We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel if you want an old world feel and a shared bathroom.”
Review of Big Trees Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Big Trees Lodge
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed this hotel and the location was nice in terms of scenery. It's a little too far from the valley for me but we chose this hotel as it was cheaper than the other 2 choices which are situated In the valley so you get what you pay for there. I couldn't really complain about anything at this hotel other than it wasn't exactly what I had in mind. I hadn't paid attention when booking and didn't realise the bathrooms were shared! Which is a bit annoying in the middle of the night when u need a wee and you have to get up and walk around the veranda to the public loo. However the rooms are clean but very small and stuffy. I liked the veranda where you can sit out on an evening with a glass of wine. The breakfast was really good; I had pancakes on the first day and the free continental on the second both were good but the evening meal was terrible! I had the chicken and it was dry as hell! So I would recommend eating In the valley for dinner. Apart from the above the hotel was very nice and I guess most people going to Yosemite for walking holidays will expect something like this.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

The location is good - about a 15 minute drive from the Mariposa Sequoia grove and about an hour from Yosemite valley, and the surrounding area is nice. The rooms were a good size and clean, but bathrooms were further from the room than we expected, and you have to walk along a veranda. The "continental" breakfast was disappointing so we had the restaurant breakfast the second day which was good (HUGE portions!). We also ate dinner in the restaurant one evening, which was average and expensive. The store next to the hotel is very useful. No wifi in the rooms, only in the "Sun Room".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Grand, elegant, majestic hotel existing to provide guests with excellent food, beverage and comfortable rooms in the area that started the entire national parks system. Fantastic, friendly staff, beautiful location, located in the park but outside the valley (which is so crowded now during the summer). The perfect place to stay and enjoy a romantic getaway or a stay with family. Multiple rooming options - some rooms have in-room bathrooms but even those that don't have in-room sinks and the toilets/showers are just a few steps away. Many rooms have porches with chairs and a table just outside your door; the front porch in the main building is a fantastic place to sit and relax with a beverage after a day of hiking. Frequent shuttles to and from Mariposa Grove; daily shuttle to Valley. Breakfast included with your room stay (full continental) or you can upgrade to "bed and breakfast" option and order hot foods (omelettes, French toast, etc) as well. Serves 3 meals per day/brunch on weekends. Gas station and store right next door. NPS Visitor Center on property. Store and gas station right next door. Tennis, swimming and golf. Pioneer Center nearby and free Ranger programs. No tv or phones in rooms (yay!) and free wifi available.

Room Tip: Moore Cottage back behind Main Building - extremely peaceful! Some rooms in this building have priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Wawona is located in the southern end of the park, about an hour to Yosemite valley. I found the continental breakfast adequate. Hotel space is comfortable and bathrooms are clean. Beautiful hotel and a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a great time for the hole family. There is a great old village behind the hotel and there is also a golf course across the street. There is a small river next to a general store so you can lunch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at Wawona for one night. The hotel was quite expensive but definitely worth of seeing. The surroundings of the property were beautiful. Food was really good - I really loved the root bear float! There's no modern amenities in the room and I didn't enjoy the public bathroom but I would still recommend the hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: If you are a sensitive sleeper, don't forget the ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Whaleshark_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our family stayed at the Wawona for the first time this summer and had a great time. It was more expensive then I planned as there are only two options for food (all of which were terrific). Next time we will be better prepared. We are looking forward to visiting it again.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the pool which we enjoyed, rooms on the other side may be a little cooler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
14.7 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,902 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,658 reviews
22.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,188 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
4.2 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Trees Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Trees Lodge

Address: 8308 Wawona Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Wawona Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range: £229 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Trees Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Trees Lodge is cherished as one of the most respected and most frequently visited Yosemite hotels. Its authentic Victorian architecture features beautiful white buildings, classic verandas and lush natural surroundings. At the Big Trees Lodge, there's something for everyone-including golf, tennis, horseback riding, or fishing. Evenings are spent gathered around the piano for musical performances in the lounge. Big Trees Lodge dining is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Big Trees Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawona Hotel Yosemite National Park
Wawona Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing