We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic historical property nestled in the woods” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Trees Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Trees Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic historical property nestled in the woods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here on a whim after spending the day in Yosemite. Planned on going out of the park to one of the towns on the outskirts, but ended up leaving Glacier Point late. While en route to Oakhurst, stumbled upon the Wawona. It looked pricey, but we decided to check just in case. The woman at the front desk was quite possibly the most friendly hotel receptionist I have ever met! She explained the different prices, and had a suggestion for all of my concerns. We ended up booking a shared bathroom room in the Annex building for a fraction ($80) of what I thought it would cost to stay in the park last minute. The building felt historic and magical, and it was beautiful waking up in the middle of the park. We also enjoyed dinner at the restaurant, which was decent, but slightly overpriced (ok ribeye was $30, pasta was $22 and slightly dry, blue cheese wedge salad was very, very good and worth $8, decent bottle of wine $26). The service was fantastic though, making it well worth it to not have to leave the property after being in the car all day! After dinner we took what was left of our wine and lounged by the fireplace, which was constantly stocked with wood by the front desk woman (wish I knew her name). In the morning continental breakfast was included, or you could upgrade to a hot breakfast for around $8.00. We did one of each, and both were good, even for the extra money. I would absolutely stay here again, especially with such a caring and accommodating staff. On a side note, the shared bathroom was about three doors down from our room, a brisk walk on the outside porch. It did not bother me in the least bit, but might deter others. An en suite bathroom was around double the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    747
    303
    175
    88
See reviews for
503
1,051
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My sister and I ended up needing a night's accommodation (after sharing an RV in Yosemite with our other sister and her hubby)..we had to share a wee bed and never got any sleep..so both woke up in the am saying ''Wawona'!! lol...(though it was the most perfect spot near the river :)
anyway, it is expensive but very beautiful :)...very clean and huge room...with huge bed :)...we had to share bathroom facilities..which isn't a problem...though it was a bit of a walk..and we always ended up running into guys in the corridor!!!..that gave them quite a fright, i can tell you!!! lol
The separate toilets and showers were very clean and warm
We actually had dinner with our sister and hubby...it was delicious...though pricey
The inclusive continental breakfast was lovely :)..lots lovely coffee too!...staff were all lovely too! :)
We really enjoyed our cocktails in front of the big log fire..really cosy :)

all in all it is a fab place...if you can stretch to the ensuite rooms, id go for that :)

oh and the Pioneer Village 5 mins away is brilliant!!...beautiful covered bridge! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This review is like no other I have done before. It appears from many of the other reviews that people either love this hotel or hate it. Well we loved it. Do not consider this hotel if you like your conveniences and comforts. The hotel does not pretend to provide them, so if you want them go elsewhere!

So why did we like it. This was our first visit to the Yosemite National Park and we were blown away with the beauty and grandeur. Frankly the last thing in the world I wanted to do was communicate by phone or surf the internet. This hotel transported me to another time, with walls covered in history and stories of the park. It was exactly what I was looking for. I passed a number of hotels on the way in to the park that would have been perfect BUT not for our Yosemite trip..for that we needed something different which is exactly what we got.
The staff were very helpful and provided excellent service. We found the restaurant food and service to be very good and better than we had expected. We did have a room with an en suite bath but as other reviews have stated that is not always the case.

When visiting the valley (with all the other tourists) it can spoil the serenity of the location but returning to the tranquility of the hotel brings you back to where you want to be. Silence and stars ...lots of them!

So it’s simple:

Silence , stars, history, something different or

wi-fi, fridge, comfy beds, AC, equipped bathrooms

Make your choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bud-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The management of this facility mistakenly equate a historic and rustic hotel with a historic and unmaintained hotel! You CAN have a historic hotel which is kept clean and adequately maintained for comfort and convenience of its guests. Yes sir, you certainly can! It might mean a little less profit in your pocket in the short run, but returning guests and their positive ratings and recommendations used by others will make up for that initial loss (if at all) in the long run. We ain't coming back that's for sure! Yes, the setting is nice and the buildings look quaintly historic from the outside, but this is where the pleasantries end. For $250/night (in off season time) we checked into a depressing room for 3 days and 2 nights, with outdated, torn, and overused bed spreads which nobody uses anymore except maybe Motel 6! The radiator hissed loudly (and I mean loudly) all night long generating uneven room temperatures. It was either so hot that we had to toss the sheets aside, or cold enough that we had to pull the blanket back on while trying to avoid touching the dinosaur bedspreads (which we know are not washed every time guests check out). And to top it off, several times throughout the night we woke up to the startling, loud noise of banging pipes (most likely the radiator's). And the bathroom was a different story all by itself! The dim light bulb on the high ceiling barely lit the space. The once-white tiles were grungy. The claw-feet bathtub with its old-fashioned cloth curtains wrapping all around it was just gross! Frankly I didn't shower during my stay there, I just couldn't ! It is very unpleasant to be constantly touched by the wet and cold god-knows-when-it-was-last-washed shower curtain! Also, there was no place I could put my toiletries while in the bathroom washing up at night time or in the morning. I finally thought about wearing my fanny pack to hold my toiletries every time I was at the sink brushing teeth and doing whatever it is one does to get ready for the bed or the day.

The sun room with wifi access was a nice space, but often overcrowded and loud, while the empty lobby was yawning from boredom. Why don't you provide wifi in the lobby area as well?

I am not a spoiled city girl. I love to camp out, and I have stayed in not-so-great places in central and south america and the middle east, but not at $250/night price tag in off-season time!

I strongly suggest for the owner/manager to spend a few nights in various rooms of the hotel (preferably paying $250/night each time) to see it for themselves.

Food was decent, staff were great!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frida N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Insch, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed two nights here. You need to go understanding you are going to stay in an old building. Lovely setting and the staff were helpful. Having to go outside for the bathrooms is novel. It is best to go with your own stock of drink and snacks. There are no facilities to make tea/coffee. Went to the restaurant on the first night but found the food overpriced for what it was, okay if you like tepid mashed potato, Next night drove into local town for a great meal at the italian restaurant but it is a fare distance. The continental breakfast included in price was interesting but very sweet. Fruit bowl, sweet yoghurt, muffin and their "character" bread which was on first morning sticky cake. When asked for plain toast was told would be an extra 3dollars. Next morning two of our party upgraded to cooked breakfast 8dollars each and I got toast substituted for banana bread. The pancake breakfast was huge. The positive side to this hotel is its peaceful location and restful ambience you just have to be prepared to step back in history to how hotels used to be a few decades ago. Went in October and the heating works really well and the radiators are burning hot.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here in different rooms. I thought the rooms were a bit noisy as they are kind of made by just closing off doors between rooms but the feel of the place and the grounds made up for it. There are not a lot of places like this left. Not for those who want a tv and fridge etc, nice if you can embrace the old style charm.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank loungestx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

You have to go to this hotel with the right attitude and the right expectations. It's an old, historic hotel built in the early 1900s. There is no air conditioning and they still use radiators for heating. A lot of the the rooms don't have private bathrooms. We were 3 adults and 1 child, so we had to get two rooms since each room had a double bed and a single. The rooms were quaint and had everything we needed. The water was hot and the beds were comfortable. We enjoyed the piano playing in the lobby before supper and found the meals to be pricey and just OK from a food quality standpoint.

We stayed here during the government shut down. We were supposed to be staying at the Lodge at the Falls, but our reservations there were cancelled and they put us here instead. For some reason since this govt. property was on a main road they were allowed to remain open. Whatever the case, we were glad to stay there because it's always best to stay inside the park if you can. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Yosemite.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms in the annex that overlook the power generators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mosskm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
13.8 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
22.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Trees Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Trees Lodge

Property: Big Trees Lodge
Address: 8308 Wawona Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Wawona Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Trees Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Trees Lodge is cherished as one of the most respected and most frequently visited Yosemite hotels. Its authentic Victorian architecture features beautiful white buildings, classic verandas and lush natural surroundings. At the Big Trees Lodge, there's something for everyone-including golf, tennis, horseback riding, or fishing. Evenings are spent gathered around the piano for musical performances in the lounge. Big Trees Lodge dining is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Big Trees Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawona Hotel Yosemite National Park
Wawona Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing