We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great luxury camping experience”
Review of White Wolf Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Wolf Lodge
Reviewed 7 August 2012

After finding that pretty much everything is booked in Yosemite in July, we were able to score two nights at the tent cabins at White Wolf. The cabins were really cute and we enjoyed using the wood burning stove every night to keep warm. We were also provided with candles, firestarter, newspaper, kindling and matches. The only thing I'd warn someone about is that since the cabins are close together, you can hear your neighbors. There was a VERY loud snorer staying a few cabins down and it woke us up both nights. Bring earplugs and you'll be fine.

We went to the restaurant for breakfast and dinner and enjoyed both. They do a great job providing excellent food all off the grid. In other national parks it would be far more expensive for this quality of meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scooter149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here one night and we are glad we did. We got one of the few cabins with a bathroom. Nice cabin, sufficient room. We had a nice trout dinner on the patio of the restaurant (family style).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huachucakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We visited in the second week of June 2012.
The weather was very favorable. However, the place attracts a lot of bears at night so food has to be kept outside. At night however it became very cold once the fire died down and became uncomfortable. My recommendation would be to travel with a good sleeping bag or warm inners.

While the place is amazing and has a wonderful location, the value for $100+ is average. I would expect slightly better than this. However, given limited choices to stay in Yosemite, this is a good camp.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pr4S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This was our second trip to Yosemite, but the first time staying inside the park. We spent some time at Housekeeping Camp (terrible), and the remaining time at White Wolf. The first impression of White Wolf Lodge is the quiet setting; you leave Highway 120 and drive a short distance to White Wolf. The tents are well arranged, with places for your auto. Each tent has a wood stove. Our first night, we let the fire just burn out. Wow was that cold. The second night, whoever would wake up to go to the toilet would put another log in. Big difference!! The food at White Wolf Lodge was excellent, and the service by the staff was even better. Close to dawn, coyote would wake you. Finally, there are two hikes that start from the campgrounds, so choices are close at hand. Other than spending several days hiking and camping in the back country (which we did), it is hard to think of a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank calliemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We spent two nights at White Wolf (with my husband and another couple). I love this place!

White Wolf "Lodge" is a summer-only enclave of canvas tents located a mile or two off of Tioga Pass (Highway 120) in the high country of Yosemite. The cement-floor tents are equipped with four beds (or one double and two singles), with sheets, wool blankets and comforters, towels, a table, 4 simple chairs and a wood burning stove to ward off the chilly nights. There is no electricity in the tents, but you're provided with two candles, plus the wood for the stove.

There is a small dining room that serves excellent dinners and breakfasts. Dinner one of the nights was perfectly prepared grilled salmon with pineapple/mint salsa, asparagus, rice, red pepper/lentil soup, salad and carrot cake all for about $23.00. Breakfast buffets ($11.00) were hearty and good, with eggs, bacon, sausage, muffins and fresh fruit. The communal bathroom was always clean - it is accessible only to Lodge guests by entering a code in the door lock. The water turns off after about 10 seconds (for conservation purposes) but you can deal with it.

The Lodge is an ideal location for day-hikes in the high country, allowing you to come back to a comfortable camp at night. Since the generator turns off the electricity in the bathroom at 11:00 p.m., you must bring a flashlight if you have to get up in the middle of the night. But even that was a treat - since there is no electricity for miles, the night sky is a deep black, making the stars and the Milky Way absolutely spectacular! Another treat was being awoken at 5:00 a.m. by the howling of coyotes that seemed to be very close to the camp. The staff told us that the howling is a regular occurrence.

Some tips: you can bring food/wine, but you must put everything (and your toiletries) in the bear lockers provided. The little store sells ice, so you can bring a small cooler. No cooking is allowed. Bring flashlights, and battery-powered lanterns for your tent. Bring some extra fire-starter for the stove (we went through the starters provided pretty quickly). Bring some outdoor chairs if you want to sit outside more comfortably than in the folding chairs provided with the tent.

I've already made reservations for next year - what a gem of a place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank oneyearoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We were camping in Yosemite and decided to stay at White Wolf for a treat to end our camping adventure. We were surprised to find vacancy as everything else in Yosemite was booked solid. We rented a tent "cabin", which had a double bed and two singles for our boys. The boys thought is was fun to be like pioneers or loggers in our accomodation and we were really looking forward to a pleasant stay. We were also looking forward to a shower. The tent and bedding was clean. The showers are the kind you have to push, get a little wet, soap up, push for more water, etc. This was fine as we are used to conserving water. It is less wasteful than in the village where the showers seem to run constantly.

We decided to eat at the Lodge as the dinner that evening sounded very good - soup, salad, chicken pesto penne with roasted vegetables and dessert. We booked for 6:00 PM. We were seated with another family - very friendly and fun to have dinner conversation. We waited and waited for service. Eventually by 6:30 PM four pieces of garlic bread arrived (I suspect it was cut up hot dog bun). There were eight of us at the table. About 20 minutes later, we got up and peered in the kitchen to see if anything else was coming. Other tables had been seated after us and were enjoying soup and salad. Our waitress finally came out with the soup, which I suspect was canned and a small bowl of salad for the table. A long while later the penne came out, but there was no chicken. When we asked about it, we were told "Oh, no, there's no chicken tonight". The roasted vegetables were definitely bagged and tasted like plastic. The pasta was overcooked and over seasoned. Eventually dessert arrived - packaged chocolate cake with gluey icing. We got up and got our own coffee and tea. The coffee was in carafes and I think it had been there all day.

I felt extremely ill after eating and had to lie down. The double bed was so saggy in the middle that it felt like a hammock. My husband ended up sleeping in the van. The washrooms have heavy doors on springs so they sound like gunshots when people go in and out. The generator starts up loudly at 6:00 AM and the "gunshots" start pretty steady after that. The kids felt sick in the morning so we packed and got the [--] out of there.

Overall - it was a real disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wspears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

3 stars. 5 stars for the location of the Lodge, and 1 star for nearly-boiling unbearably hot water in "showers" (that are impossible to use) that can possibly damage person's skin and cause skin irritation and burns. They made the water hot and non-adjustable so that people will not take more than few seconds using precious water in showers. This is unacceptable and is a health hazard. The employees are a hit or miss--many need basic customer service training, Some were incredibly friendly and nice and some were extremely rude. So it's 3 stars for customer service. 1 star for employees touching coffee steering sticks with their un-gloved, dirty hands (!) when they give you coffee -- disgusting and a health hazard. 1 star for not providing kindling for the stove and poor quality firewood that just won't start or keep burning (I had to use my full supply of personal fire starter sticks--6 of them, in one night, to start that fire). The Lodge is rustic and staying there is somewhat close to camping experience. I prefer to camp, though. A couple of extremely hostile rangers live close to the site and they do dislike minorities, so beware. Great location--a small fast creek, boulders and rocks, conifer trees and the mountain air, 2 lakes to hike to within a short distance and abundance of wildflowers and bears. The lodge has a lot of potential, just needs some basic improvements and employee training. The manager is a nice guy. The tent cabins and boulders in the middle of the Lodge make a pretty sight and the starry sky viewing is amazing there; there're a couple of beautiful meadows right next to the lodge. The place is quite peaceful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexd00xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
18 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
5.4 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,943 reviews
19.9 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,692 reviews
18.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
562 reviews
23.3 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Wolf Lodge

Address: Highway 120, White Wolf, Yosemite National Park, CA 95379
Region: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Wolf Lodge offers 24 canvas-tent cabins and four traditional cabins with private baths. Guests gather morning and evening in the central dining room-a rustic wooden building with a porch that's perfect for relaxing and taking in the views. To keep the wildlife wild, guests are not permitted to cook inside or outside their cabin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Wolf Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing