We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Big Trees Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Trees Lodge
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Great location and wonderful setting. Beautifully cared for lawn and garden areas, with many possibilities for quiet relaxation. Terrific historic buildings and good access to the Valley. Our room was certainly comfortable and clean, though quite basic in terms of conveniences. I guess, however, this is part of the area's back to nature charm. Pleasantly surprised by the restaurant experience. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We took a room with a private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISWLMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    779
    309
    178
    91
See reviews for
531
1,079
63
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent one night here on our way out of Yosemite, but wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel is from the early 1900's and is set in beautiful surroundings. The rooms were quaint some with bathrooms and some without. Don't expect mod cons though. There are no t.v's in the rooms and no coffee making facilities. It meant you had to read or play the games and do the jigsaws on the reception area. It made a pleasant change. The pool was not heated but was great once in. My boys enjoyed playing tennis which was free to use with rackets provided. There was a pioneer village to explore with a history from the Yosemite. We also took the stage coach ride which was fun. The downside I would say is you really have to eat in the hotel as there is no other choice. The food was ok but the ambiance was great. For a family of five it mounts up. There are walks near by and a golf course. We would definitely return if ever we visited the area again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachels261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Wawona Hotel brings you back to a different era. The building is beautiful and elegant.
Very clean and the staff is friendly. We enjoyed a lovely dinner and had the continental breakfast sitting on the porch one morning. We also had a hot breakfast which was good although the poached eggs were over cooked and not the way I ordered them.
Sharing bathroom and shower faculties worked out well and we stayed at a time that there was never a wait for anything. August 19-21st.
It is about 45 min - 1 hour drive to Yosemite Village and the free shuttle has specific times and you better be on time. 3:30 pick up meant that you were limited in what you could do, another 1-2 hours would be better.
Highly recommend this place to stay if you want to be away from the hustle of the Valley. Limited food options once you are there. Great for couples.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the front of the hotel have a nice view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

if you want to be out of the hustle and bustle this is the place to stay - charming and nice. but a45 minute haul to the valley - just plan accordingly and all will be well. rooms are clean, tiny sink (kept telling myself if was beetter than camping). The front desk will give you a three prong converter for computer and there is an internet lounge. Also they can give you a blow dryer.

Room Tip: get a room with a private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel is a gem in Yosemite's park. It is gorgeous both inside and out. It maintains it's historic character while remaining clean and well maintained. My only suggestion for improvement would be a slightly more comfortable mattress and a more honest description of the "free breakfast." I was a bit disappointed to see that the continental breakfast was valued at $13 while the "breakfast upgrades" averaged about $12.50 retail, yet I still had to pay $8.95 for my "upgrade." It didn't quite make sense to me but it was delicious nonetheless. I only wish we had more time to take advantage of other amenities such as the pool, etc. We had a very pleasant stay after hiking Half Dome, and we loved the coffee being available at 6am and sitting on our front porch. Lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singerjes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This is our third time to Wawona. This time we stayed for 3 nights which was great. We stayed at Washburn cottage room 5, which came with it's own bathroom. Beautiful room and spacious. If you are expecting a normal hotel with all mod cons don't stay here and don't visit Yosemite (no air con, no tv). If you want to escape to a relaxing beautiful period hotel and expect it to be basic then come here. Restaurant is pretty good and a little overpriced (their pot roast is delicious) but you are miles from anywhere and is by far the best in the area. Service is great. Beautiful setting and glad we came back. Hope you have a nice stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is historic and with that said just know what to expect. Not every room comes with a toilet or shower.... It's fine for some people but not others....the showers are in a larger room with just shower curtains..... So just be aware! Service is wonderful. Rooms are clean-there is a closet,sink, and dresser in each one. Also you get to have two adirondack chairs right outside your door on the "porch". Wi-fi sucked- could not join in as Everyone was in the one room where it is only available - but you are in Yosemite for nature. Pool looked inviting but did not get the chance to use. Make sure u bring some snacks if arriving late - like 9:30--- there are NO options available otherwise. In the morning u do get a continental breakfast which was good!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
15.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,602 reviews
14.7 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,813 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
452 reviews
4.2 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Trees Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Trees Lodge

Property: Big Trees Lodge
Address: 8308 Wawona Road, Yosemite National Park, CA 95389 (Formerly Wawona Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Yosemite National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Trees Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Trees Lodge is cherished as one of the most respected and most frequently visited Yosemite hotels. Its authentic Victorian architecture features beautiful white buildings, classic verandas and lush natural surroundings. At the Big Trees Lodge, there's something for everyone-including golf, tennis, horseback riding, or fishing. Evenings are spent gathered around the piano for musical performances in the lounge. Big Trees Lodge dining is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Big Trees Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawona Hotel Yosemite National Park
Wawona Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing