overlook the power generators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mosskm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    764
    305
    176
    90
See reviews for
515
1,065
63
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel is really lovely: an old colonial-style building in Yosemite, near the Mariposa Grove. In return for the ambience and situation we had to compromise on modern conveniences. We had a tiny bedroom, with small bed and no bathroom or air conditioning. And for this we paid $150 per night. We were provided with ear-plugs, but thankfully couldn't hear our neighbours snoring, despite their being just a few feet away from us. The fan was adequate for a September night, but may have struggled to cool the room in July or August. The restaurant service was really very slow, but the food was acceptable. Cocktails on the deck and walking under the starry night sky helped make up for the inconvenience of boarding-school bathrooms and nineteenth century bedrooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank omi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My gosh! It's really hard to know how to approach a review of this hotel. 1. It is a lot more than a hotel. It personifies "Old Yosemite". When I walk the grounds or walk through the hotel I revel in the knowledge that I'm walking in the footsteps of the pioneers of Yosemite, my favorite place on earth. From as far back as I can remember until my teens, Yosemite was the highlight of summer. I, my family, and extended family would spend two to four weeks almost every summer camping in Yosemite. (Aunt and cousins were teachers.) So Yosemite is a huge part of my great memories of childhood. I remember driving by the Wawona on our way to the valley and always thinking how I'd love to stay there. Now we can and do. 2. It is a ways from the valley so a completely different experience from staying at the Lodge, the Ahwahnee, or camping in the valley. Think, traffic jams, the smell of exhaust, and noisy hoards of people in the valley. At the Wawona think quiet, restful relaxation. 3. A review for the Wawona would be a lot different depending on the season. The best thing going for it in the summer is a beautiful place to stay in a beautiful location, away from the maddening crowd. In all seasons (closed part of winter) you can sit and relax, or hike the many trails less traveled (some to lesser known waterfalls). So rather than complain about the lack of amenities in a 150 year old hotel, relish the opportunity of being able to experience some time with the grand old dame of Yosemite

Room Tip: Personal preference is any room in the main building, though persons with disabilities should probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredO764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We loved the ambience and history of the white grand old hotel and white cottages with the white picket fences. The main hotel lobby and sitting area have an old time feel with a roaring fire. The waiter delivers drinks to you there or on the spacious porch. The breakfasts and dinners that we had were very good. The front desk staff and the waiters/waitresses were super friendly and very helpful. The hotel is located in a very pretty forested area with a big fountain in front, a pool, white adirondack chairs and deer scampering about. The annex has a large veranda with adirondack chairs to relax in as well. It is very close to the Mariposa Grove of the giant sequoias which we would recommend seeing. We got the room that we booked and it was spartan but clean. The beds were just ok. We did get a room with a bathroom in the annex which was convenient (versus those that had communal bathrooms and showers) and it had a clawfoot tub/shower. The not so good part is that the walls were super thin and the room was extremely hot - the boiler is old and no thermostat in the room. They did provide us with a fan so we opened the windows and used the fan to cool the room. We got slow wifi coverage but there was a sun room where the coverage worked well. Overall, we would stay again for one night and then move on to other lodging closer to the valley.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlubirdTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
178 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This attractive hotel was a good experience for us on a three-night stay, but I think we were lucky. Our room in the Little White Cottage was self-contained with its own bathroom - many rooms have communal showers etc., and our neighbour even had to cross to another building. (We got to know our neighbour well - the walls are paper thin and sound leaks out - I suppose he knew us as well as we knew him.) The room was simply but comfortably furnished and clean. I saw wheelchair ramps so some rooms are accessible but ours was a climb up some steps.

The main hotel has a home-like seating area in two large rooms with fireplaces (wood fires), where you can get drinks and snacks in the evening, attentively served. On two of our nights, a pianist played, including traditional songs that the families joined in. The atmosphere was schmaltzy but harmonious, and made us smile. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel and that was fine, also traditional: dishes like meat loaf - wholesome but not adventurous, and not quick, although that did not matter to us, in fact we enjoyed the leisurely pace.

The hotel is situated in a peaceful forest glade, with deer grazing on the lawn in the mornings and evenings, squirrels racing busily about and lots of birds, a green golf course across the road. We visited the sister hotel in Yosemite Valley, which was busy and noisy - I think we made a good choice, even though we were a drive from the Yosemite sights.

I'd like to go to Yosemite again and I'd readily stay at the Wawona again, but I'd be more curious about exactly which room we were booking

Room Tip: Enquire in detail about possible rooms, especially about the bathroom situation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This grand old hotel was built back in the 1800's so it has lots of character. It is all white wooden exterior in a classic Victorian style. The evening meals and breakfasts were excellent, service was first class. However not all rooms have their own toilets so if you want your own facilities book a room in the Annex and specify that you want an en suite! The whole place is very old world, there are no TV's in the rooms or indeed anywhere in the whole place, which is no bad thing. You are a 30 -40 minute drive from Yosemite Village and the main valley but only 5 minutes drive from Mariposa Grove and 15 minutes from Glacier Point

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

It is shabby and needs some maintenance. The owners think that being quaint is an excuse to not have quality furniture and fittings. It is in a time warp. We stayed for 3 nights which without a phone signal nor wifi was inconvenient not only for keeping in touch with family but for checking out local information and onward reservations. There was a wifi signal in the far annex but it was a small public room and often crowded and too dark to see the keyboard!

Room Tip: There is no room service because there is no phone in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeskaterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
13.8 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,006 reviews
22.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
378 reviews
4.2 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
13.8 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
11.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Trees Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Trees Lodge

Property: Big Trees Lodge
Address: 8308 Wawona Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Wawona Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Trees Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Trees Lodge is cherished as one of the most respected and most frequently visited Yosemite hotels. Its authentic Victorian architecture features beautiful white buildings, classic verandas and lush natural surroundings. At the Big Trees Lodge, there's something for everyone-including golf, tennis, horseback riding, or fishing. Evenings are spent gathered around the piano for musical performances in the lounge. Big Trees Lodge dining is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Big Trees Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawona Hotel Yosemite National Park
Wawona Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing